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State Record Fish 
Program Updates
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Minnesota’s State Record 
Fish Program generates 
excitement among anglers, 
the public and the media!
Updates have been made 
to the Certified Weight 
category, and the Catch 
and Release category.

What’s new?
• Records established prior to requiring 

weight to be documented on a certified 
scale will be recognized as “Historical 
Records,” and new submissions will be 
accepted for many species!

• Catch and release records are no longer 
limited to muskellunge, northern pike, 
flathead catfish, and lake sturgeon. 
New record submissions will be 
accepted for many species!

See details on page 83. 
Additional information and application 
forms are available on the Minnesota 
Department of Natural Resources website 
mndnr.gov/recordfish.
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TRESPASS LAW
The trespass law applies to all outdoor recreation, including but not limited to: hunting, 
boating, fishing, trapping, hiking, and camping. When taking part in any outdoor 
recreation, you may not enter legally posted land or agricultural land without permission.

Landowners, lessees, or authorized managers need only post their land once a year. The 
signs must be placed at intervals of 1,000 feet (500 feet in wooded areas) or signs may 
be placed at primary corners and at access points to the property. Signs must state 
“No Trespassing,” or similar words, in 2-inch high letters and have either the signature 
or name and telephone number of the landowner, lessee, or manager.

There can be civil or criminal penalties for violation of the trespass laws with maximum 
fines up to $3,000 and license revocation. All conservation officers and peace officers 
enforce trespass laws.

Guidelines for water access and recreational use
These are simple guidelines and are not intended to address all water access and 
recreational use situations. If you have doubts about whether you may be  trespassing 
on private land, you should ask the landowner for permission.

What is lawful access?
A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or if public land or a 
public road right-of-way borders the surface of the water, or if you have permission to 
cross private land to reach the surface of the water. This includes walking in the water 
or on the ice regardless of who owns the land beneath the surface of the water.

What waters are open to recreational use?
A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface if it is capable 
of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water that will float a canoe 
is capable of recreational use, but other waters may also qualify depending upon the 
circumstances.

A Message about invasive species from DNR 
Conservation Officers
Each of us needs to take personal responsibility to prevent the 
spread of invasive species!

Minnesota law requires that all boaters and anglers:
• Clean plants and invasive species off all watercraft, trailers, 

and other water-related equipment.
• Drain water-related equipment, remove drain plugs and keep water-draining 

devices open while transporting.
• Dispose of unwanted bait in the trash.
• For the most complete and current infested waters list, visit mndnr.gov/AIS.

http://www.mndnr.gov/AIS
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NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2024

Season openers may reflect a harvest season or a catch and release season. Details on 
page 21.

YEAR WALLEYE, PIKE, BASS MUSKIE STREAM TROUT
(STREAMS ONLY)

2024 May 11 June 1 April 13

2025 May 10 June 7 April 12

2026 May 9 June 6 April 18

Fishing Season Opener Dates

⁕⁕

New Statewide Regulations
• Turtle harvest regulations: Both a recreational turtle license and angling license are 

required to harvest turtles. Traps are no longer allowed to take turtles (page 35).

• Keep it Clean Law: Ice anglers should be aware of a new law to minimize littering 
— many items (including fish) may not be left directly on the ice while fishing 
(page 73).

• Fishing with 2 lines is now allowed on portions of the Minnesota and Mississippi 
Rivers (page 29).

New and Modified Experimental Regulations
• Gull Chain (Crow Wing and Cass Counties): A new slot limit for northern pike (all 

from 30-40" must be immediately released, possession limit 2, only 1 over 40") is in 
effect (page 42).

• Pearl Lake (Stearns): The experimental regulation on northern pike has expired. The 
north-central zone regulations are now in effect (page 21).

New and Modified Special Regulations
• Clearwater Lake (Wright County) and connected waters: A new special regulation 

has reduced daily limits for crappie (5 per day) and sunfish (10 per day) (page 40).

• Maple Lake (Wright County): A new special regulation has reduced daily limits for 
crappie (5 per day) and sunfish (10 per day) (page 45).

• 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Crow Wing Lakes (Hubbard County): The connected lakes are 
now regulated as one water where a special regulation for sunfish restricts anglers 
to 5 fish per day (page 40).

• Lake Winnibigoshish (Itasca): A new special regulation reduces the daily limit for 
sunfish to 5 (to be consistent with connected Cut Foot Sioux and Little Cut Foot 
Sioux Lakes) (page 52).

• Balsam, Haskell, and Scrapper lakes (Itasca County): A special regulation for 
northern pike (fish from 24-36" must be immediately released, only 1 over 36") on 
Balsam Lake will be expanded to Haskell and Scrapper Lakes (page 38).

• Big Sand Lake (Hubbard): The special walleye regulation has been repealed. 
Statewide regulations are now in effect (page 21).
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Bighead Silver

AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES

Red swamp crayfish
2 to 5" long. Raised bright 
red spots on claws.

Starry stonewort
Grass-like algae with 
a small, star-shaped 
structure called a “bulbil” 
less than ¼-inch in diameter.

Spiny waterflea
Long tail, white with black 
spots, looks like gelatinous 
globs on fishing line, small 
(up to 3⁄8").

Zebra and 
quagga mussel
The only freshwater 
mollusks that attach to 
objects with byssal threads 
(up to 1½"); larvae float in 
water and are too small 
to see.

Faucet snail
Up to ½" long, light 
brown to black, 
4-5 whorls.

New Zealand 
mudsnail
Up to 1⁄5" long, light 
to dark brown, 
cone-shaped shell, 
5-6 whorls.

Eur asian watermilfoil
12 to 21 leaflet pairs 
per leaf.

Bighead and silver carp
Eye located at lower part of head below the mouth; 
Silver can jump more than 10 feet high.

Carp illustrations ©C. Iverson, MN DNR

Round goby
Single scallop-shaped pelvic 
fin, fish is usually 3-6" long.

Ruffe
Spots between rays of dorsal 
fin, no gap between fins.

No gap
Spots

Ruffe illustration 
©C. Iverson, MN DNR

Aquatic invasive species (AIS) are nonnative animals and plants that do not naturally 
occur in our waters and may cause ecological or economic harm. See images below of 
some AIS that have been found in Minnesota.

You can help prevent the introduction and spread of AIS by following both the required 
and recommended actions listed on page 9 before moving your boat, bait or other 
equipment from one waterbody to another.

Report new infestations: If you suspect a new infestation of an AIS, note the exact 
location, take a photo or keep the specimen, and call 888-MINNDNR.

Invasive carp captures must be immediately reported to the DNR, call 651-587-2781 
or email invasivecarp.dnr@state.mn.us. Please take a photo, keep carcass cool but do 
not freeze, and make arrange ments with the DNR to transport the carp to the nearest 
area fisheries office. You may keep invasive carp for personal use with a special permit, 
which is available on the DNR website at mndnr.gov/invasive-carp.

mailto:invasivecarp.dnr%40state.mn.us?subject=Report%20Invasive%20Carp
http://mndnr.gov/invasive-carp
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Required Actions—It’s the Law!
Most anglers and boaters follow Minnesota’s Clean, Drain, Dispose 
laws to help prevent the spread of aquatic invasive species:

 Clean all visible aquatic plants, zebra mussels and other 
prohibited invasive species from watercraft, trailers and other 
water-related equipment before leaving any water access or 
shoreland.

• It is illegal to transport prohibited invasive species—including 
zebra mussels—whether dead or alive.

• You can find a complete list of prohibited invasive species by visiting 
dnr.state.mn.us/invasives/laws.html#prohibited.

 Drain water-related equipment (boat, ballast tanks, portable bait container, motor) 
and drain bilge, livewell and baitwell by removing drain plugs before leaving any water 
access or shoreland property.

• Keep drain plugs out and water-draining devices open while transporting watercraft. 

 Dispose of unwanted bait, including minnows, leeches and worms, in the trash.

•  It is illegal to release bait into a waterbody or release aquatic animals from 1 
waterbody to another.

•  It is illegal to release worms in the state; worms are not native to Minnesota.
• If you want to keep your live bait, on shore before leaving, you must always drain all 

water from your bait container and refill it with bottled or dechlorinated tap water.

Recommended Actions—Protect Your Waters
To further decontaminate your watercraft and equipment, it’s important to spray, rinse 
or dry everything before going to another waterbody, especially if your boat has been 
in the water or moored for more than 24 hours—or if you have recently been in zebra 
mussel or spiny waterflea infested waters. Do 1 or more of the following:

• Dry for at least 5 days.
• Spray with high-pressure water.
• Rinse with very hot water. To reduce the risk of spreading zebra mussels, use water 

that is 120 °F at the point of contact and spray each area for at least 2 minutes, or 
use 140 °F water for at least 10 seconds on each area.

Lakes and Rivers Listed as “Infested” 
What do I need to do when I visit a lake or river on the infested waters list?
You should follow the same aquatic invasive species regulations: Clean, Drain, Dispose—
every time you visit any lake or river, infested or not.

• If you are harvesting bait, commercial fishing, or diverting or taking water, you 
need to follow special regulations in infested waters. See regulations for bait on 
pages 30-31.

How do I know which waters are listed as infested?
• For the most complete and current infested waters list, visit mndnr.gov/AIS or 

request a copy from AISpublications@dnr.state.mn.us or call 651-259-5100.
• You can use LakeFinder to find out if a particular lake is listed as infested:   

mndnr.gov/lakefind.
• Infested waters are posted with orange Invasive Species Alert signs at the 

public access.

http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/invasives/laws.html#prohibited
http://www.mndnr.gov/AIS
mailto:AISpublications%40dnr.state.mn.us?subject=
http://www.mndnr.gov/lakefind
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Watercraft Inspections
The Minnesota DNR has had a watercraft inspection program since 1992 to help 
prevent the spread of AIS. With the help of our partners, today nearly 1,000 authorized 
watercraft inspectors are working at lakes and rivers across Minnesota. The inform ation 
below will help you prepare for a watercraft inspection. In 2023, 96 percent of boaters 
surveyed by inspectors arrived while following Minnesota’s Clean, Drain, Dispose laws.

