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OHV Definitions 32

Off-highway motorcycle (OHM)
“Off-highway motorcycle” means a motorized, off-highway vehicle 
traveling on two wheels and having a seat or saddle designed to be 
straddled by the operator and handlebars for steering control, including 
a vehicle that is registered under chapter 168 for highway use if it is also used for 
off-highway operation on trails or unimproved terrain. Off-highway motorcycle 
does not include an electric-assisted bicycle.

Off-road vehicle (ORV)
“Off-road vehicle” or “vehicle” means a motor-driven recreational 
vehicle capable of cross-country travel on natural terrain without benefit 
of a road or trail. 

Off-road vehicle does not include a snowmobile; an ATV; a motorcycle; 
an electric-assisted bicycle; a watercraft; a farm vehicle being used for farming; 
a vehicle used for military, fire, emergency, or law enforcement purposes; 
a construction or logging vehicle used in the performance of its common function; 
a motor vehicle owned by or operated under contract with a utility, whether 
publicly or privately owned, when used for work on utilities; a commercial vehicle 
being used for its intended purpose; snow-grooming equipment when used for its 
intended purpose; or an aircraft.

Approved helmet
An approved helmet is required to meet DOT specifications. DOT is the 
manufacturer’s certification that the helmet conforms to the applicable federal 
motor vehicle safety standards. Bicycle and hockey helmets are not legal helmets.

OHV DEFINITIONS
Off-highway vehicle (OHV)
The term off-highway vehicle (OHV) includes all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), 
off-highway motorcycles (OHMs), and off-road vehicles (ORVs).

All-terrain vehicle (ATV)
ATVs have at least three, but no more than six, low-pressure or nonpneumatic 
tires (not filled with or containing compressed air) with a total dry weight less 
than 2,000 pounds and a total width from outside of tire rim to outside of tire rim 
that is 65 inches or less. ATVs include Class 1 and Class 2. Dry weight is normally 
the weight of the vehicle without fluids. Vehicles not considered ATVs includes 
electric-assisted bicycles, golf carts, mini-trucks, dune buggies, go carts, or a 
vehicle designed and used specifically for lawn maintenance, agriculture, logging, 

Class 1 ATVs
Width 50 inches or less.

Class 2 ATVs 
Width greater than 50 inches 
but not more than 65 inches.

DOT
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WHAT’S NEW: LEGISLATIVE CHANGES

SEAT BELT REQUIREMENT WITH CLASS 2 ATV
Effective Date July 1, 2025

(Minnesota Statute 169.686 Subd 1a)

A properly adjusted and fastened seat belt, including both the shoulder and lap 
belt when the vehicle is so equipped, must be worn by the driver and passengers. 
This applies to the operator and passengers of a class 2 all-terrain vehicle, when 
operated on or within the right-of-way of a public road when the all-terrain 
vehicle is factory-equipped with seat belts. (page 17)

ATV MINNESOTA
Your Voice for ATV Recreation in Minnesota

Representing 70 ATV clubs that 
build and maintain our trail system.

Membership includes 
subscription to 

Minnesota Wheelin 
magazine.

MEMBERSHIP   $30

Join today at atvmn.org or call 800-442-8826

For Membership Details

Your Voice

build and maintain our trail system.

   $30
build and maintain our trail system.

Membership includes 
subscription to 

Minnesota Wheelin 
magazine.

MEMBERSHIP

PAID ADVERTISEMENT

INVASIVE SPECIES

STOP INVASIVE SPECIES IN 
YOUR TRACKS

• REMOVE plants, animals and mud from boots, 
gear, pets and vehicles by using a handheld brush.

• CLEAN your off-highway vehicle before entering 
and leaving the recreation site. Use water or 
compressed air to remove mud, seeds and plant 
material from tires and fenders.

• STAY on designated roads and trails to prevent 
spreading invasive species.

• USE certified or local firewood and hay.
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2024 ATV SAFETY INSTRUCTOR OF THE YEAR 
The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources has named Steve Rykhus, 
of New Ulm, as the 2024 ATV instructor of the year.

During the past 20 years, Rykhus has helped certify nearly 1,200 students 
at ATV safety classes in Brown and Lyon counties. In total, he’s taught almost 
70 classes between the two counties. Rykhus works hard to recruit new 
instructors to assist with his classes. He helps those new instructors feel 
confident teaching the students.

In addition to being an ATV safety instructor, Rykhus is also a certified 
firearms safety and snowmobile safety instructor. This is the second time 
the DNR has recognized his selfless efforts: Rykhus also was the volunteer 
firearms safety instructor of the year in 2014. 

“Steve is devoted to introducing the next generation to the outdoors 
and providing the foundation the students need to enjoy a lifetime in 
the outdoors,” said CO Thor Nelson, who is stationed in New Ulm. “He’s 
passionate about volunteering as an instructor and is a great example of the 
very best of the thousands of people across the state who serve as volunteer 
safety instructors.”

Rykhus is among the nearly 1,000 volunteer ATV safety instructors who 
work with DNR conservation officers to deliver ATV safety training 
certification. Details about safety courses and training are available at DNR 
website: mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/atv, as are ATV regulations: mndnr.gov/
regulations/ohv.

Conservation Officer Thor Nelson and volunteer instructor Steve Rykhus

Protection wherever you go
Get coverage that goes beyond your homeowners’

policy with comprehensive UTV insurance to protect
your off-road vehicle, belongings, accessories

and more – no matter where you ride.
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Continued…

OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE REGISTRATION
Q: How and where do I register an OHV?
A: You must be at least 18 years old to register. Go in person to any deputy registrar 
office (where automobile license tabs are purchased) or at the DNR License Center 
in St. Paul. You will be provided a registration card and decal for your off-highway 
vehicle. You may renew your OHV registration online at mndnr.gov/licenses/ohv.

Q: What information do I need to register an OHV?
A: Need to have the make, model, year, serial number, and sales receipt or bill 
of sale. For OHM registration, the engine size is required. For ATV registration, 
along with engine size, the dry weight and width from outside rim to outside rim 
is required.

Q: I purchased at a dealership, how do I apply for registration?
A: ATVs and OHMs purchased from a Minnesota retail dealer must be registered 
with the DNR, which the dealer manages on behalf of the customer. The dealer will 
issue a temporary 21-day registration, a registration card, and an expiration decal.

Q: What if I sell my OHV?
A: If you sell your OHV, give the new owner a signed bill of sale that includes the 
serial number of the vehicle along with make and model. The serial number can be 
found on the registration card.

Q: What if I buy a OHM or ATV from another owner?
A: The new owner must report the transfer of ownership within 15 days of the sale 
at a deputy registrar office or at the DNR License Center in St. Paul. A new owner 
can be charged with a misdemeanor for failure to file and transfer ownership within 
15 days of the sale.

Q: Does my ATV need to have registration to operate on frozen waters?
A: Yes, ATV public use registration is needed if it will be driven on public trails, 
public land, frozen water or the roadway.

Q: If my ATV is titled as a Motorcycle or Motor Vehicle in another state, is 
it considered the same in Minnesota?
A: No, under Minnesota law Chapter 168, All-Terrain Vehicles are not originally 
manufactured to operate on highways or roads. Under Minnesota traffic 
law 169.467 subdivision 2 an ATV does not meet Federal Motor Vehicle 
Safety Standards.

Q: I have a Private/Agricultural Use registration on my ATV, now I want to 
go use it on a state ATV trail. Can I operate on the trail?
A: No, you will need to purchase a Public Use Registration (3 year registration) 
before operating on state or grant-in-aid ATV trails.

Q: What is a Grant-in-Aid Trail?
A: Grant in Aid trails are provided by volunteer clubs and local government 
sponsors to provide public riding opportunities throughout Minnesota. Funds are 
collected from Off-highway vehicle registration purchases.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
WHERE TO RIDE
Q: Can I drive my ATV on the side of a road or city street?
A: It depends on the type of ATV and age of operator. Check with local county and 
city officials or road authority.

Q: Can I operate an OHM in the ditches?
A: No, OHMs cannot be operated in ditches unless on a designated trail that 
includes OHMs.