What should I expect from an inspection?
Inspectors are trained to:

• Introduce themselves as a watercraft inspector.
• Provide tips on how to inspect your own equipment (page 9). 
• Physically inspect your boat, trailer and any other water-related equipment—

meaning they may touch your boat or trailer to feel for tiny attached zebra mussels 
or other invasive species.

• Physically inspect compartments that may hold water, such as live wells 
or bilge areas.

• Deny launch if: 1) the inspector finds invasive species or any plants attached, and 
until the invasive species or plants are removed; or 2) you refuse an inspection.
 › Although inspectors have the authority to deny launch, they will work with you to 

try to bring your watercraft into compliance.
 › Inspectors will not deny launch based solely on where, or when, you last used 

your watercraft.
• Ask questions to help improve the DNR’s inspection program. You are not required 

to answer these questions.

How should I prepare for an inspection?
When entering an access:

• Always follow all state laws regarding AIS and arrive in compliance with Clean, Drain 
and Dispose laws (page 9).

• Open the lids of closed compartments that could hold water, like live wells, so the 
inspector can see they are drained. Your drain plugs should all be open while you 
transport your boat.

• Remember to install the drain plug after the inspection and before launching.

When exiting an access:
• Remove any plants, mud, and invasive animals.
• Pull all drain plugs.
• Open water-holding compartments to allow inspection.

What about on-site watercraft decontamination?
An inspector may require your watercraft to be decontaminated prior to launching 
or before leaving an access, if a unit is on-site. Most decontaminations can be done 
quickly. Trained inspectors use hot water to target areas to kill AIS. An inspector may 
also use high-pressure water. The DNR performs watercraft decontaminations free 
of charge.

How do I find a decontamination station?
The DNR posts decontamination unit locations online at mndnr.gov/decon. 
At these sites, inspectors will perform a courtesy inspection and determine if any 
decontamination is required.

Tell us how we’re doing at: wip.dnr@state.mn.us

http://www.mndnr.gov/decon
mailto:wip.dnr%40state.mn.us?subject=
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DEFINITIONS
Culling (sorting)
The act of replacing 1 fish with another fish (see possession information on 
pages 32-33). See border waters with North Dakota on page 63.

Daily versus possession limits (collectively called bag limits)
A possession limit is the number of a particular species allowed in an angler’s possession, 
including any and all locations such as a livewell or freezer at home. A daily limit is the 
number of a particular species an angler is allowed to keep in a calendar day, including 
those that are gifted or consumed. Daily and possession limits are most often the same 
with the exception of statewide perch limits (see page 22) and special regulations for 
sunfish and crappie which reduce a daily limit but retain the statewide possession limit 
(see pages 37-56). While on or angling in a water with a daily limit that is lower than the 
possession limit, a person may not have more than the daily limit of that species in their 
immediate physical possession.

Designated stream trout lakes
These waters have been listed in Minnesota Rule and have been stocked with trout that 
are typically found in streams: rainbow, brown, or brook trout. Some also have splake, 
a cross between a lake trout and a brook trout.

Game fish
Includes the following and their hybrids: American eel, bass (includes rock, white, and 
yellow), burbot, catfish, cisco (tullibee), crappie, muskellunge, northern pike, paddlefish, 
salmon, sauger, sturgeon, sunfish, trout, walleye, whitefish, and yellow perch.

Immediately released or returned to the water
Immediately released fish are only retained long enough to unhook, measure and 
photograph. Fish not immediately released are counted as part of an angler's daily and 
possession limit.

Inland waters
Lakes and rivers within Min ne so ta not  bordering Canada or another state.

Minimum size limit
Prohibits harvest of fish less than a specified length.

Minnows
All sizes of true minnows (excluding carp and goldfish), leeches, mudminnows, tadpole 
madtoms, stonecats; the following if 12" or less: suckers, redhorses, buffalo, carpsuckers; 
the following if 7" or less: bullhead, cisco (tullibee), lake whitefish, goldeye, and mooneye. 
Border water regulations may vary.

1-over the size limit
Allows the harvest of 1 fish over a set size limit as part of the daily or possession limit.

Protected slot limit
Prohibits harvest of fish from a designated size range. Fish within this size range must be 
immediately released.

Rough fish
Carp, buffalo, sucker (including redhorse and carpsuckers), freshwater drum 
(sheepshead), bowfin (dogfish), gar, goldeye and bullhead. Border waters regulations 
may vary.
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Continued on next page

Resident licenses Code License Description Fee

YOUTH ANGLING 
Resident Individual 
Age 16 and 17

138 Youth Annual 
(Age 16 and 17)

Youth Individual Angling 
(exempt from trout/salmon stamp 
and spearing license) 

$5

ADULT ANGLING 
Resident 
Individual Ages 18 
through 89

111 Adult Annual Individual Angling $25

110 24-hour Individual Angling (no trout/salmon 
stamp required) Consecutive 24-hour

$12

140 72-hour Individual Angling (no trout/salmon 
stamp required) Consecutive 72-hour

$14

141 3-year Individual Angling Consecutive 
3-years

$71

105 ½ Bag Limit 
Conservation

Individual Angling ½ bag limits $17

216 Sports Individual Angling and Small Game $41

142 Super Sports Individual Angling including trout/
salmon stamp, Small Game including 
pheasant and state waterfowl 
stamps, a deer tag (archery, 
firearms or muzzleloader) 

$100

Resident Angling Licenses

FISHING LICENSES
• Any combination (married couple) type license requires each spouse to have a 

complete customer record on file. MN residents without a complete customer 
record should visit a license agent or call our license center to verify their residency.

• Resident youth younger than 16 do not need a fishing license.
• There is a $1 agent fee (added to the cost of the license) associated with each license 

or stamp sold, including some free licenses.
• Purchase online at: mndnr.gov/buyalicense
• Duplicate licenses and stamps can be purchased from any Electronic License System 

(ELS) agent for $2.50 each.
• License year begins March 1 and ends the last day of February unless otherwise noted.
• Fish house, dark house or shelter licenses are valid March 1 to April 30 the following 

year (or 3-year period).
• A fishing license continues to be valid for the balance of the license period if the 

licensee’s age, residency, or student qualification status changes.
• Super Sports licenses include: 50 cents for wolf management; 50 cents for 

emergency feeding and wild cervidae-deer health management; $1 deer/bear 
management account; and $2 for deer management.

• In the table below, the 3-digit code refers to the license identification code.

http://www.mndnr.gov/buyalicense
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Continued on next page

Resident licenses Code License Description Fee

ANGLING 
LICENSES 
Additional Options

134 Walleye Stamp 
Validation

Voluntary Donation $5

135 Pictorial Stamp mailed + 75 
cents

128 Trout/Salmon 
Stamp 
(required for 
anglers age 
18-64; see 
page 17 for 
exemptions)

Individual Trout and Salmon 
Validation (required for designated 
trout streams and lakes, Lake 
Superior and to harvest trout)

$10

129 Pictorial Stamp mailed + 75 
cents

150 Recreational 
Turtle

Required to harvest turtles $25

130 Sturgeon Tag Required to harvest a sturgeon $5

113 Spearing 
Annual

Individual Dark House spearing 
(required for ages 18 through 89)

$6

119 House or 
Shelter Annual

Fish House, Dark House, or 
Shelter, see page 71 for details

$15

131 House or 
Shelter 3-year

Fish House, Dark House, or 
Shelter, see page 71 for details

$42

120 House or 
Shelter Rented 
Annual

Fish House, Dark House, or 
Shelter, see page 71 for details

$30

132 House or Shelter 
Rented 3-year

Fish House, Dark House, or 
Shelter, see page 71 for details

$87

115 Netting Whitefish and cisco (tullibee) 
Lakes open to sport gillnetting, 
the seasons and regulations are 
online at mndnr.gov/regulations/
fishing or by calling the DNR 
Information Center. 

$10

MARRIED 
ANGLING 
Resident Married 
Couple

112 Married 
Combination 
Annual

Married Couple Angling, each 
person may have their own 
possession limit.

$40

106 Married 
½ Bag Limit 
Conservation 
Combination

Married ½ bag limit Conservation 
Combination, each person may 
keep half their regular limit.

$27

217 Married 
Combination 
Sports

2 Angling and 1 Small Game $57

Resident Angling Licenses continued

http://www.mndnr.gov/regulations/fishing
http://www.mndnr.gov/regulations/fishing
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Resident licenses Code License Description Fee

MARRIED 
ANGLING 
Resident Married 
Couple Continued

143 Married 
Combination 
Super Sports 

A combination angling license 
including 2 trout/salmon stamps, and 
for the primary licensee an individual 
small game including pheasant and 
state waterfowl stamps and a single 
individual deer tag (archery, firearm or 
muzzleloader)

$126

LIFETIME 
ANGLING 
Resident Individual

411 Lifetime 
Angling

Renewal FREE

Age 3 and younger $344

Age 4 to 15 $469

Age 16 to 50 $574

Age 51 and older $379

407 Lifetime 
Angling and 
Spearing

Renewal FREE

Age 3 and younger $432

Age 4 to 15 $579

Age 16 to 50 $678

Age 51 and older $439

413 Lifetime Sports 
(spearing option 
available but not 
included)

Renewal FREE

Age 3 and younger $522

Age 4 to 15 $710

Age 16 to 50 $927

Age 51 and older $603

FREE FISHING WEEKENDS
Take a Mom Fishing Week end — May 11-12, 2024 Minnesota resident moms may fish 
without a license.

Take a Kid Fishing Week end — June 7-9, 2024 Minnesota residents 16 and older may fish 
without a license if they're with children younger than 16.

Take a Kid Ice Fishing Week end —January 18-20, 2025 Minnesota residents 16 and older 
may fish without a license if they're with children younger than 16.

Application 
available at 
mndnr.gov/
licenses/lifetime

Resident Angling Licenses continued
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Nonresident 
angling license

Code License Description Fee

YOUTH ANGLING 
Nonresident 
Individual 
age 16 and 17

205 Youth Annual 
age 16 and 17 

Youth Individual Angling (exempt from 
trout/salmon stamp and spearing 
license). Youth under age 16 may 
purchase to possess own limit.