Q: Do I need a valid driver’s license to operate an ATV?
A: It depends on where you operate your ATV.  A driver, age 16 and older, will need 
a valid driver’s license to make a direct crossing of a roadway or operate within the 
road right-of-way.  A valid driver’s license is not needed for operation on state ATV 
trails. 

Q: Can I ride my ATV or OHM on a snowmobile trail?
A: No, several thousand miles of snowmobile trails cross private land open only to 
snowmobiles from Dec 1st to March 31st. Regardless the time of year, any other 
motor vehicle use is considered trespassing. 

Q: Where can I ride my ATV on Public lands?
A: For a list of trails for ATVs, see the riding opportunities at mndnr.gov/ohv.

EQUIPMENT
Q: Where can I ride my ATV if I put tracks on it?
A: Once you put tracks on a Class 1 or Class 2 ATV it is considered an ORV. You may 
operate:

• on frozen waters
• on state forest roads in state forests classified as “limited” or “managed”
• in ORV special use area
• on private property with permission of landowner

Q: Can I have an infant or toddler ride with me?
A: Under Minnesota law, anyone under age 18 is required to wear a DOT approved 
helmet. Off-highway vehicle dealerships sell Youth size helmets. It is not 
recommended that adult or teen size helmets be used on toddlers as they don’t 
have sufficient neck muscle strength to hold up and wear the helmet a comfortable 
length of time. Riding without a helmet has a great potential for injury or death.
The following are not legal helmets: 

• Bicycle Helmet 
• Skateboard Helmet 
• Downhill Ski Helmet 
• Hockey Helmet

https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/licenses/ohv/index.html
http://www.mndnr.gov/ohv
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Both public and private use registration
• The public use decal and private use decal must 

be displayed in the appropriate section of the 
plate.

• Public use decal on the upper left and private 
use in the upper right and a series of letters and 
number along the bottom.

Optional — Collector use
• ATVs 25 years and older are exempt from 

registration if they were originally produced as 
a separate, identifiable make by a manufacturer. 
This registration is nontransferable.

Exemptions
There are exemptions provided by law. If your 
answer is “YES” to any of the statements below, registration is not required.
If you are operating an:

• ATV, OHM or ORV registered in another state or country and not in Minnesota 
for more than 30 consecutive days.

• ATV, OHM or ORV owned by federal, local and tribal governments.
• ATV that is used exclusively in organized track racing events.
• ATV owned by a resident of another state or country that does not require 

registration of the ATV, not in Minnesota for more than 30 consecutive days, 
and is operated on state and grant-in-aid trails by a nonresident possessing a 
nonresident state trail pass.

• ATV that is registered by an Indian tribal government to a tribal member 
and has not been outside the tribal reservation boundary for more than 
30 consecutive days. 

• OHM operated by a person participating in an event for which the Minnesota 
DNR has issued a special use permit exempting the registration or nonresident 
trail pass requirements.

• OHMs not in Minnesota for more than 30 consecutive days and are operated 
on state and grant-in-aid trails by a nonresident possessing a nonresident state 
trail pass.

• OHM or ORV licensed for highway use when operated on forest roads.
• ORV operated on frozen waters or private property (not a designated 

ORV trail).

OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE REGISTRATION
ATV REGISTRATION (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.922)
All-terrain vehicles can be registered as either a Class 1 ATV or a Class 2 ATV 
(see page 3 for definitions). All ATVs operated in Minnesota must be registered 
with the DNR, including those used exclusively on private property. See exceptions 
page 11. Class 1 or Class 2 will be indicated on the owner’s ATV registration card 
and decal.

Display of numbers and decals for ATVs
ATVs must display the current registration decal along with applicable numbers 
and letters as indicated below. The plate and decal must be maintained in a 
clear and legible condition. A registration plate is not provided by the DNR or 
Deputy registrar. Owners must provide their own registration plate using the 
information below.
Registration plate must be:

• at least 4 inches high and 71⁄2 inches long;
• clearly visible on the back of the vehicle; and
• at least 12 inches from the ground.

Registration letters and numbers must be:
• at least 1½ inches high with a 3⁄16 inch stroke;
• in English and placed from left to right; and
• in a color that contrasts with the background of the plate.

What type of registration is needed?
Public use

• If you will ride this ATV on public ATV trails, 
public land, frozen water and roadways.

• The decal must be displayed in the upper left 
section of the plate. This registration is valid for 
three years. Registration expires on December 
31 of the third year.

Private/agricultural use
• If you will use your ATV (Class 1 or Class 2) 

exclusively for private or agricultural activities, 
harvesting wood, or on private property.

• The decal must be displayed in the upper right 
section of the plate. This registration does not 
expire and is valid until the ownership of the ATV 
is transferred.

Example of Registration Plate

Example of Registration Plate

Example of Registration Plate

Example of Registration Plate

Continued…

FREE RIDING WEEKEND
ATV registration and nonresident ATV trail passes will not be 
required to ride on state and grant-in-aid trails on June 13-14, 2026.
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DUAL REGISTRATION (MINNESO TA STATUTE 84.788 SUBD 12)

An off-highway motorcycle registered under this section may also be registered as 
a motorcycle under chapter 168 for use on public roads and highways. 

If the off-highway motorcycle was not originally constructed primarily for use on 
public roads and highways, the off-highway motorcycle must be equipped with 
mirrors and a headlight, taillight, and horn.

See Minnesota chapter 169, the safety standards of the National Traffic and Motor 
Safety Act, Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, part 571, and the regulations 
adopted under that federal act, for motorcycles regarding safety and acceptability 
to operate on public roads and highways.

Contact the Department of Public Safety at 651-201-7000 for further details and 
application procedures.

ORV REGISTRATION (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.798)
ORVs are only required to be registered if operated on ORV designated trails or 
areas on lands administered by the DNR or grant-in-aid ORV trails, Registration is 
valid for 3 years. Registration is not required if a valid trail pass is displayed.

Plates and registration decals must be maintained in a clean and legible condition.

ORV registered only for off-road use
If the vehicle is not licensed as a motor vehicle, the owner 
shall provide a plate not less than four inches high and 
7 1⁄2 inches wide. The plate must be attached to the rear 
of the vehicle at least 12 inches from the ground. The 
registration sticker must be affixed on the upper left 
corner of the plate.

OHM REGISTRATION (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.788)
All OHMs operated in Minnesota must be registered with DNR. See page 11 for 
exemptions. Even when operated on private property, registration is required. 
This registration is valid for three years.

OHMs registered only for off-road use
If the motorcycle is not licensed as a motor vehicle, the 
decal must be attached on the side of the motorcycle 
and may be attached to the fork tube. The decal must be 
attached in a manner so that it is visible while a rider is on 
the motorcycle.
OHMs licensed in Minnesota for roadway use and 
registered for off-road use 
Display the OHM decal in the upper left corner of the rear 
regular motorcycle license plate. The DNR registration 
number should not be displayed.

ORV REGISTRATION-FREE DAY AT THE IRON RANGE 
OHV STATE RECREATION AREA
On May 16, 2026, the Iron Range Off-highway Vehicle State Recreation 
Area will not require registration from any ORV riders that visit the site. The 
ORV registration-free day falls on the third Saturday in May each year.

Continued…

ORVs licensed in Minnesota for roadway use and 
registered for off-road use
If the vehicle is licensed as a motor vehicle, 
the registration decal must be affixed on the upper left 
corner of the rear license plate.

PAID ADVERTISEMENT

Special Operating Permits (MINNESOTA RULE 6102.0030)

Permits not to exceed 30 days may be issued to operators of vehicles from states 
that do not require registration, when used in connection with an organized group 
outing, trail ride, race, rally, or other promotional event. The permit must be 
carried by the vehicle operator.