$5

ADULT ANGLING 
Nonresident 
Individual age 18 
and over

121 Annual Individual Angling $51

139 24-hour Individual Angling (no trout/salmon 
stamp required) Consecutive 24-hour

$14

127 72-hour Individual Angling (no trout/salmon 
stamp required) Consecutive 72-hour

$36

126 7-Day Individual Angling, Consecutive 7-day $43
ANGLING LICENSES 
Nonresident 
additional options

134 Walleye Stamp 
Validation

Voluntary Donation $5

135 Pictorial stamp mailed + 75 
cents

128 Trout/Salmon 
Stamp (required for 
anglers age 18-64)

Individual Trout and Salmon 
Validation

$10

129 Pictorial stamp mailed + 75 
cents

130 Sturgeon Tag Required to harvest a sturgeon $5
118 Spearing Annual 

Age 18 and over
Individual Dark House Spearing 
(angling license required)

$17

116 House or Shelter 
Annual

Fish House, Dark House, or 
Shelter, see page 71 for details

$37

117 House or Shelter 
7-Day

Fish House, Dark House, or 
Shelter, see page 71 for details

$21

133 House or Shelter 
3-year

Fish House, Dark House, or 
Shelter, see page 71 for details

$111

FAMILY ANGLING 
Nonresident 
Married Couple

124 Combination 
Annual Family

1 or both parents and dependent 
children under age 16. Enables 
each person to keep a limit.

$68

125 Combination 
14-Day

Married Couple Consecutive 
14-Day Angling

$54

LIFETIME ANGLING 
Nonresident 
Individual

415 Lifetime Angling Renewal Free

Age 3 and under $821
Age 4 to age 15 $1,046
Age 16 to age 50 $1,191
Age 51 and over $794

Nonresident Angling Licenses
A $5 surcharge on nonresident licenses is included with the applicable fee. 
Nonresident youth under age 16, check page 20.

Application 
available at 
mndnr.gov/
licenses/lifetime
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Electronic Licensing Information
The Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues licenses and stamp validations through 
1,400 license agent locations statewide. Agents charge an issuing fee for each license 
and stamp sold.

Instant Licenses
Customers may purchase instant licenses and stamp validations online or by telephone 
at 888-665-4236. An additional convenience fee is added for sales via the website or 
telephone (see website for details). A self-printed or electronic license is sufficient 
proof of licensing. Lake sturgeon harvest tags may not be purchased online.

Lifetime Licenses
First-time purchase of lifetime licenses is only available at the DNR License Center in 
St. Paul. Application forms are available online or through the DNR Information Center 
888-646-6367. A lifetime license holder who is required by law to have a game and 
fish license, must authorize their participation by obtaining an annual license renewal 
each year the lifetime license is used. These annual licenses are issued at no fee. Visit 
mndnr.gov/licenses/lifetime for more information.

Conservation Licenses
• Conservation Licenses are available only to residents of Minnesota.
• Daily and possession limits are half of what can be taken with a standard angling 

license. Fractions are rounded down to next whole number (see page 20 for list).
• People bowfishing, spearing, or using other approved harvest methods under a 

Conservation License are limited to one half of the daily and possession limit for 
that method.

• Sturgeon harvest tag may not be used with a Conservation License.

Trout/Salmon Stamp
Trout/salmon stamp validations are printed on the ELS 
license. This is the only verification needed to prove 
purchase of the trout/salmon stamp. Purchasers may 
request the actual pictorial stamp for an additional 
75 cents.

Except as noted, anglers need a Minnesota trout/salmon 
stamp validation and a fishing or sports license when 
fishing in designated trout streams, designated trout lakes, Lake Superior, or when 
possessing trout on waters that are not designated trout water. All trout and salmon 
in possession require a trout/salmon validation, unless received as a gift, (see giving 
fish on page 33). Trout/salmon stamps are not required for children younger than 
18 years old, adults who are 65 and older, people fishing with a 24-hour or 72-hour 
license or people who are exempt from fishing license requirements or who receive a 
fishing license at no charge.

Walleye Stamp
• Purchase of a walleye stamp is voluntary; it is not 

needed for fishing.
• Revenues from the sale of walleye stamps are used for 

stocking walleyes purchased from the private sector.
• Walleye stamp validations are printed on the ELS 

license. Purchasers may request the actual pictorial 
stamp for an additional 75 cents.
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LICENSE GUIDE
Do I need a fishing license?
To legally fish in Minnesota, all residents of Minnesota, age 16 through 89, must have a 
current Minnesota fishing license unless an exemption applies (see below “Who doesn’t 
need a fishing license?”). You must carry your license when fishing or traveling from an 
area where you were fishing. All nonresidents need a license except those younger than 
16 do not need a license if a parent or guardian is licensed. More details can be found 
on page 20.

Did you buy a 3-year license in 2021?
Three-year angling licenses bought in 2021 are due for renewal.

Who is a resident?
• To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence in Minnesota for at 

least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a license.
• Residents 21 years of age or older must provide a current Minnesota driver’s 

license or Minnesota public safety ID card or have a receipt for an application for a 
Minnesota driver’s license or Minnesota public safety ID that is at least 60 days old.

• A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident.
• New residents must visit a license agent location or call our Licensing office to have 

their residency updated before qualifying for resident rates.
• Tribal members with an unexpired Tribal ID, with a Minnesota address, who do not 

hold a driver’s license or state ID in any state, and who have not accepted resident 
hunting, fishing, or trapping licenses in any other state in the previous 60 days.

Who is a nonresident?
Nonresidents include anyone who does not meet the definition of a resident.

Who doesn’t need a fishing license?
• Residents younger than 16, or residents 90 and older.
• Minnesota residents enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces, stationed outside the 

state, and home on leave (you must carry leave or furlough papers while fishing or 
transporting fish).

• Minnesota residents who have served in federal active service outside the U.S. 
during the preceding 24 months who are now discharged from overseas duty (must 
carry discharge papers while fishing or transporting fish).

• Anyone not requiring a license is allowed to keep a possession limit of fish.

Licenses by phone. Purchase an e-license today!
Minnesota fishing licenses can be purchased via most mobile devices. No more 
waiting in line. No more stops on the way to your favorite fishing spot.

Purchasing an e-license on your smartphone or tablet means that you won’t receive 
a paper copy of your license. Instead, you elect to receive a text message, email or 
both that displays your valid license.

Only fishing and hunting licenses that don’t require a tag can be purchased as 
e-licenses. The text or email confirming your valid license must be presented to 
a conservation officer upon request. mndnr.gov/buyalicense

http://mndnr.gov/buyalicense
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Am I eligible for a free fishing license?
Anglers who meet certain qualifications can obtain a free license (mndnr.gov/
regulations/fishing/exemptions) if they are:

• Foreign exchange students with proof of foreign exchange student status. Available 
from any agent.

• Residents 16 and older who have a developmental disability or veterans with a 
100 percent service-connected disability. Available only from the DNR by calling 
877-348-0498.

• Residents who are legally blind, receiving SSI or SSDI, or receiving worker’s 
compensation for total and permanent disability. Must present current letter from 
Social Security stating disability or SSI benefits to any license agent to receive free 
license. SSI/SSDI benefit verification is available online at socialsecurity.gov, by 
calling 800-772-1213 or at your local Social Security office.

• Residents receiving disability benefits under the Federal Railroad Retirement Act or 
U.S. Postal Service. Must present proof of disability benefits. Available at any agent.

• Residents of a Minnesota licensed nursing or boarding care home, wards of the 
Minnesota Commissioner of Human Services, residents of state institutions, or 
inpatients of a U.S. Veterans Administration hospital. Must use application available 
from the DNR (888-646-6367).

Do I need a license to fish in Minnesota State Parks?
Minnesota residents may fish without a license for any species except trout when:

• Shore fishing or wading on state-owned land within a state park.
• Fishing from a boat or on the ice on water bodies that are completely inside the 

boundaries of a state park.
• To fish on a designated trout stream or lake or to harvest trout in a state park you 

must have a fishing license and a trout/salmon stamp validation.

What if I’m helping a child fish?
If an adult is showing a child younger than 16 how to bait, cast, and remove fish, no 
license is needed. The child must hold the rod, set the hook and reel in the fish.

What if I’m helping someone fish who has a developmental disability?
You do not need a license to assist a disabled person, who must have a valid license 
unless an exemption applies. You may only fish with the number of lines allowed for all 
licensed or exempt anglers fishing.

What if I don’t have a paper license because it was purchased on a mobile device?
Licenses purchased on a mobile device are issued in electronic format. Purchasers 
choose to receive an email, text message or both. The email and/or text message 
stored electronically on your mobile device serves as your license. You must carry your 
mobile device or a printed copy of the email or text message you received when fishing 
or traveling from an area where you were fishing.

Can I get a refund?
Check your license for accuracy prior to leaving the license agent location. All sales are 
final. Refunds can only be issued if the:

• Licensee dies before the opening of the licensed season;
• Licensee is unable to participate in the licensed activity because the licensee is 

called to active military duty or military leave is canceled during the entire open 
season of the licensed activity; or

• Licensee purchased 2 licenses for the same license season in error.

http://mndnr.gov/regulations/fishing/exemptions.html
http://mndnr.gov/regulations/fishing/exemptions.html
http://socialsecurity.gov
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REGULAR DAILY 
OR POSSESSION 
BAG LIMIT 

1
fish

2 
fish

3 
fish

4 
fish

5 
fish

6 
fish

8 
fish

10 
fish

20 
fish

25 
fish

50 
fish

CONSERVATION 
DAILY OR 
POSSESSION
BAG LIMIT

Catch-
and-
release

1 
fish

1 
fish

2 
fish

2 
fish

3 
fish

4 
fish

5 
fish

10 
fish

12 
fish

25 
fish

What are license requirements for nonresident youth?
Nonresidents under 16 may either fish under a parent or guardian’s license (including a 
family license) or must purchase a nonresident youth license. If fishing under a family 
license or their own youth license, youth may possess their own limit; if fishing under 
a parent or guardian’s individual license any fish kept are counted towards the parent’s 
possession limit.

What if I lose or can’t find my license?
You can go to any license agent and have them print a duplicate license. The cost is 
$2.50, which includes a 50-cent fee charged by the vendor.

What if I’m not a state resident but am a full-time student at a Minnesota school, 
college or university?
You may purchase fishing licenses at the resident rate if you reside in Minnesota and 
show the license agent a fee statement showing full-time enrollment.

What if I’m not a state resident but serve in the U.S. Armed Forces and am 
stationed in Minnesota or the spouse of a Minnesota resident on active 
military duty?
By showing proof, you may purchase fishing licenses and stamps at the resident rate.

How can my license be revoked?
• Fishing privileges may be revoked for 1 year for 2 or more convictions of fishing 

violations in 3 years. Violations of fishing laws in other states may affect your ability 
to fish in Minnesota.

• Violating the gross over-limits penalty provisions can result in privileges being 
revoked for 3, 5 or 10 years, depending on the number of fish involved in 
the violation.

• Failure to pay fines or to appear in court on a violation can result in revocation of all 
game and fish licenses until the fines are paid.

How to Figure Your Bag Limit for a Conservation License
• Applies to bag limits established for inland waters, experimental and special 

management waters, and border waters.
• Does not apply to size restrictions, but may only have up to the corresponding 

bag limit. For example: a normal limit of 5 fish with 3 over 10" for a Conservation 
License would be 2 fish with only 1 over 10".

• Divide the regular limit in half. If necessary, round down to the nearest whole 
number. For example: 5 fish regular limit would be a 2 fish conservation limit.

• Conservation licensees are not allowed to keep walleye over 20".

Conservation License Bag Limits
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Continued on next page

SEASONS AND LIMITS—
INLAND AND LAKE SUPERIOR

INLAND WATERS
Inland Seasons and Limits

SPECIES OPEN SEASON ZONE AND ANGLING POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Northern 
pike

May 11, 2024 - 
Feb. 23, 2025

Northeast Zone: 2 (not more than 1 over 40" in possession, all 
from 30-40" must be immediately released)

North-central Zone: 10 (not more than 2 over 26", all from 22-26" 
must be immediately released)

Southern Zone: 2 (minimum size 24")

See Zone Map on page 23 and page 24 for details on how 
possession limits apply across zones. Dark house spearing 
limits differ, see page 71.

SPECIES OPEN SEASON  POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye and sauger (and 
their hybrid)

May 11, 2024 - Feb. 23, 
2025

6 combined total (not 
more than 1 walleye over 
20" in possession)

Muskellunge/hybrid 
muskellunge

June 1 - Dec. 1 1 combined total 
(minimum size 54")

1 combined total 
(minimum size 40")SIZE EXCEPTION: the following Twin Cities area lakes: 

Eagle, Pierson and Wasserman, Carver County; Crystal 
and Orchard, Dakota County; Gervais, Island, Johanna, 
Phalen and Silver, Ramsey County; Bryant, Bush, Bde 
Maka Ska, Cedar, Crystal, Isles, Nokomis and Weaver, 
Hennepin County; Cedar, Scott County; Clear and Elmo, 
Washington County. 

• All calendar dates are for 2024 unless noted otherwise. Season dates are inclusive 
unless otherwise noted.

• Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted.
• Most species have experimental or special regulations on some waters. 

See pages 37-56.
• For Canada, Wis con sin, Iowa, South Da ko ta, and North Dakota  border water 

regulations see pages 58-68. For Lake Superior see pages 26-28.
• Different limits for Conservation Licenses apply, chart is on page 20.
• Northern pike dark house spearing limits differ, see page 71.
• Some waters are seasonally closed to fishing to protect vulnerable concentrations 

of fish. Dates can vary from year to year but will be posted every spring at 
mndnr.gov/regulations/fishing.

http://mndnr.gov/regulations/fishing
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SPECIES OPEN SEASON  POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Largemouth bass—Statewide 
(except Northeast Zone) 

May 11 - 24 Catch-and-release only

May 25, 2024 - Feb. 23, 
2025

6 combined total 
largemouth or smallmouth 
bass (when smallmouth 
season is open)

Largemouth bass—Northeast 
Zone (Pelican and Ash lakes 
in St. Louis County are part of 
the Northeast Zone for bass. 
See Zone Map on page 23.)

May 11, 2024 - Feb. 23, 2025 6 combined total 
largemouth or smallmouth 
bass

Smallmouth bass—Statewide 
(except Northeast Zone) 

May 11 - 24 Catch-and-release only

May 25 - Sept. 8 6 combined total largemouth 
or smallmouth bass

Sept. 9, 2024 - Feb. 23, 2025 Catch-and-release only

Smallmouth bass—
Northeast Zone

May 11, 2024 - Feb. 23, 2025 6 combined total largemouth 
or smallmouth bass

Crappie (white or black and 
their hybrids)

Continuous 10 combined total

Sunfish 
(bluegill, pumpkinseed, 
green, orangespotted, 
northern, warmouth, 
and their hybrids)

Continuous 20 combined total

Rock bass Continuous 30

White bass Continuous 30

Catfish 
(channel and flathead)

Channel catfish: continuous

Flathead catfish: 
April 1 - Nov. 30

5 combined total. No more 
than 2 can be flathead 
(only 1 catfish over 24")

Perch Continuous 20 daily, 40 in possession

Whitefish, cisco (tullibee), 
and burbot. Sport netting 
regulations effective each 
fall are available on the 
DNR website. 

Continuous No limit

EXCEPTION: On Leech 
Lake Indian Reservation 
whitefish limit 25 and cisco 
(tullibee) limit 50. 

Bowfin, buffalo, carp, 
carpsuckers, freshwater 
drum, goldeye, redhorse, 
and suckers

Continuous No limit

Bullhead Continuous 100

Gar Continuous 10

Inland Seasons and Limits continued

http://files.dnr.state.mn.us/rlp/regulations/fishing/whitefish-tullibee.pdf
http://files.dnr.state.mn.us/rlp/regulations/fishing/whitefish-tullibee.pdf
http://files.dnr.state.mn.us/rlp/regulations/fishing/whitefish-tullibee.pdf
http://files.dnr.state.mn.us/rlp/regulations/fishing/whitefish-tullibee.pdf
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SPECIES OPEN SEASON  POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Smelt Continuous No limit

Lake or shovelnose 
sturgeon (See pages 58-68 
for other sturgeon waters 
and regulations.)

Same dates every year: 
June 16 - April 14

Catch-and-release only; no 
tag needed.

Paddlefish No open season

Lake trout (SUMMER)
Statewide 

May 11 - Sept. 30 2

Lake trout (WINTER) 
Outside or partly outside the 
Boundary Waters Canoe Area 
Wilderness (BWCAW). 

2024 Season: 
Jan. 13 - March 31

2025 Season: 
Jan. 18 - March 31

2

Lakes entirely within the 
BWCAW. 

2024 Season:  
Dec. 30, 2023 - 
March 31, 2024

2025 Season:  
Jan. 1, 2025 - 
March 31, 2025

2

Northern Pike Possession Limits for Inland Waters
The state is divided into 3 zones for northern pike—Northeast, North-central, and 
Southern—each with a specific regulation for angling and for spearing. Waters with 
special regulations (pages 37-56), and border waters (pages 58-68), are not covered 
by the zone regulations and the special regulation is in effect for both spearing and 
angling. Details can be found at mndnr.gov/pike.

North-central/Southern 
Boundary: from the South 
Dakota Border—State Highway 7 
at Ortonville—east past 
Hutchinson, south on State 
Highway 22 to Glencoe, east 
on U.S. Highway 212 to Chaska, 
south on State Highway 41 
to the Minnesota River to 
the Mississippi River to the 
Wisconsin border.

Zone Map
The Northeast Zone is defined as 
north and east of U.S. Highway 53 
from Duluth to International Falls.

The waters of the Minnesota or Mississippi 
rivers where those waters create the 
North-central/Southern Boundary are 
included in the Southern Zone.

Inland Seasons and Limits continued

http://www.mndnr.gov/pike
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What is the statewide possession limit for northern pike?
The maximum number of northern pike that you may possess is 10 fish. Zone possession 
limits apply to where the fish was harvested, not where it is possessed. For example, 
if you live in the North-central zone you cannot possess 7 pike caught locally and 3 
caught from the Southern zone.

How do possession limits apply to lakes with special regulations on 
northern pike?
If the possession limit on a special regulation lake or stream is different than the zone 
limit, the special regulation limit applies. For example, if the special regulation limit 
is less than the statewide regulation, you may only have 1 daily limit from that lake 
included in your possession limit.

TROUT—BROOK, BROWN, RAINBOW AND SPLAKE
The following regulations apply to stream trout species (brook, brown, rainbow, splake) 
and their hybrids living in lakes and streams. They do not in clude lake trout which 
are listed under Inland Waters (page 23). Lake Superior tributaries (pages 26-28) 
and Experimental and Special Regulations (pages 37-56) are also not covered in 
this section.

Calendar dates refer to 2024 unless noted oth er wise. Daily and possession limits are 
the same.

Learn more about trout fishing at mndnr.gov/fishing/trout.

General Regulations
• Fishing hours for stream trout on inland waters are from 1 hour before sunrise 

to 11 p.m.
• Only 1 line is allowed winter or summer when fishing on des ig  nated stream trout 

lakes and des ig nat ed trout streams.
• For legal tackle, more details can be found on page 29.
• Possessing live minnows or using them for bait on designated stream trout lakes 

is prohibited. Only dried, frozen, or pickled (brined) minnows are allowed. Live 
leeches, worms, and wax worms are legal to use.

• Possessing and using live minnows (and other live bait) is allowed on most trout 
streams. However, some streams have specific bait restrictions, check pages 52-56.

• Taking of any species, including catch-and-release angling, in designated trout 
waters is prohibited outside of an open season for trout. Any season where trout 
can be targeted (harvest or catch-and-release) is considered an open season.

• Taking min nows or leeches from designated trout waters, except under special 
permit, is prohibited.