WWW.RAINYLAKE.ORG

P A I D A D V E R T I S M E N T

WWW.RAINYLAKE.ORG

DOT Approved 
Helmet

Gloves

Boots

Goggles or 
Eye Protection

Long Sleeve 
Shirt

Long Pants

WEAR THE RIGHT GEAR 
WHEN YOU RIDE
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REGISTRATION FEES
All-terrain vehicle registration fees - effective 07/01/2017
TYPE OF TRANSACTION FEE ISSUING FEE DURATION
New (unregistered) $60 $8.50 3 calendar years
Renewal only $60 $6 3 calendar years
Transfer only $4 $8.50  
Renewal and transfer $64 $8.50
Duplicate registration card $4 $6
Duplicate registration decal only Free $6
Dealer’s registration $50 $8.50 1 year
Dealer’s registration renewal $50 $6 1 year
Manufacturer’s registration $150 $8.50 1 year
Manufacturer’s registration renewal $150 $6 1 year
Nonresident trail pass $30 $1 1 year
Duplicate nonresident trail pass $2 50 cents
New collector ATV $6 $8.50 Nonexpiring
Duplicate collector ATV $4 $6

Private/agricultural registration fees - effective 07/01/2017
TYPE OF TRANSACTION FEE ISSUING FEE DURATION
New (unregistered) $6 $8.50
Duplicate registration card $4 $6
Duplicate registration decal only Free $6

DEALER AND MANUFACTURER REGISTRATION
Registration is required by OHV dealers and manufacturers to operate OHVs 
for testing or demonstration purposes. OHV dealerships and manufacturers may 
make application for registration at local deputy registrar office and directly with 
the DNR License bureau in St. Paul. Registration plates will be sent out from the 
license bureau.

The registration certificate documents must be prominently displayed in the place 
of business.

A dealer or manufacturer may not operate or permit to be operated within this 
state any vehicle owned by or under the control of a dealer or manufacturer unless 
a valid registration plate is clearly displayed on the vehicle.

Off-road vehicle registration fees - effective 07/01/2017
TYPE OF TRANSACTION FEE ISSUING FEE DURATION
New (unregistered) $30 $8.50 3 calendar years
Renewal only $30 $6 3 calendar years
30-day resident trail pass $20 $1 30 consecutive 

days
Transfer only $4 $8.50  
Renewal and transfer $34 $8.50  
Duplicate registration card $4 $6  
Duplicate registration decal only Free $6  
Dealer’s registration $50 $8.50 1 year
Dealer’s registration renewal $50 $6 1 year
Manufacturer’s registration $150 $8.50 1 year
Manufacturer’s registration renewal $150 $6 1 year
One-year nonresident trail pass $20 $1 1 year
Three-year nonresident trail pass $30 $1 3 years
Duplicate nonresident trail pass $2 50 cents

Off-highway motorcycle registration fees - effective 07/01/2024
TYPE OF TRANSACTION FEE ISSUING FEE DURATION
New (unregistered) $45 $8.50 3 calendar years
Renewal only $45 $6 3 calendar years
Transfer only $4 $8.50
Renewal and transfer $49 $8.50
Duplicate registration card $4 $6
Duplicate registration decal only Free $6
Dealer’s registration $50 $8.50 1 year
Dealer’s registration renewal $50 $6 1 year
Manufacturer’s registration $150 $8.50 1 year
Manufacturer’s registration renewal $150 $6 1 year
One-year nonresident trail pass $20 $1 1 year

REPLACEMENT REGISTRATION CARDS AND DECALS
You may obtain a ATV and OHM replacement registration card for $10.00 or a 
replacement decal for $6.00 from the DNR License Center or a deputy registrar 
office (where automobile license tabs are purchased). Replacement decals and 
numbers must be affixed in the same manner as the original. You are not required 
to carry the registration card, but when a law enforcement officer requests to see 
it, it must be provided within a reasonable time period.
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ATV SAFETY TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
These requirements are for residents and nonresidents.

An individual who was born after July 1, 1987, and who is 12 
years of age or older, must successfully complete the 
independent study course component of all-terrain 
vehicle safety training before operating an all-terrain 
vehicle on public lands or waters, public road rights-
of-way, or state or grant-in-aid trails.

Exception: A person at least 10 years of age but under 
12 years of age may operate an all-terrain vehicle with 
an engine capacity up to 110cc if the vehicle is a Class 1 
all-terrain vehicle with straddle-style seating or up to 170cc 
if the vehicle is a Class 1 all-terrain vehicle with side-by-side-
style seating on public lands or waters if accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

The Minnesota DNR ATV Safety class includes information on: basic operation, 
common parts and controls, operating safely and responsibly, trail riding, laws, 
riding skills, and protecting the environment.

Ages 10 to 15
Youth will complete the two-step process to ATV Safety Certification:

1. Complete the ATV safety online training course.
2. Attend a hands-on ATV course.

Online training course: atvcourse.com  Fee: $29.95 
Hands-on ATV course: Find a schedule of hands-on courses at 
mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/atv. Go to Education and Safety tab, and then under 
recreational vehicle safety classes, click on ATV Safety to find the hands-on ATV 
course calendar.

• Additional fees may apply when attending the hands-on ATV course. 
• Student is required to fit their ATV in order to participate in the ATV course. 

See page 21.
• Contact the lead ATV instructor for additional information.

Ages 16 and older (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.925 SUBD. 5)

Anyone who is 16 years or older must successfully complete the online ATV Safety 
Training before operating an ATV on public lands, frozen waters, public road 
rights-of-way, or state or grant-in-aid trails. Ages 16 and older are not required to 
attend the hands-on ATV course.

Alternate ATV safety training certification (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.925 SUBD. 3B)

Proof of completion of the ATV RiderCourse offered by the All-Terrain Vehicle 
Safety Institute is adequate to meet the safety certificate requirements.  

The commissioner may enter into reciprocity agreements or certify ATV Safety 
from other states that are substantially similar to in-state courses.

ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLE (ATV) OPERATION
Safety first—helmets (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.9256 SUBD 2A)

A person less than 18 years of age shall not ride as a passenger or as an operator of 
an all-terrain vehicle on public land, public waters, or on a public road right-of-way 
unless wearing a safety helmet approved by the commissioner of public safety. See 
page 3 for the definition of an Approved Helmet.

⁕NEW—Seat belt requirement with Class 2 ATV (MINNESOTA STATUTE 
169.686 SUBD 1A)

A seat belt, including both the shoulder and lap belt when the vehicle is so 
equipped, must be worn by the operator and passengers of a class 2 all-terrain 
vehicle, when operated on or within the right-of-way of a public road when the all-
terrain vehicle is factory-equipped with seat belts.

See page 20 for Public Road Right-of-way information.

A person may not drive or operate an all-terrain vehicle (MINNESOTA STATUTE 
84.928 SUBD 2):

• at a rate of speed greater than reasonable or proper under the surrounding 
circumstances;

• in a careless, reckless, or negligent manner so as to endanger or to cause injury 
or damage to the person or property of another;

• without headlight and taillight lighted at all times if the vehicle is equipped with 
headlight and taillight, if not equipped, may not operate in hours of darkness or 
reduced visibility;

• without a functioning stoplight if so equipped;
• without a brake operational by either hand or foot;
• with more than one person on the vehicle, see Passenger sections under Class 1 

and Class 2 ATV;
• at a speed exceeding 10-miles per hour on the frozen surface of public waters 

within 100 feet of a person not on an all-terrain vehicle or within 100 feet of a 
fishing shelter;

• across a bridge that is part of the traveled lanes of an interstate highway; or
• on grant-in-aid snowmobile and non-motorized trails closed to ATVs unless 

specifically allowed;
• between 30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise, except on 

the right-hand side of the right-of-way and in the same direction as the 
highway traffic.

AT V  S A F E T Y     
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http://www.atvcourse.com
http://www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/atv
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Class 1 ATVs cannot be operated on the 
road surface of a trunk, county state-aid or 

county highway, unless allowed by local ordinance.
Check for ATV permits and restrictions for ATV use 

within specific counties, townships and municipalities. 
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CLASS 1 ATV OPERATIONS (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.9256 SUBD 3)
The owner or adult in control of an ATV is legally responsible to ensure it is 
operated according to the following requirements. 