• All stream trout must have head, tail, fins, and skin intact when being transported.
• Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in designated 

trout lakes or streams. However, dark house spearing (page 71) is allowed for 
northern pike, whitefish and catfish.

• The list of Designated Trout Lakes can be found on the DNR website 
mndnr.gov/fishing/trout_lakes/list.

https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/fishing/trout/index.html
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/fishing/trout_lakes/list.html
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WATERS OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Streams—Southeast Minnesota Jan. 1 - April 12 Catch-and-release only

April 13 - Sept. 14 5 combined total 
(not more than 1 over 16")

Sept. 15 - Oct. 15 Catch-and-release only

Jan. 1, 2025 - 
April 11, 2025

Catch-and-release only

Sept. 15, 2023 - 
April 12, 2024

Catch-and-release only

April 13 - Sept. 14 5 combined total (not more 
than 1 over 16"). See special 
regulations for these streams, 
pages 52-56.

Sept. 15, 2024 - 
April 11, 2025 

Catch-and-release only

Streams—Statewide Except 
Southeast Minnesota

April 13 - Sept. 30 5 combined total 
(not more than 1 over 16")

Includes Houston, Fillmore, 
Mower, Dodge, Olmsted, 
Winona, Wabasha, and Goodhue 
counties; and the Vermillion 
River in Dakota County.

Stream Trout Species Seasons and Limits (Streams)

Stream Trout Species Seasons and Limits (Lakes)

EXCEPTIONS: Within these 
state parks: Beaver Creek 
Valley (East Beaver Creek); 
Forestville (Forestville Creek, 
Canfield Creek, South Branch 
Root River) and Whitewater 
(Middle Branch Whitewater 
River, Trout Run Creek). Also 
within city boundaries of 
Chatfield, Lanesboro, Preston, 
Rushford, and Spring Valley.

WATERS OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Lakes (SUMMER)
Statewide

May 11 - Oct. 31 5 combined total 
(not more than 3 over 16")

Lakes (WINTER) 
Outside or partly outside the 
BWCAW

2024 Season: 
Jan. 13 - March 31

2025 Season: 
Jan. 18 - March 31

5 combined total 
(not more than 3 over 16")

Lakes entirely within the 
BWCAW

2024 Season: Dec. 30, 
2023 - March 31, 2024

2025 Season: 
Jan. 1 - March 31

5 combined total 
(not more than 3 over 16")

Lakes
EXCEPTIONS:
Little Andrus (Snowshoe), 
Cass County; Allen and 
Pleasant, Crow Wing County; 
Bad Medicine, Becker County.

Winter season closed 
for stream trout. 
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Continued on next page

LAKE SUPERIOR AND ITS TRIBUTARIES
The following regulations clarify the fishing seasons and limits for Lake Superior and the 
streams and rivers flowing into it. While fishing Minnesota waters, anglers must follow 
Minnesota regulations.

Licensing
Anyone fishing on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior must possess a Minnesota 
angling license and a Minnesota trout/salmon stamp validation except as listed on 
page 17. You need a Wisconsin fishing license to fish on Wisconsin waters of Lake 
Superior but you may fish the St. Louis River Estuary with a Minnesota fishing license.

Location
• There are 2 sets of fishing regulations for Lake Superior and its tributaries based 

on whether you are above or below a posted boundary, which corresponds to 
areas accessible to migratory fish. A list of boundary locations on tributaries can 
be found on the DNR website or by contacting an Area Fisheries Office along the 
North Shore.

• Some tributary streams have special regulations. Additionally, some streams 
have sanctuary areas closed to fishing, including the French, Knife, Lester, Devil 
Track and Kadunce rivers, and Gauthier Creek. (See Experimental and Special 
Regulations, pages 52-56.)

• Angling from boats is closed October 7 - November 30 on the portion of Lake 
Superior from the outermost portion of the north arm of the Duluth ship canal to 
the mouth of Chester Creek.

Hours
Angling hours on Lake Superior tributaries below the posted boundaries are from 1 
hour before sunrise to 1 hour after sunset. Exceptions are the St. Louis River Estuary 
(St. Louis and Carlton counties) and the Pigeon River (Cook County).

Methods
• Anglers are restricted to a single hook or fly only—no treble hooks—on Lake Superior 

tributary streams and rivers below the posted boundaries. Exceptions are the 
St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton counties) and the Pigeon River (Cook County).

• No more than 2 lines may be used on Lake Superior, except only 1 line may be used 
within 100 yards of the mouth of any flowing stream.

• On Lake Superior tributaries below the posted boundaries, a fish that is hooked in any 
part of the body, except the mouth, must be immediately returned to the water.

Possession and Transportation
• Unclipped steelhead (rainbow trout) must be 

immediately released on Lake Superior and its 
tributaries. A clipped adipose fin, used to identify 
stocked trout, must show a healed scar (see 
diagram right). Marking, tagging, or fin clipping 
fish and then releasing them without a DNR 
permit is illegal.

Clipped adipose fin

Adipose fin 
(no rays)

Healed 
scar

http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/areas/fisheries/index.html 
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• While fishing or while on the water, trout, salmon, muskellunge, and catfish must be 
transported with head and tails intact.

• While transporting fish on land, 1) rainbow, brown and brook trout, and splake must 
be transported with head and tail intact; and 2) salmon, lake trout, and walleye 
may be filleted but must retain a 1-inch square patch of skin with scales. See pages 
33-34 for additional general information on transporting fish.

• Rough fish or other species not named in the Lake Superior (page 28) section are 
subject to inland regulations.

Taking of Smelt
• Smelt may be taken night or day. Artificial lights may not be used to lure or attract 

smelt. There is no limit on smelt, and smelt from Lake Superior may be bought or 
sold; however, live smelt may not be possessed or transported.

• Dip nets may be used for taking smelt. Minnow seines not more than 25 feet long 
or 4 feet deep may be used to take smelt in the St. Louis River and in Lake Superior 
when more than 100 feet from the mouth of any stream.

• Taking of smelt at any time is prohibited in the following Lake Superior Tributaries: 
French River, Sucker River, Little Sucker River (St. Louis County); Silver Creek, 
Encampment Creek, Crow Creek (Lake County).

Taking of Smelt and Cisco (Tullibee), and Trout Eggs, for Bait
• Anglers may take cisco (tullibee) or smelt from Lake Superior or its tributaries 

below the posted boundaries to use as bait only on Lake Superior. 
• To use cisco (tullibee) or smelt taken from Lake Superior or its tributaries as 

bait on other water bodies, the fish must be preserved under a DNR-issued 
bait preservation permit. Permit applications are available from the DNR, 
500 Lafayette, St. Paul, MN 55155-4026. Freezing is not a preservation method.

• No other fish species from Lake Superior or its tributaries below the posted 
boundaries, or the St. Louis River downstream of the Fond du Lac dam, may be used 
as bait except trout eggs (see next bullet).

• Eggs of trout harvested from Lake Superior or its tributaries below the posted 
boundaries may be used as bait (spawn bags). Spawn bags from Lake Superior trout 
may only be used on Lake Superior and its tributaries below the posted boundaries, 
and no other waters in the state.

• Spawn bags can be bought or sold only if they are made from either 1) fish eggs 
from a licensed aquaculture facility; or 2) fish eggs taken from a source outside 
Minnesota that has been certified disease free and are preserved and labeled 
under a Minnesota bait preservation permit. These spawn bags may only be used in 
Lake Superior and tributaries below posted boundaries.

Guide Licenses
A guide’s license is required to operate a charter boat for the purpose of guiding 
or assisting anglers on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior and the St. Louis 
River Estuary. More information: mndnr.gov/licenses/commercial

Possession and Transportation continued

http://www.mndnr.gov/licenses/commercial
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Lake Superior and Tributaries Below Posted Boundaries
Including St. Louis River Estuary below the Minnesota–Wisconsin boundary cable and 
Lake Superior tributaries with no posted boundaries.

Calendar dates refer to 2024 unless noted otherwise. If fishing the St. Louis River Estuary 
and species are not listed below see Minnesota-Wisconsin border waters regulations 
(page 66). Otherwise, see inland waters regulations (page 21) for any species not listed.

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT SIZE LIMIT

Brook trout and splake April 13 - Sept. 2 1 (combined total brook 
trout, splake, brown trout 
and rainbow trout is 5).

Minimum size 
limit 20"

Rainbow trout—clipped Continuous 3 (combined total brook 
trout, splake, brown trout 
and rainbow trout is 5).

Minimum size 
limit 16"

Rainbow trout—
unclipped

Continuous Catch-and-release only

Brown trout Continuous 5 (combined total brook 
trout, splake, brown trout 
and rainbow trout is 5).

Minimum size 
limit 10". Only 1 
over 16".

Lake trout Dec. 1, 2023 - 
Oct. 6, 2024

Dec. 1, 2024 - 
Oct. 5, 2025

3

Salmon (Chinook, coho, 
pink, and Atlantic)

Continuous 5 combined total (only 1 
can be Atlantic salmon)

Minimum size 
limit 10"

Walleye May 11, 2024 - 
March 1, 2025

2 Minimum size 
limit 15"

Northern pike May 11, 2024 - 
March 1, 2025

2

Smelt Continuous No limit

Lake or shovelnose 
sturgeon Includes 
Lake Superior and the 
St. Louis River. (See 
pages 59-68 for other 
sturgeon waters and 
regulations.)

Same dates 
every year: 
June 16 - 
April 14

Catch-and-release only; 
no tag needed.

Lake Superior Tributaries Above Posted Boundaries

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT SIZE LIMIT
Brook and 
brown trout

April 13 - Sept. 30 5 combined total Not more than 1 
over 16"

Rainbow trout April 13 - Sept. 30 Catch-and-release only



29General Regulations
©MNDNR

GENERAL REGULATIONS

Artificial Lure/Baits Examples

TACKLE AND LINES
How many lines can I fish with?

• You may use only 1 line during the open water season except 2 lines may be used 
in the Minnesota River downstream of the Granite Falls Dam and in the Mississippi 
River downstream of St. Anthony Falls.

• You may use 2 lines through the ice except on designated trout lakes and streams.
• On designated trout lakes and streams, only 1 line is allowed at any time.
• More than 1 line may be allowed on border waters (page 58) and Lake Superior 

(page 26).

How many hooks can I use on the end of my line?
• Only 1 artificial bait/lure or 1 single tackle configuration can be used at the end of 

your line for it to be considered a single line.
• Up to 3 single- or multiple-pronged hooks may be used as a single tackle 

configuration but the total distance between hooks cannot exceed 9" (see below).
• “Umbrella” style rigs may be used provided only 1 wire contains hooks. The other 

wires may include lures/baits but cannot contain hooks.
• You may use up to 3 artificial flies on 1 fishing line when you are fishing for bass, 

crappie, rock bass, sunfish, or trout. There are no restrictions on distance between 
the flies.

• Unless fishing on a designated trout stream or lake, you may add 1 additional 
“stinger” hook on a line as part of a single artificial lure or bait. The “stinger” hook 
must be within 3" of the artificial lure/bait.

Single Tackle Configuration Example
Combined length cannot exceed 9"

9"
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Continued on next page

BAIT
Can I use bait in Minnesota waters?

• You can fish with a variety of live or dead bait including worms, night crawlers, insects 
and larvae. If you are fishing with minnows or leeches, a number of restrictions apply.

• If you choose to keep your bait when done fishing, you must exchange water in 
bait buckets with tap or bottled water prior to leaving any water body, except when 
you are fishing through the ice. The exception for ice fishing does not apply when 
fishing on Lake Superior.

• Dispose of unwanted bait in the trash. It is illegal to release bait into Minnesota 
lakes and rivers. All earthworms are non-native and can damage forests if released.

• You can’t use whole or parts of game fish, goldfish, carp, or salamanders (including 
mudpuppies) for bait. See page 27 for Lake Superior exceptions.

What are the rules for taking and transporting live minnows and leeches?
• You can't import live minnows or leeches into Minnesota.
• Dead bait may only be imported if it comes from a waterbody tested negative for 

Viral Hemmorhagic Septicemia (VHS) with a negative fish health certification or 
has been preserved under a DNR bait preservation permit issued to a commercial 
license. All imported dead bait must be labeled and the labeling kept on your person 
while angling (see website for examples).

• You can take an unlimited number of minnows and leeches with an angling license 
for personal use; however you may not transport more than 12 dozen at one 
time without a commercial minnow license. All minnows and leeches must be 
transported in tap/well or bottled water.

Where can I harvest minnows and leeches?
You can take them from all waters of the state where you can legally access the 
water except:

• Within the boundaries of state parks.
• Within designated trout waters, except under permit.
• Most aquatic invasive species infested waters. See mndnr.gov/AIS for a current list.
• All streams and connected waters in Lincoln, Pipestone, Murray, Rock and Nobles 

counties south of U.S. Highway 14 and west of U.S. Highway 59 to the South 
Dakota border.

• A harvest permit is required to take madtoms and stonecats in Dodge, Freeborn 
and Mower counties.

Can I harvest bait from infested waters?
• Minnows and leeches may be taken for personal use from waters infested solely with 

Eurasian watermilfoil using a cylindrical trap not exceeding 16" in diameter and 32" 
long. At these waters, harvested bait may only be used on the water where taken. The 
harvest and use of bait from other infested waters is prohibited.

• Within infested streams and rivers (except for the St. Louis River Estuary), bullhead, 
sucker, mooneye, goldeye, and freshwater drum may be taken by hook and line 
for personal use as bait on the same water. Harvested bait may not be transported 
live from the river or stream. Where a river or stream is divided by barriers such as 
dams, fish for bait must be caught and used on the same section.

• You can obtain a DNR permit at mndnr.gov/fishing to take gizzard shad by cast net 

http://www.mndnr.gov/AIS
http://www.mndnr.gov/fishing
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for personal use as bait for fishing from Minnesota portions of the Mississippi River 
downstream of St. Anthony Falls, the Minnesota River downstream of Granite Falls, 
and the St. Croix River downstream of the dam at Taylors Falls.

How can I take minnows and leeches?
You can use dip nets, seines and traps. See restrictions below:

• Seines may not be longer than 25 feet nor have bar mesh greater than 1⁄4". If the 
bar mesh is between 3⁄16" and 1⁄4", the seine may not be taller than 37", otherwise the 
seine may not be taller than 48".

• Traps dimensions may not exceed 30" in length, 30" in width, nor 15" in height. The 
diameter of the opening may not exceed 11⁄2", and the mesh size may not exceed 1⁄2" 
bar measure. Traps must have a waterfproof tag bearing the name and address of 
the owner.

• You cannot use throw nets (cast nets) without a DNR permit (see page 30).

When do I need to get a commercial license to take and sell minnows and leeches?
• If you want to transport more than 12 dozen.
• If you want to sell minnows or leeches at retail or wholesale.

What are the rules for live suckers?
Suckers 12" and shorter are considered minnows and regular bait rules for minnows 
apply. However, suckers longer than 12" may only be transported alive if they are in 
containers that are not livewells or other parts of a boat and only if bought from a 
licensed commercial vendor. You must have a valid sales receipt from the vendor on 
your person.

What are the rules for live bullheads?
• Live bullheads may not be transported north of Minnesota Highway 210.
• Bullheads less than 7" in length are considered minnows and may be possessed in 

any quantity south of Minnesota Highway 210. Bullheads must be transported in a 
container with a locking lid.

• You may take and possess bullheads, 7-10" in length, for use as live bait. They are 
counted as part of your daily and possession limit of 100.

• Legal methods of taking bullheads are dip net, angling or minnow seines.

What is restricted bait and can I harvest and use it?
• Restricted bait includes cisco (tullibee) less than 7", smelt, and VHS-susceptible 

species (such as fathead minnows, bluntnose minnows, spottail shiners, and emerald 
shiners).

• For restricted bait rules on Lake Superior and tributaries, see page 26.
• Live restricted bait must have been purchased from a licensed retailer (retain proof 

of purchase) or come from a VHS-free source.
• Dead restricted bait can only be used if it was harvested from a waterbody tested 

for VHS with a negative fish health certification, a VHS free zone (see mndnr.gov/
bait/dead), or has been preserved and labeled under a bait preservation permit 
issued to a commercial license.

• All restricted dead bait must be labeled and the labeling kept on your person 
while angling (see dnr.state.mn.us/bait/dead for examples).

• Freezing is not a bait preservation method because freezing doesn’t kill VHS.

Where can I get more information about bait?
Check the Other Species section of the online regulations or contact the Minnesota 
DNR Information Center at 888-MINNDNR, or go to mndnr.gov/bait

http://mndnr.gov/bait/dead
http://mndnr.gov/bait/dead
http://dnr.state.mn.us/bait/dead
http://mndnr.gov/bait
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METHODS
What if people are fishing together from a boat or on shore?

• A party is 2 or more people fishing together from a single watercraft or on shore 
while maintaining unaided visual and vocal contact.

• The number of fish your party possesses can’t be more than the combined limits 
of all party members. You may not transport more than your individual daily or 
possession limit.

What fishing methods are illegal?
• Intentionally fishing for a species during its closed season.
• Using an artificial light to lure, attract or spot fish. However, you may use a lighted 

artificial lure. Batteries used in lighted fishing lures must not contain mercury.
• Leaving your fishing line with hooks attached in the water unattended. Receiving 

electronic notifications is not considered attending your fishing line.
• Using explosives, firearms, chemicals (not including a scented bait), spring (or 

automatic hook setting) devices that impale or hook fish, or electricity to take fish.
• Taking fish by hand (noodling) or by snagging.

POSSESSION
How many fish can I keep?

• Your daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. Some waters 
have reduced daily limits but statewide possession limits (pages 37-56) which means 
an angler can keep 1 limit per day from that water but can't exceed the statewide 
possession limit (pages 21-25) at any time.

• A fish is in your possession once you have caught and kept it. Your possession limit 
includes any fish you have kept that day plus any fish in storage from a previous day.

• Processed fish (e.g. pickled, smoked) still count towards your limit.
• Culling (page 12) is allowed in most waters except North Dakota border waters and 

Mille Lacs (except bass may be culled), until you reach your daily or possession limit.
• Once you reach your daily or possession limit for a species, you may keep fishing 

but all fish of that species must be immediately released and no culling is allowed. 
If fishing is good you may want to stay below your limit to accommodate keeping a 
deeply hooked, legal sized fish.

What are length limits?
Some waters have fish length restrictions, such as slot limits, minimum size limits, or 
1-over the size limit. See page 12 for definitions.

You can’t possess any fish outside the legal length limits of the waters on which you are 
traveling or fishing, unless all of the following conditions are true: 1) The fish was legally 
taken from a connected water body or packaged by a licensed fish packer; 2) You are 
traveling back to your lodging or docking and taking the most direct route; and 3) You are 
not fishing while you are in transit.

What if I’ve caught fish on waters with size restrictions different from statewide 
regulations?

• Unless you are in the act of preparing the fish for a meal, any kept fish with 
size restrictions different than statewide regulations may not be filleted.                     
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Kept fish must still have their heads, tails, fins, and skin intact so they can be 
measured and counted. Carcasses count toward your possession limit until you 
dispose of them.

• You may eat legal sized fish while on the ice, docked, or moored to shore but you 
must retain the carcass including the head, dorsal fin, and tail. Any fish caught and 
eaten on the same day count toward your daily limit.

Can I give away fish that I’ve kept?
If you have kept a fish and want to transfer it as a gift, it must be accompanied by a 
receipt that must remain with the gift. The person receiving the gift can’t possess 
more than the statewide limit including your gift. The receipt must contain all of the 
following information:

• Name and address of the owner.
• Name and address of recipient.
• Date of transfer.
• Description of the gift (number and species).
• License number (DNR number or transaction number) under which the fish was taken.

TRANSPORTATION
Can I transport live fish I caught (other than bait)?
No, fish being harvested may not be transported in enough water to keep them 
alive. You can't transfer live fish or fish eggs from 1 body of water to another.