Under age 10 
• May operate only on private property with permission of the owner.

Ages 10 and 11 
• May operate only on private property with permission of the owner, except an 

ATV with a straddle seat up to 110cc or up to 170cc with side-by-side seating on 
public lands and frozen waters if accompanied by parent or legal guardian.

Ages 12 to 15 
• Must have permission from their parent or guardian to operate an ATV.
• May not operate an ATV on public lands or water, or on state or grant-in-aid 

trails, if the person cannot properly reach and control the handlebars and reach 
the foot pegs while sitting upright on the seat.

• May make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way of a trunk, county 
state-aid, or county highway or operate on public lands and waters or state or 
grant-in-aid trails, only if that person possesses a valid all-terrain vehicle safety 
certificate issued by the commissioner and is accompanied on another ATV by 
a person 18 years of age or older who holds a valid driver’s license.

• May operate on the bank, slope, ditch of a public road right-of-way or roadway 
open by local ordinance with a valid ATV Safety Certificate when accompanied 
by a parent or legal guardian on a separate ATV.

Ages 16 and 17 
• Must have a valid driver’s license and ATV Safety Certificate to make a direct 

crossing of a roadway or operate on road rights-of-way or roadway open by 
local ordinance.

Passengers on a Class 1 ATV (MN STATUTE 84.9257 PASSENGERS)

• A person 12 to 17 years of age may operate a Class 1 all-terrain vehicle carrying 
only one passenger and the passenger must be the person’s parent or 
legal guardian.

• A person 18 years of age or older may operate a Class 1 all-terrain vehicle 
carrying only one passenger.

A person with a valid driver’s license may operate a Class 1 ATV:
• In the ditch or the outside bank or slope of a trunk, county state-aid, or county 

highway unless prohibited under local road authority. 
• Registered for private use and being used for agricultural purposes on a public 

right-of-way of a trunk or county highway, if the ATV is on the extreme right 
side of the road. A left turn may be made if it is safe to do so.

• On the far right side of a township road, unless prohibited by local regulations. 
• On a bridge, a roadway shoulder, or the inside bank of a public road right-of-way 

if necessary to avoid obstructions to travel or environmentally sensitive areas. 
You must remain in the farthest right lane, enter the roadway within 100 feet of 
the bridge, obstacle, or area, and make the crossing without delay.

Class 1 ATV with steering wheel
A person may operate a Class 1 all-terrain vehicle designed by the manufacturer 
for off-road use to be driven by a steering wheel and equipped with operator and 
passenger seat belts and a roll-over protective structure within the public road 
right-of-way of a county state-aid or county highway on the right shoulder or the 
extreme right-hand side of the road and left turns may be made from any part of 
the road if it is safe to do so under the prevailing conditions, unless prohibited by 
local ordinance.

CLASS 2 ATV OPERATIONS (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.928)
In addition to the information found on page 17 and 18, a class 2 
all-terrain vehicle may be operated:

• within the public road right-of-way of a county state-aid or county 
highway on the right shoulder or the extreme right-hand side of the 
road and left turns may be made from any part of the road if it is safe to do so 
under the prevailing conditions;

• on the bank, slope, or ditch of a public road right-of-way of a trunk, county 
state-aid, or county highway but only to access businesses or make trail 
connections, and left turns may be made from any part of the road if it is safe 
to do so under the prevailing conditions;

• on the bank or ditch of a public road right-of-way on a designated class 2 
all-terrain vehicle trail.

A road authority as defined under Minnesota statute 160.02, subdivision 25, may 
after a public hearing restrict the use of all-terrain vehicles in the public road 
right-of-way under its jurisdiction.

Continued…Continued…

A person shall not operate an all-terrain vehicle at any time within the right-of-way 
of an interstate highway or freeway within this state. Operation on the surface of a 
Trunk Highway (a.k.a state highway) is not permitted.

For additional information for operation on roads and rights-of-way, see 
www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/84.928

http://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/84.928
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Class 2 ATV’s can be operated in the 
extreme right side of the road.

Class 2 ATV’s can not be operated within a 
road ditch unless as part of a designated 
Class 2 trail or to access a business or a 

trail connection.

Class 2 
ATV Trail
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Youth under age 15 (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.9256 SUBD.1 (G))

• A person under 15 years of age shall not operate a class 2 all-terrain vehicle.

Ages 16 to 17
• Must have a valid driver’s license and a ATV safety certificate to make a direct 

crossing of a roadway or operate on road rights-of-way.
• Must wear a DOT rated helmet and seat belt (if equipped).

A person with a valid drivers license may operate a Class 2 ATV: 
• on frozen lake surfaces;
• on state forest roads; or
• within the public road right-of-way of a county state-aid or county highway on 

the right shoulder or the extreme right-hand side of the road and left turns 
may be made from any part of the road if it is safe to do so under the prevailing 
conditions, unless prohibited by the road authority or other local laws.

Passengers on Class 2 ATVs (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.9257 PASSENGERS)
A person 18 years of age or older may operate a Class 2 all-terrain vehicle while 
carrying only one passenger, or up to the number of passengers for which the 
vehicle was designed, whichever is greater.

Note: Passengers must occupy the designated seating area that was installed by the 
original manufacturer.

SPECIAL VEHICLE USE ON ROADWAY (MINNESOTA STATUTE 169.045)
The governing body of any county, home rule charter or statutory city, or town 
may by ordinance authorize the operation of motorized golf carts, all-terrain 
vehicles, utility task vehicles, or mini trucks, on designated roadways or portions 
thereof under its jurisdiction.

See the Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes website for the full text of law.

A person shall not operate an all-terrain vehicle at any time within the right-of-way 
of an interstate highway or freeway within this state. Operation on the surface of a 
Trunk Highway (a.k.a state highway) is not permitted.

For additional information for operation on roads and rights-of-way, see 
www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/84.928

ATVS—YOUTH MUST FIT TO RIDE (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.9256)
To operate an ATV on public lands or frozen waters, or on state or 
grant-in-aid trails, operators under age 16 must:

• Be able to properly reach and control the handlebars and reach the foot 
pegs while sitting upright on an ATV with straddle-style seating.

• Be able to properly reach the steering wheel and foot controls of a 
Class 1 ATV with side-by-side seating while sitting upright with the seat 
belt fully engaged.

Seat clearance: There should be a 
minimum of 3 inches between operator 
and the ATV seat. Proper clearance 
enables the operator to maintain 
balance on the foot rests when riding 
over rough terrain. Maintaining balance 
prevents the operator from falling off or 
being thrown from the machine.

Upper legs: While seated, the operator’s 
upper legs should be horizontal (parallel 
to the ground).

Arm length: While seated on the 
machine and gripping the handle bar, 
there should be a distinct bend in the 
arm at the elbow. Without it, there will 
not be sufficient reach to properly grip 
the handlebars when turning and riding.

Hand size: With the hand gripping the 
handle bar, extend the fingers to the 
brake lever. The first joint of the index 
finger should extend beyond the brake 
lever. If it doesn’t, then the hand is too 
small to safely operate the brake. Also, 
check to see that the arm length is 
sufficient to properly operate the brake 
lever and throttle while the handlebars 
are turned to the far left and right.

http://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/84.928
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OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE OPERATIONS
PUBLIC ROAD RIGHT-OF-WAY 
Public road right-of-way means the entire right-of-way of a roadway that is not 
privately owned, including the traveled portions, banks, slopes, ditches, shoulders, 
and medians.

OHV riding may be permitted on grant-in-aid trails that include portions of the 
public road right-of-way when posted with signs for that vehicle type.

Explanation on Highways
County State Aid Highway:
A highway that is maintained by the county road authority which receives state 
funds for maintenance and development. The highway may be constructed with 
an aggregate material or asphalt surface. A county ordinance may regulate off-
highway vehicle operation.
Trunk Highway:
A trunk system is a network of interstates and state highways that connects 
communities throughout Minnesota.  The highway may be constructed with 
an asphalt or concrete surface. All-Terrain Vehicle operation is restricted  - see 
graphics on page 18 and 20 for road surface use summary.

Crossing a public road right-of-way with an ATV
An all-terrain vehicle may make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way 
provided:

• the crossing is made at an angle of approximately 90 degrees to the direction 
of the road and at a place where no obstruction prevents a quick and safe 
crossing;

• the vehicle is brought to a complete stop before crossing the shoulder or 
main-traveled way of the road;

• the driver yields the right-of-way to all on-coming traffic that constitutes an 
immediate hazard;

• in crossing a divided road, the crossing is made only at an intersection of the 
road with another public road; and

• if the crossing is made between the hours of 1⁄2 hour after sunset to 1⁄2 hour 
before sunrise or in conditions of reduced visibility, only if both front and rear 
lights are on.

OPERATION RESTRICTIONS
You may not operate off-highway vehicles:

• in a careless, reckless or negligent manner that endangers another person 
or property; 

• on restricted areas within public lands that are posted or where gates or 
other clearly visible structures are placed to prevent unauthorized motorized 
vehicle access;

• on the median of a four-lane highway;
• within the right-of-way of any interstate highway or freeway; 
• on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic;
• on grant-in-aid snowmobile trails; 
• on designated non-motorized trails; 
• at airports;
• on any frozen public waters where you don’t have legal access or where it is 

prohibited;
• in any area restricted by local ordinances; 
• in a tree nursery or planting area;
• on state forest lands that are posted or designated “closed” to motorized uses;
• on agricultural land without permission; or
• in most state parks, state recreation areas, state historic sites, wildlife 

management areas (WMAs), state scientific and natural areas (SNAs) with the 
exception of posted trails and areas. Exception: OHVs that are licensed highway 
motor vehicles may be operated on established roads at speeds up to 20 miles 
per hour in the following WMAs: Carlos Avery, Hubbel Pond, Mille Lacs, 
Red Lake, Roseau River, and Thief Lake. 

AGRICULTURAL ZONE RESTRICTION
A person shall not operate an all-terrain vehicle 
within the public road right-of-way of a trunk, 
county state-aid, or county highway from April 1 to 
August 1 in the agricultural zone unless the vehicle 
is being used exclusively as transportation to and 
from work on agricultural lands.

The Minnesota agricultural zone is the area lying 
south and west of a line formed by the following 
highway rights-of-way: starting at the North Dakota 
border, the line goes east along U.S. Highway 10 
to State Highway 23, then follows Highway 23 
east to State Highway 95 to the Wisconsin border. 
The agricultural zone does not include the 
rights-of-way of these boundary highways, 
and applies only to Class 1 ATV use.

Agricultural Zone Map

For additional information on Ag 
Zone use see subdivision 1 (g) under 

www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/84.928

http://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/84.928


Off-Highway Vehicle Operations2025-2026 OHV Regulations | 888-MINNDNR 2524

OTHER PROHIBITIONS
You may not:

• litter;
• enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence;
• mutilate, destroy, damage or remove any property within a trail or on 

state land; or
• post, damage or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are the 

landowner, occupant or lessee of the property.

CAN I RIDE AN OHV IN THE METRO AREA?
In the seven-county metro area
For the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, 
Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott  and Washington, you 
may ride on:

• Your own land.
• Land posted with signs specifically permitting 

the use of OHVs.

You may not ride OHVs on land you do not own 
unless given written or verbal permission by the 
owner, occupant or lessee.

Operating OHVs on public lands may be 
restricted, check with land manager.

Outside of the seven-county metro area
No person shall enter  on any land not owned by the person for the purpose of 
operating a recreational motor vehicle after being  notified, either orally or by 
written or posted notice, by the owner, occupant, or lessee not to do so.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT REGULATIONS OR ORDINANCES
A county, city or town may by ordinance allow operation of an all-terrain 
vehicle on a public road or street under its jurisdiction to access businesses 
and residences and to make trail connections. Check with the appropriate 
unit of government for additional regulations or restrictions.

Unless otherwise prohibited, a county board by ordinance may allow the 
operation of all-terrain vehicles on the road right-of-way shoulder, or 
inside bank or slope of a county highway or county state-aid highway, if: 
1) the highway is in the agricultural zone; or 2) safe operation in the ditch or 
outside slope is impossible, and the county posts the appropriate notice.

Minnesota statute 84.90 
Subd 2 and Subd 3

WHEN TRAIL RIDING
• Obey all trail signs. 

• Orange trail markers are snowmobile routes and may not permit operation of 
other OHVs.

OHVS AND WETLAND DISTURBANCE
You may not operate an OHV in a manner to:

• Carelessly upset the natural and ecological balance of a wetland.
• Impact a wetland in excess of minimum amounts established by law.
• Ride below the ordinary high-water level of an unfrozen public waters that are 

lakes, streams, rivers and public water wetlands or calcareous fens.
• There are increased penalties for OHV wetland disturbance. Conviction may be 

a Gross Misdemeanor and the OHV (ATV, OHM and ORV) may be forfeited. 
• Wetland restrictions apply both to private land as well as public land. Wetland 

regulations vary by the area of the state and other criteria.

If uncertain an area is a wetland, please contact the areas County Soil and Water 
Conservation District or local zoning office. For additional Wetland definitions, see 
MN Statute 103g.005 and 103g.223

In addition to the training requirements listed here, operating privileges are 
automatically suspended for one year for:

• Conviction for carelessly and recklessly upsetting the natural and ecological 
balance of a wetland (gross misdemeanor violation).

• Operation on unfrozen public water, or in a state park, SNA, or WMA.
• Willful, wanton or reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property.
• Carelessly upsetting the natural and ecological balance of a wetland or public 

waters wetland.

Directional 
Marker Sign

Intersection 
Ahead Sign

Stop Sign Caution Sign

• All designated trails are two-way unless posted otherwise. One-way trails must 
be traveled in the direction indicated. 

• Stay to the right when meeting or being passed by another trail user.
• You must pass on the left half of the tread-way and only when the trail is free 

from on-coming traffic to safely pass the other trail user.
• Yield to non-motorized trail users and shut off your engine when meeting a 

horse until the horse has passed or until waved on.
• When entering or crossing a trail you must yield to trail traffic. When two trail 

users are about to enter an unmarked tread-way intersection from different 
directions, the trail user to the right has the right-of-way.

Continued…

Anoka

Wash.

Dakota
Scott

Carver

Hennepin
Ram.
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OFF-HIGHWAY MOTORCYCLES (OHM)
OHM SAFETY TRAINING REQUIREMENT 
Ages 6 to 15
A person six years or older but less than 16 years of age 
operating an off-highway motorcycle on public lands 
or waters must possess a valid off-highway motorcycle 
safety certificate issued by the commissioner.

The Minnesota DNR OHM Safety course includes 
information on: basic operation, common parts 
and controls, operating safely and responsibly, 
trail riding, rules and laws, riding skills and protecting 
the environment.

Website: atvcourse.com/usa/minnesota

After completing all the online course requirements, you will be able to print a 
certificate of completion. To obtain your permanent safety certificate, mail the 
certificate of completion along with a $5.00 (check/money order) fee written 
out to the “Minnesota DNR.” Mail to DNR Safety Training and Education, Camp 
Ripley, 15011 HWY 115, Little Falls, MN 56345. To contact the Safety Training office, 
see page 39.

Alternate OHM safety training: msf-usa.org/start-your-ride/dirtbike-school/

Dirt Bike School is a fun, one-day, hands-on training session available to anyone 
six years old or above. At approved training sites, MSF certified DBS Coaches 
will teach you basic riding skills and responsible riding practices, including risk 
management and environmental awareness.

OHM GENERAL OPERATIONS (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.795)
• You may not operate an OHM in ditches, unless it is a trail designated for 

OHM use.
• OHMs registered for highway use may operate on roadways.
• A valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement is required to operate 

anywhere on road rights-of-way, including crossing roads. The only exception 
would be on portions of a designated trail that specifically include a road 
right-of-way.

• Your OHM must have a headlight, taillight and brakes to be operated on a 
public road. The lights must be on while operating on a trunk, county, state aid, 
or county highway; or when crossing a public road right-of-way, 1⁄2 hour after 
sunset to 1⁄2 hour before sunrise; or in conditions of reduced visibility.