What about fish for an aquarium?
If you are older than 16, you can transport live fish for display in a home aquarium 
only if you purchase the fish from an aquaculture licensee and have proof of purchase.

Youth age 16 and younger can legally transport certain live fish for display in a home 
aquarium if:

• They have legally caught the fish from among the following species: largemouth, 
smallmouth or rock bass; yellow perch; crappie; bluegill, pumpkinseed, green or 
orange-spotted sunfish; black, yellow, and brown bullhead.

• No more than 4 fish of each species are transported at any 1 time.
• All fish are 10" or less in length.
• Fish are not transported in water taken from any lake or stream. You must bring 

bottled or tap water for transport.

How do I prepare fish I’ve caught for transport?
• You must package and transport fish in such a way that they can be readily unwrapped, 

separated, identified and counted.
• A fish may not be cut into more than 2 fillets.
• If you are transporting lake sturgeon, muskellunge, catfish, splake or brook, brown 

and rainbow trout, you must transport them with the head and tail intact so the fish 
can be measured.

• Bullhead, sunfish and crappie may be filleted without leaving a patch of skin.
• Fillets from all other species must have a 1-inch square patch of skin with scales 

intact from a portion of the body other than the belly, unless they are packaged by 
a licensed fish packer.

• Sauger without head and tail intact will be counted as walleye unless they are 
packaged by a licensed fish packer.
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One of the best ways to transport your fish 
so they can be counted and iden ti fied is in 
clear plastic freezer bags.

Fillets and dressed fish must show at least 
a 1-inch square patch of skin with scales so 
fish species can be identified.

See page 32 or 37 for waters with special 
or experimental regulations.

OTHER SPECIES
Threatened and Endangered Species
You can’t take or possess any state-endangered or threatened species, including 
skipjack herring, crystal darter, pallid shiner, slender madtom, gravel chub, plains 
topminnow, black buffalo, pugnose shiner, paddlefish, Blanchard’s cricket frog, 
Blanding’s turtle, wood turtle, or endangered or threatened mussels, unless you have 
an endangered species permit.

Crayfish
Can I take my own crayfish?
Yes, people with a fishing license and children younger than 16 can take and possess 
up to 25 pounds of live crayfish for personal use. However, you cannot possess red 
swamp crayfish, as they are a prohibited invasive species (more details on page 8). 
A permit is needed to sell crayfish or take/possess more than 25 pounds of crayfish. 
More information can be found at mndnr.gov/fishing/commercial.

When can I take crayfish?
From April 1 to November 30. Traps may be left overnight but may only be tended from 
1 hour before sunrise through 1 hour after sunset.

Where can I use crayfish as bait?
• Crayfish may not be used for bait in the St. Croix National Scenic Riverway north or 

upstream of the St. Croix Boom Site boat launch, or within Voyageurs National Park. 
• Except as noted above, preserved crayfish may be used in all waters of the state and 

live crayfish may only be used in the water where they were captured.

Frogs and Salamanders
Can I take my own frogs?
In most cases, yes:

• People with a fishing license and children younger than 16 can take, use, buy and sell 
an unlimited number of frogs up to 6" long for bait.

• A special frog license is required to take frogs for any purpose other than bait.
• You must have an endangered species permit to possess Blanchard’s cricket frogs.

When can I take frogs for bait?
From May 16 to March 31 the following year.

Can I release frogs or tadpoles?
No. Unused frogs or tadpoles can’t be released in any Minnesota water.

http://mndnr.gov/fishing/commercial


35General Regulations

Can I use salamanders (including mudpuppies) as bait? 
No. Salamanders are protected wild animals and cannot be used as bait. Several 
salamander species including mudpuppies are species of special concern.

Mussels (Clams)
Can I take live mussels?
No. State law prohibits the harvest of live mussels. Of Minnesota's 51 native mussel 
species, 24 are endangered or threatened.

Can I take dead mussel shells?
People with a fishing license and children younger than 16 may hand-pick or possess 
up to 24 whole shells or 48 half shells from dead mussels of species that are not 
endangered or threatened.

• Shell collection is allowed from May 16 through the last day in February the 
following year.

• You can’t take mussel shells from the St. Croix River.
• You can’t possess zebra mussels.
• Mussel shells can’t be bought or sold. 

Turtles
Can I take my own turtles?
People with a resident fishing license (or youth under 16) and recreational turtle license 
can take, possess and transport snapping and western painted turtles for personal use.

What kind of turtles can I take?
• Western painted: between 4 and 5½" in shell length, possession limit 3. Turtles used 

in turtle races may be any length greater than 4".
• Snapping: minimum size is 12" in shell length, possession limit is 3. Season is from 

July 1 through April 30 the following year.
• All other species of turtles may only be purchased from a commercial vendor. 

What about turtle races?
Residents younger than 18 may take, possess, and rent or sell up to 25 turtles for use in 
a non-profit turtle race. Each turtle must be greater than 4" in length.

How do you measure turtle shell length?
Measure the top shell length (the hard upper shell of the turtle) from above the neck to 
above the tail. The measuring device should measure a straight line above the curvature 
of the shell.

How can I take turtles?
You may use traditional angling gear, such as dip nets and hook and line. You may not 
use traps, commercial gear, firearms, bows, spears, impaling objects, explosives, drugs, 
poisons, lime or other harmful substances to take turtles.

Can I take turtle eggs?
A DNR permit is required to take turtle eggs.

Can I release turtles in Minnesota?
No. Unused or unwanted turtles can’t be released in any Minnesota water.

Where do I get a recreational turtle license?
Licenses can be purchased online (mndnr.gov/buyalicense), at any ELS agent, or by 
phone (888-665-4236).

http://mndnr.gov/buyalicense
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ILLEGAL ACTIVITIES
• If you catch a fish (including rough fish) and you don’t intend to use it for anything, 

you must return it immediately back into the water alive. You can’t waste a fish by 
discarding it, or any part of it, on the ice, on the bank, or into the water.

• You can’t dispose of any rubbish (including parts of fish or other animals), or 
chemicals into public waters, or on shore.

• You can’t deposit fish parts or other material (chum) into waters to attract fish.
• You can’t possess or transport white perch, ruffe, round goby, black carp, bighead 

carp, grass carp or silver carp, unless you are taking them to a DNR office. If you 
catch a black, bighead, grass or silver carp, see page 8.

• You can’t buy or sell game fish, whitefish, or cisco (tullibee) unless you buy fish from 
a commercial, private hatchery, or aquatic farm licensee.

• You can't release bait (including worms) anywhere in Minnesota. All unwanted bait 
should be disposed of in the trash.

See page 9 for boat and trailer transport restrictions.

PERMITS
A Minnesota DNR permit is required to:

• Transplant aquatic plants, apply chemicals and perform certain types of cutting to 
control vegetation in any public water.

• Mark or tag fish and then release them.
• Harvest minnows from designated trout lakes or streams or from most 

infested waters.
• Conduct some fishing contests. 

A permit from the county sheriff is required for most organized events on the water or 
ice, including fishing contests.

Find more information at mndnr.gov/permits or contact your regional Fisheries Office 
(page 90).

Federal aid in sport fish restoration
Minnesota’s rich outdoor heritage is enjoyed by all. When you 
purchase a fishing rod, reel, or most any other sporting gear, 
you pay a federal excise tax. The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 
grants that money back to the states using a formula based 
on fishing licenses sold and the state’s land area. These funds 
support fish population monitoring, research, habitat projects, 
and efforts related to angler access, recruitment, and retention.

http://www.mndnr.gov/permits


37Special Regulations

SPECIAL REGULATIONS
INTENSIVE MANAGEMENT LAKES

A number of lakes in Minnesota are managed under both treaties and DNR regulations. 
Angling harvest on these intensive management lakes may change throughout the 
year to maintain sustainable fish populations. If regulations change, information will be 
posted at public boat ramps, the DNR website, and in newspapers.

Mille Lacs Lake including tributaries to posted boundaries (Aitkin, Crow Wing and 
Mille Lacs coun ties). Regulations for walleye, northern pike, smallmouth bass, tullibee, 
and other fish species will be posted at public access sites and the DNR website at 
mndnr.gov/millelacslake.

Red Lake, Upper including Shotley Brook and Tamarac River (Beltrami County). Those 
portions of Red Lake located within the Red Lake Indian Reservation are closed to 
non-band members except by special authorization of the tribal council.

• Northern pike: all from 30-40" must be immediately released. Possession limit 3, 
only 1 over 40" allowed.

• Walleye: Restrictions or changes will be posted at public access sites and on the 
DNR website. A person’s statewide possession limit may not include more than the 
current daily limit of Red Lake walleye.

WATERS WITH EXPERIMENTAL AND 
SPECIAL REGULATIONS

These regulations differ from statewide or border water regulations and take 
precedence. Unless otherwise stated, all general regulations, seasons, limits, border 
water regulations, possession, and transportation regulations apply to these waters. If 
you want to keep fish with special or experimental size restrictions, the fish must remain 
intact to verify it is of legal size until you are preparing to eat the fish. Regulations are 
posted at access sites but be sure to also check other sections of this booklet and other 
states’ regulations when on border waters. Note: some regulations specify a daily limit 
for the lake and others specify a possession limit. See definitions on page 12.

These regulations are intended to improve fishing quality or provide unique 
opportunities. The DNR regularly evaluates the regulations and needs your compliance 
to ensure success.

National Wildlife Refuges may have differing regulations
Please check with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service: 612-713-5360.