• You must wear eye protection when operating an OHM.
• You may not exceed 10 mph on the frozen surface of public waters within 

100 feet of a person fishing or a fish house or other shelter.
• Sound levels for OHMs manufactured after 1986 may not exceed 96 decibels 

when operated on public lands.

OHM YOUTH OPERATORS (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.793)

Helmets
Operators under age 18 are required to wear a helmet when operating on public 
lands, frozen waters, and road rights-of-way. See page 3 for the definition of an 
approved helmet.

Under age 12 
• Must wear eye protection and an approved DOT rated helmet.
• Must have in possession a valid OHM safety certificate when operating on 

public lands and frozen waters.
• May not make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way.
• May not operate OHM on a public road or public road right-of-way.
• May not operate OHM on public lands or frozen public waters unless 

accompanied by a person age 18 or older who holds a valid driver’s license. 
Exception: an operator participating in a DNR permitted event is not required 
to be accompanied by an adult.

Under age 16
• Must wear eye protection and an approved DOT rated helmet.
• Must have in possession a valid OHM safety certificate when operating on 

public lands, frozen waters, and public road rights-of-way.
• May make a direct crossing of a public road (except an interstate highway) if 

accompanied by a person age 18 or older with a valid driver’s license.

Ages 16 and 17
• Must wear eye protection and an approved DOT rated helmet when operating 

on public lands, frozen waters, and public road rights-of-way. 
• Must have a valid driver’s license to operate an OHM on a public roadway, 

and the motorcycle must be licensed for highway use. (A driver’s license is 
not required on designated trails when the trail specifically includes the road 
right-of-way).

NONRESIDENT YOUTH OHM OPERATORS 
Nonresidents under age 16 may operate an OHM on public lands or frozen waters 
if they have in possession proof of completing an OHM safety course offered by 
the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) Dirt bike School, or another state and are 
accompanied by a person age 18 or older who has a valid driver’s license.

http://atvcourse.com/usa/minnesota
http://msf-usa.org/start-your-ride/dirtbike-school/
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OFF-ROAD VEHICLES (ORV)
ORV EDUCATION AND SAFETY TRAINING
Age 16 and older (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.8015)

An ORV environmental and safety training course is available for persons 
age 16 or older. The course, available on a flash drive, covers ORV familiarization, 
operating procedures, law, towing procedures, ethics, safety hazards, and 
environmental considerations. It is not required by law to take the course, but it is 
highly recommended. The cost is $15.00. To contact the Safety Training office, see 
page 39.

ORV YOUTH OPERATORS (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.802)

Under age 16
A person under 16 years of age may not operate an ORV. The owner of an ORV 
may not allow it to be operated by a person under age 16.

ORV GENERAL OPERATIONS (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.804)
• All ORV passengers and operators must wear seat belts.
• A valid driver’s license is required to cross roads. The only exception is portions 

of a designated trail that specifically include a road right-of-way.
• ORVs are required to have lights on while crossing public roads 1⁄2 hour after 

sunset to 1⁄2 hour before sunrise, and during periods of reduced visibility.
• You may operate on state forest roads, trails and lands as described on 

page 34. You may not operate an ORV within the right-of-way of an interstate 
highway, or within a public road right-of-way, except on a designated trail.

THINGS TO KNOW
Reporting stolen, abandoned or destroyed vehicles
A registered off-highway vehicle that is abandoned, stolen or destroyed must be 
reported to the DNR License Center within 15 days. There is no fee. 

Accident reports
A recreational accident report must be submitted to the DNR within 10 days. An 
OHV accident resulting in injury requiring medical attention or hospitalization to or 
death of a person; or total damage of $300 or more for ORVs, $500 or more for 
ATVs and OHMs.

Odometer tampering 
It is unlawful to knowingly tamper with an OHV odometer with the intent to 
defraud by reflecting a lower mileage than the true mileage, the same as other 
motor vehicles. For additional information on OHV odometer tampering, see 
Minnesota Statute 325E.14

CROSSING PUBLIC ROAD RIGHT-OF-WAY
A person operating an off-highway motorcycle may make a direct crossing of 
a public road right-of-way provided:

• the crossing is made at an angle of approximately 90 degrees;
• the off-highway motorcycle is brought to a complete stop before crossing 

the shoulder or main-traveled way of the road;
• the driver yields the right-of-way to all oncoming traffic that constitutes 

an immediate hazard;
• in crossing a divided road, the crossing is made only at an intersection of 

the road with another public road; and
• if the crossing is made between the hours of 1⁄2 hour after sunset to 1⁄2 hour 

before sunrise or in conditions of reduced visibility, only if both front and rear 
lights are on.
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TRAIL PASSES
⁕NEW—ORV TRAIL PASS
A person may not operate an off-road vehicle on a state or grant-in-aid off-road 
vehicle trail or use area unless the vehicle displays an off-road vehicle state trail 
pass issued according to this section. The pass must be available to be viewed by 
a peace officer, a conservation officer, or an employee designated under section 
84.0835.

RESIDENT
Trail pass for resident is valid for 30 days.  Not required if registered as an ORV.

NONRESIDENT
A nonresident operating an ATV, OHM, or ORV on state and grant-in-aid trails is 
required to have a nonresident trail pass, unless specified below:

• The pass is not required if the nonresident operator is driving an ATV that is 
registered in Minnesota.

• Nonresidents do not need a pass if operating on a portion of an ATV, OHM or 
ORV trail that is owned by the person or the person’s spouse, child, or parent, 
or if the ATV, OHM or ORV is registered in Minnesota.

Trail Pass need to know (examples not to scale):
• The ATV or OHM trail pass must be available for inspection when requested by 

a law enforcement officer.
• Duplicate nonresident ATV, OHM and ORV trail passes are available.

REQUIRED EQUIPMENT FOR OFF-HIGHWAY 
VEHICLES

The following are required for all off-highway vehicles operated on public lands, 
waters, trails, and public streets and roads open to vehicle use.

Brakes 
Brakes must control movement and stop and hold the vehicle.

Throttle 
Throttle must return the engine to idle when pressure to advance the throttle 
is removed.

Mufflers
• No person shall operate a vehicle unless it is equipped with a muffler having a 

spark arrestor approved by the United States Forest Service.  Minnesota Rule 
6102.0040 subpart 4 A.

• Overall noise emission from ATVs and ORVs may not exceed 99 decibels at a 
distance of 20 inches.

• OHMs that are not competition cycles, and were manufactured in or after 
1986, may not exceed noise emissions of 96 decibels at a distance of 20 inches.

• Mufflers may not be altered to increase motor noise, or have a cutout, bypass, 
or similar device except if used at organized events.

Towing (MINNESOTA RULE 6102.0040 SUBPART 2)

• A straight-arm bar must be used to tow a trailer or other device containing 
passengers.

• A disabled vehicle being towed may contain a person to steer.
• At least 16 square inches of reflective material that is unobstructed and visible 

must be mounted on each side and at the rear of a trailer or other device.
• Recommend passengers wear approved DOT helmets for their safety.

Lights (MINNESOTA RULE 6102.0040 SUBPART 1 A)

• When operating during hours of darkness or reduced visibility, a vehicle must 
have at least one headlamp in operation, having a minimum candlepower of 
sufficient intensity to reveal persons and vehicles at a distance of at least 100 
feet ahead under normal atmospheric conditions. The headlamp must be so 
aimed that glaring rays are not projected into the eyes of oncoming vehicle 
operators.

• If not equipped, may not operate in hours of darkness or reduced visibility.

Nonresident ORV Trail Pass

Nonresident OHM Trail Pass Nonresident ATV Trail Pass

Resident ORV Trail Pass

Resident ORV Trail Pass

T25
Valid    06/30/2025  -  07/29/2025 TX

N
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: 0
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13
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Non Resident ORV Trail Pass

T25
Valid    01/01/2025  -  12/31/2025 TX
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Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
NONRESIDENT OHM TRAIL PASS

MDNR#:  898190806
SAMPLE NAME
500 LAFAYETTE RD
ST PAUL, MN 55155 

25
Height    0’ 0”
Weight   0 lbs
Gender  UNK
Eyes      OTHER

Nonresident OHM Trail Pass, Code 031
Effective Dates 01/01/2025 - 12/31/2025

Required for nonresidents to operate an Off-Highway 
Motorcycle on a OHM trail.
Pass must be in immediate possession and
available for inspection.

031 - Nonresident OHM Trail Pass  $21.00

   Total  $21.00
  This license is NON-REFUNDABLE

License Signature: __________________________________________
I hereby certify that my license privileges have not been revoked prior to
this date:

VOI
D

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
NONRESIDENT ATV TRAIL PASS

MDNR#:  898190806
SAMPLE NAME
500 LAFAYETTE RD
ST PAUL, MN 55155 

25
Height    0’ 0”
Weight   0 lbs
Gender  UNK
Eyes      OTHER

Nonresident ATV Trail Pass, Code 022
Effective Dates 01/01/2025 - 12/31/2025

Required for nonresidents to operate an AL-Terrain Vehicle on 
a state or grant-in-aid trail
Pass must be immediate possession and
available for inspection.

022 - Nonresident ATV Trail Pass  $31.00

   Total  $31.00
  This license is NON-REFUNDABLE

License Signature: __________________________________________
I hereby certify that my license privileges have not been revoked prior to
this date:

VOID
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Open bottle law (MINNESOTA STATUTE 169A.35)

It is unlawful for a person to drink, consume, or possess an open alcoholic beverage 
when an OHV is operated on a road or within the road right of way (except on 
designated trail).

Ignition Interlock (MINNESOTA STATUTE 171.36)

If the person operating or in physical control of an off-road recreational vehicle 
is a program participant in the ignition interlock device program, the off-road 
recreational vehicle may be operated only if it is equipped with an approved 
ignition interlock device (Includes ATV, ORV, OHM, Snowmobile and motorboats).

Trespass (MINNESOTA STATUTE 97B.001)

Agricultural land is broadly defined. You must have permission to ride on legally 
posted land or agricultural land. All planted grassland, hay land and short-rotation 
woody cropland also meet the definition of agricultural land. These lands do not 
need to be posted. Entering without permission is trespassing.

Further information on trespass laws can be found in the Minnesota Hunting and 
Trapping Regulations Handbook at mndnr.gov/regulations.

You may not: wound or kill another person’s domestic animal; destroy private 
property; pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position; 
travel off a marked OHV grant in aid and state marked trails.

Violator training and suspension (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.925 SUBDIVISION 5)

An individual who is convicted of violating a law related to the operation of an 
ATV must successfully complete the ATV safety online training course before 
continuing operation of an ATV.

An individual who is convicted for a second or subsequent excess speed, trespass, 
or wetland violation in an all-terrain vehicle season, or any conviction for careless 
or reckless operation of an ATV, must successfully complete the ATV safety online 
training course and the testing and operating course components of ATV safety 
training before continuing operation of an ATV.

An individual who receives three or more citations and convictions for violating 
a law related to the operation of an ATV in a two-year period must successfully 
complete the ATV safety online training course and the testing and operating 
course components of all-terrain vehicle safety training before continuing 
operation of an ATV.

Continued…

ENFORCEMENT
Conservation officers, deputy sheriffs, police officers, and state troopers 
all enforce off-highway vehicle rules. You must stop when signaled by a law 
enforcement officer.

Penalties
• Fleeing a law enforcement officer on an OHV is a felony and the OHV used 

may be forfeited.
• An off-highway vehicle violation can be a petty misdemeanor or a 

misdemeanor; It depends on severity of the violation.
• Most operation, registration and trespass violations also can be enforced by 

issuing a civil citation and can include restitution.

Operating while impaired (MINNESOTA STATUTES 84.765)

Operating any motor vehicle (including off-highway vehicles) while under 
the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, or other hazardous 
substance is unlawful. 

Operators who are impaired may be required to submit to tests by a law 
enforcement officer. Refusal to submit to the test is a crime and the person’s ATV, 
snowmobile, and motorboat operating privileges will be suspended during the same 
time period as their driver’s license privileges.

Persons who test .08 or more—regardless of what vehicle type they are 
operating—will lose their ATV, snowmobile, and motorboat operating privileges 
for the same duration as their driver’s license privilege. The suspension applies 
regardless of location of operation (ie. Private property, trails, public roads, public 
lands or frozen waters).

Off-highway vehicle DWI convictions and refusals are recorded on the violator’s 
driver’s license record and may affect their driver’s license privileges.

An operator, who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol concentration of 
.08 or more, can be charged with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony 
level DWI.

Persons convicted of a DWI may be subject to one or more of the following: Fines; 
jail time; loss of OHV ATV, snowmobile, and motorboat operating privileges; 
forfeiture of the OHV; loss of motor vehicle driver’s license privileges and motor 
vehicle plate impoundment.

The underage not-a-drop provisions in the DWI laws apply to ATVs and other 
off-road recreational vehicles, including loss of driver’s license and OHV and 
motorboat operating privileges.

Since 1887

LAW 
ENFORCEMENT

MINNESOTA
CONSERVATION OFFICER

Natural Resource
s

DNR ENFORCEMENT SAFETY MESSAGE
Slow down! ATV’s are not designed to be driven at high speeds. 
Many of the fatality ‘s involving ATV’s are the result of driving 
too fast. Slowing down reduces the possibility of the driver losing 
control and the ATV rolling over or striking a fixed object.

http://mndnr.gov/regulations
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Continued… Continued…

PUBLIC LANDS AND TRAILS
STATE FOREST LANDS (MINNESOTA RULE 6100.1950)
Minnesota state forests have been classified into three groupings for off-highway 
and motor vehicle use: managed, limited and closed. For a complete listing of state 
forest classifications see page 37. You can ride your OHV on state forest roads 
and trails in accordance with state forest motor vehicle use classifications and 
regulations.

• In managed state forests north of U.S. Highway. 2, OHVs may operate on 
mapped trails and other existing routes that are not gated or posted “closed.”

• In both managed and limited state forests, forest roads are open to OHV use 
unless posted “closed.”

• In limited state forests, OHV operation is allowed only on signed and mapped 
routes that are open for that type of OHV use. For example, trails can be 
designated for ATV, OHM, and/or ORV use.

Seasonal or temporary road and trail closures
Closures may take place at any time due to trail repairs, spring thaw, after heavy 
rains, logging operations, or other natural resource protection or public safety 
concerns.  Check trail status at on mndnr.gov/ohv.  Closures  updated every 
Thursday after 2 pm.
Examples of a temporary road or trail closure signs: You may not ride:

• In a state forest classified as “closed.”
• Within the boundaries of an area that is posted and designated as “closed.”
• On designated non-motorized trails unless also posted open for a specific 

motorized use.
• Off of routes, roads and designated trails except when hunter/trapper 

exception applies. (See the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations 
Handbook at mndnr.gov/regulations for more information).

• On forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting or that damages 
or destroys trees or growing crops (the rutting provision does not apply on 
designated motorized trails).

• On or over lakes, rivers or streams except:
 › when the water body is ice-covered, or
 › at a bridge, culvert or designated low-water crossing.

• During deer hunting season, you may not ride on state forest trails in areas of 
the state where deer may be taken by rifle, unless you possess a deer hunting 
license. State forest roads remain open.

Off-road or off-trail travel (MINNESOTA RULE 6100.1950)
Traveling off roads and trails is prohibited on state lands. See Minnesota’s Hunting 
and Trapping Regulations Handbook at mndnr.gov/regulations for more information.

Events on state forest lands (MINNESOTA RULE 6100.3400)
The DNR may provide temporary exceptions to the general rules for a specific 
state park, forest campground, forest day-use area, or state forest lands for 
emergencies or authorized special events. Notice of the exception will be plainly 
posted at the site. To hold a special event on state forest lands, a permit is required. 
Contact the Minnesota DNR Information Center.

Where you can ride:

In a managed forest on all state forest roads, trails and 
nondesignated routes unless posted “closed.”

In a limited forest on forest roads and on trails designated 
and signed to permit specific motor vehicle use and on 
trails specifically designated and signed for a vehicle type. 
For example, trails can be designated for ATV, OHM, and/
or ORV use.

In a closed forest on frozen public waters.

http://www.mndnr.gov/regulations
http://www.mndnr.gov/regulations
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Limited state forests
Badoura
Bear Island
Bowstring
Buena Vista (portions)
Burntside (portions)
Centennial
Chengwatana
Cloquet Valley (portions)
Crow Wing
Daughters of the American Revolution
Emily
Finland (portions)
Fond Du Lac
Foothills
General C.C. Andrews
George Washington (portions)
Golden Anniversary
Grand Portage (portions)
Hill River
Huntersville

Lake Jeanette (portions)
Land O’ Lakes
Lyons
Mississippi Headwaters
Nemadji
Pat Bayle
Paul Bunyan
Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood
Remer
Rum River
St. Croix
Savanna
Smoky Hills
Snake River (portions)
Solana
Sturgeon River (portions)
Two Inlets
Wealthwood
White Earth
Waukenabo

Closed state forests
Battleground
Birch Lakes
Buena Vista (portions) 
Burntside (portions)
Cloquet Valley (portions)
Finland (portions)
George Washington (portions)
Insula Lake

Lake Isabella
Lake Jeanette (portions)
Pillsbury
Sand Dunes
Snake River (portions)
Sturgeon River (portions)
Welsh Lake
Whiteface River

Continued…

Big game hunting/trapping exceptions
Persons with a valid hunting, trapping, or commercial license in possession may 
travel off-road and off-trail on Class 1 ATVs to:

• retrieve big game (September to December);
• hunt for big game and construct stands (October to December);
• trap during the open season for protected furbearers; or
• trap for minnows under certain conditions.

Persons with a valid hunting, trapping or commercial license in possession may use 
Class 2 ATVs, ORVs and highway-licensed vehicles (HLVs) to travel on:

• forest trails designated for ORV use; or
• a route not designated for other uses or posted “closed” in managed 

forests. See Minnesota’s Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook at 
mndnr.gov/regulations for more information.

OHV riding restrictions during deer hunting season
OHV trails on state forest lands are closed to off-highway vehicle riding (ATV 
and OHM) during firearms deer season where deer may be taken by rifle in 
Hunting Zone A, Series 100 and portions of Series 200. See the Minnesota Hunting 
and Trapping Regulations Handbook at mndnr.gov/regulations for dates and 
zones annually. Persons possessing a valid deer license may use an ATV in these 
areas only:

• before legal shooting hours (1⁄2 hour before sunrise).
• from 11 a.m. and 2 p.m.
• after legal shooting hours (1⁄2 hour after sunset).

Forest roads remain open to OHV use.

Areas with limitations
The big game hunter/trapper exceptions do not apply in areas signed and mapped 
as “No Motorized Travel.” It also does not apply within the Richard J. Dorer 
Memorial Hardwood State Forest.

Other restrictions and prohibitions under 
Minnesota Rule 6100.1950 Subpart 7

• Unauthorized trail construction is not allowed on state forest lands.
• Motor vehicles must be operated in a manner that does not cause damage to 

the road, land or other natural resources. Motor vehicle use causing erosion, 
rutting or damage to trees is prohibited.

• In Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood State Forest, motor vehicles may 
operate only on forest roads that are not posted “closed” and on forest trails 
that are designated for motorized use.

Managed state forests
Beltrami Island
Big Fork
Blackduck
Cloquet Valley (portions)
Finland (portions)
George Washington (portions)
Grand Portage (portions)
Kabetogama

Koochiching
Lake of the Woods
Lost River
Northwest Angle
Pine Island
Red Lake
Smokey Bear
Sturgeon River (portions)

State forest classifications
Some state forests have more than one motor vehicle use classification and 
are listed below more than once.

http://www.mndnr.gov/regulations
http://www.mndnr.gov/regulations
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NATIONAL FOREST LANDS
The U.S. Forest Service, the National Park Service, and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service regulate motor vehicle use on federal lands. Check with the managing 
agency before riding on these lands.

The Motor Vehicle Use Map (MVUM) is the legal guide for motor vehicle use on the 
national forests. The MVUM is updated annually and available at no charge at the 
forest supervisor or ranger district offices.

You may ride an OHV and highway-licensed vehicles (HLV) on national forest roads 
or trails designated open to these uses on the MVUM map.

You may not ride on national forest roads that are signed, gated, bermed with dirt, 
rocks, trees, etc., or not designated “Open” on the MVUM map.

For information about national forests, contact:
Chippewa National Forest 
218-335-8600 
www.fs.usda.gov/chippewa

Superior National Forest 
218-626-4300 
www.fs.usda.gov/superior

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Where to ride
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources—Information Center 
500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155-4040 
651-296-6157 or 888-MINNDNR

mndnr.gov/ohv

Safety training
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources  
Safety Training Program—Camp Ripley 
15011 HWY 115, Little Falls, MN 56345 
800-366-8917

mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle

For information about safety training classes, call the DNR Safety Training Program 
at 800-366-8917 or at 800-366-8917 or email enforcement.education@state.
mn.us.

Off-highway vehicle registration
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources—License Center 
500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155-4026 
651-296-2316 or 800-285-2000

mndnr.gov/rlp

GeoPDF MAPS FOR YOUR DEVICE
Don’t get lost in the woods, navigate large remote areas 
using DNR Geospatial PDFs “GeoPDFs” on your mobile 
device. Display your current location like Google Maps™, 
but you don’t have to be connected to the internet or 
have cell service while using the maps.

mndnr.gov/mobile/geopdf/index.html

COUNTY FOREST LANDS AND TRAILS
Counties may have adopted different off-highway vehicle regulations, which 
includes county administered land within state forest boundaries. For information 
on regulations, roads and trails on county land, please contact that county directly.

REGULATING OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLES 
IN CITIES AND TOWNSHIPS

See the League of Minnesota Cities website (lmc.org) and in 
the search box, type in keywords “Special Vehicles”.
The League of Minnesota Cities promotes excellence in local 
government through effective advocacy, expert analysis, and 
trusted guidance for all Minnesota cities.

http://www.fs.usda.gov/chippewa
http://www.fs.usda.gov/superior
http://mndnr.gov/ohv
http://www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle
mailto:enforcement.education%40state.mn.us?subject=
mailto:enforcement.education%40state.mn.us?subject=
http://www.mndnr.gov/rlp
http://mndnr.gov/mobile/geopdf/index.html
http://lmc.org


CALL US
Interpreters are available to answer all of your questions

License, titling and registration: M-F 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. 
General information: M-F 8 a.m.-6 p.m. and Sat. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. 

888-MINNDNR (646-6367) or 651-296-6157

info.dnr@state.mn.us

For more information on OHV trails, maps, trip planning, safety training, 
rules and regulations, trail closures and more, visit mndnr.gov/ohv.

To contact a conservation officer call 888-MINNDNR or 651-296-6157.

MinnesotaDNR mndnr_ENF minnesotadnr

500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4040

888-MINNDNR (646-6367) or 651-296-6157
mndnr.gov

The Minnesota DNR prohibits discrimination in its programs and services based on 
race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital or familial status, disability, 
public assistance status, age, sexual orientation, and local human rights commission 
activity. Individuals with a disability who need a reasonable accommodation to 
access or participate in DNR programs and services or to request this document 
in an alternative format, please contact the DNR ADA Title II Coordinator at 
info.dnr@state.mn.us, 651-296-6157. We welcome calls from Telecommunications 
Relay Service (TRS) users. For assistance in other languages, please call 651-296-6157 
or 888-MINNDNR (646-6367). Discrimination inquiries should be sent to Minnesota 
DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4049.

©2025, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources
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REGISTER TO VOTE
www.sos.state.mn.us/elections-voting
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