Voyageurs National Park
In response to the threat of invasive species introductions, the park only allows 
artificial bait in the interior lakes and prohibits the use of privately owned watercraft 
and the landing of float planes in these lakes. These regulations do not apply to Rainy, 
Kabetogama, Namakan, Crane, and Sand Point lakes. Contact Voyageurs National Park 
for more information: 218-283-6600.

http://www.mndnr.gov/millelacslake
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Lakes (County)
AGNES LAKE (Douglas) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" must be 
immediately released. 1 over 20" allowed in possession.
AITKIN LAKE including area known as Aitkin Flowage (Aitkin) See Big Sandy Lake.
ALEXANDER LAKE (Morrison) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
AMELIA LAKE (Pope) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
ANDREW LAKE (Douglas) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
ANDRUSIA LAKE (Beltrami) See Cass Lake Chain.
ANN LAKE (Carver) Largemouth bass: catch-and-release only. Northern pike: all from 
24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
ANNIE BATTLE LAKE including inlet to Molly Stark Lake and outlet to Blanche Lake 
(Otter Tail) Use of gas and electric motors, powered augers, and other electronic 
fish-finding devices is prohibited. Sunfish: daily limit 5. Northern pike, largemouth 
and smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only. Crappie: possession limit 5.
ARROWHEAD LAKE (Crow Wing) See Whitefish Chain.
ASH LAKE (St. Louis) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".

BALM LAKE (Beltrami) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be 
immediately released. 1 over 20" allowed in possession.
⁕⁕NEW—BALSAM LAKE including connected Haskell and Scrapper lakes (Itasca) 
Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 
over 36".
BASS LAKE near Cohasset (Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
BASS LAKE near Underwood (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
BASS LAKE near Burtrum north of Long Lake (Todd) Walleye: possession limit 2. 
Largemouth bass: possession limit 1. Northern pike: possession limit 3, all larger than 26" 
must be immediately released.
BASSWOOD LAKE (Lake) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Protected slot and possession limit applies to all 
Minnesota waters of Basswood Lake.
BATTLE LAKE (Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
BEAR CREEK RESERVOIR (Chester Woods) (Olmsted) See Rochester–Olmsted County 
Area Lakes.
BEAR HEAD LAKE (St. Louis) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
BEAR LAKE (Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
BEAUTY LAKE (Todd) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
BECKER LAKE (Stearns) See Sauk River Chain of Lakes.
BELTRAMI LAKE (Beltrami) See Turtle River chain of lakes (page 51).
BERTHA LAKE (Crow Wing) See Whitefish Chain.
BEUBER LAKE (Cass) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
BIG BASS LAKE (Beltrami) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
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BIG FLOYD LAKE (Becker) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
BIG LAKE (Beltrami) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
BIG MANTRAP (Hubbard) Crappie: daily limit 5. Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
BIG MARINE LAKE (Washington) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
BIG PINE LAKE (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 10. Walleye: all from 18-26" must be 
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 
BIG PORTAGE LAKE and connected Rice and Deep Portage lakes (Cass) Crappie: daily 
limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 10.
BIG RICE LAKE (Beltrami) See Cass Chain.
⁕⁕NEW—BIG SAND LAKE (Hubbard) Walleye special regulation repealed.
BIG SANDY LAKE and connected waters (Aitkin): Aitkin Lake including area known as 
Aitkin Flowage, Davis Lake including bay known as Steamboat Lake, Flowage Lake, Sandy 
River Lake, Prairie River from confluence with Tamarack River downstream to confluence 
with Big Sandy Lake, Sandy River from State Highway 210 downstream to confluence 
with the Mississippi River, and West Savanna River from County Highway 14 downstream 
to confluence with the Prairie River. Sunfish: daily limit 5. Walleye: all less than 14" or 
greater than 18" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.
BIG SWAN LAKE (Todd) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 6, only 1 over 36".
BIG TROUT LAKE (Crow Wing) See Whitefish Chain.
BIRCH LAKE RESERVOIR including the South Kawishiwi River upstream to the first 
rapids north of Minnesota Highway 1 bridge (St. Louis) Northern pike: all from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
BLACKDUCK LAKE (Beltrami) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
BLACKDUCK LAKE (St. Louis) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
BLACK BASS LAKE (Mille Lacs) Use of gas or electric augers, underwater cameras, and 
other electronic fish-finding devices is prohibited. Largemouth and smallmouth bass: 
catch-and-release only. Northern pike: catch-and-release only. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
BLACKWELL LAKE (Douglas) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
BLUEBERRY LAKE (Wadena) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
BOLFING LAKE (Stearns) See Sauk River Chain of Lakes.
BORDEN LAKE (Crow Wing) Sunfish: daily limit 5. Crappie: daily limit 5.
BOY LAKE and connected Swift Lake (Cass) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 10.
BUCK LAKE near Burtrum (Todd) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
BUFFALO LAKE (Becker) Sunfish: daily limit 5.

CAMPBELL LAKE (Beltrami) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
CARIBOU LAKE (Itasca) Lake Trout: minimum size limit 20". Possession limit 1.
CARNELIAN LAKE (Stearns) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
CASCADE LAKE (Cascade Ponds) (Olmsted) See Rochester–Olmsted County 
Area Lakes.

C
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CASS CHAIN including connecting waters Wolf, Ose, Andrusia, Big Lake Creek, 
Mississippi River, Cass, Fox Creek, Pike Bay, Windigo, Buck, Big Rice, Little Rice, Kitchi, 
Turtle River, and Pug Hole (Beltrami) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
CEDAR LAKE (Morrison) Walleye: possession limit 2. Crappie: daily limit 5. 
Northern pike: possession limit 3, all larger than 26" must be immediately released.
CEDAR LAKE north of Sauk Centre (Todd) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
CEDAR ISLAND LAKE (Stearns) See Sauk River Chain of Lakes.
CENTER LAKE, North and South (Chisago) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
CENTERVILLE LAKE (Anoka) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
CHARLEY LAKE (Ramsey) Closed to fishing.
CHILD LAKE (Cass) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
CHISAGO LAKE (Chisago) Largemouth bass: all 12" and larger must be immediately released.
CHRISTINA LAKE (Douglas) Closed to fishing.
CLAMSHELL LAKE (Crow Wing) See Whitefish Chain.
CLEAR LAKE (Aitkin) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
CLEAR LAKE (Waseca) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only.
⁕⁕NEW—CLEARWATER LAKE including connected Caroline, Augusta, Grass and Otter 
lakes and connecting portions of the Clearwater River (Stearns and Wright) Crappie: 
daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 10.
CLITHERALL LAKE (Otter Tail) Smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be immediately 
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
COON LAKE (Anoka) Walleye: minimum size limit 17".
COON-SANDWICK LAKE (Itasca) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
CRANE LAKE including Vermilion Gorge and Echo River from mouth upstream to 
County Highway 424 bridge (St. Louis) Walleye: all from 18-26" must be immediately 
released. One over 26" allowed in possession. Walleye and sauger: possession limit 6 
combined, only 4 may be walleye.
CRAWFORD LAKE (Wright) Largemouth bass: all from 14-20" must be immediately 
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
CROOKED LAKE (Anoka) Largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.
CROOKED LAKE and connected Welsh Lake (Cass) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
CROOKED LAKE (Stearns) Largemouth bass: all from 12-20" must be immediately 
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
CROSS LAKE and connected waters including the Snake River under the I-35 bridges 
downstream to the Cross Lake Road/County Road 9 bridge (Pine) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
CROSS LAKE RESERVOIR (Crow Wing) See Whitefish Chain.
⁕⁕NEW—CROW WING LAKES, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th including the Crow Wing River 
from County Road 109 upstream to Crown Point Road (Hubbard) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
CROW WING LAKES, 5th and 6th (Hubbard) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
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CROW WING LAKES, 8th, 9th, and 10th (Hubbard) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
CRYSTAL LAKE (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
CUT FOOT SIOUX LAKE and connected Little Cut Foot Sioux Lake, First River Flowage, 
and Egg Lake (Itasca): See Winnibigoshish.

DAGGETT LAKE (Crow Wing) See Whitefish Chain.
DAM LAKE and connected Lily Lake and Dam Brook (Aitkin) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
DAVIS LAKE (Aitkin) See Big Sandy Lake.
DEEP LAKE (Ramsey) Closed to fishing.
DEER LAKE (Beltrami) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Northern pike: all from 
24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Sunfish: daily 
limit 5.
DEER LAKE near Effie (Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
DEER LAKE including Otter Tail River (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
DEMONTREVILLE LAKE (Wash ing ton) Largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.
DIAMOND LAKE (Kandiyohi) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
DIXON LAKE (Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5. Walleye: see Winnibigoshish.
DUTCH LAKE (Hennepin) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
DYERS LAKE (Cook) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.

EAST LOST LAKE including Otter Tail River (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
EDEN LAKE (Stearns) Channel catfish and flathead catfish: combined possession limit 
10, not more than 2 may be flathead catfish. Only 1 over 24" allowed in possession.
EAST TWIN LAKE (Crow Wing) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
EDWARD LAKE (Crow Wing) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
ELEPHANT LAKE (St. Louis) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
ELLIOT LAKE (St. Louis) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
EUNICE LAKE (Becker) Sunfish: daily limit 5. Crappie: minimum size limit 10". Daily limit 
5. Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" must be immediately released. One 
over 20" allowed in possession.

FARM LAKE (Lake) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Walleye: (includes the North Branch Kawishiwi River 
from Farm Lake 4.8 miles east to the long portage) All from 17-26" must be immediately 
released. One over 26" allowed in possession.
FARM ISLAND LAKE (Aitkin) Walleye: all from 16-19" must be immediately released.
FISH LAKE near Parkers Prairie (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
FISH LAKE near Weetown (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
FISH LAKE RESERVOIR (St. Louis) Walleye: all less than 13" or greater than 17" must 
be immediately released, except 1 over 26" allowed in possession. Possession limit 3. 
Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
FISH TRAP LAKE (Morrison) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
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FLADMARK LAKE (Otter Tail) Sunfish: possession limit 10. Northern pike, largemouth 
and smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only. Crappie: possession limit 5.
FLORIDA LAKE (Kandiyohi) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
FLOUR LAKE (Cook) Smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be immediately released. 
One over 20" allowed in possession.
FLOWAGE LAKE (Aitkin) See Big Sandy Lake.
FOSTER-AREND LAKE (Olmsted) Trout: continuous season. Possession limit 3. 1 over 16" 
allowed in possession. Sunfish, crappie, yellow perch, largemouth and smallmouth bass, 
see Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes.
FOX LAKE (Beltrami) See Turtle River chain of lakes (page 51).
FRANKLIN LAKE (Otter Tail) Crappie: minimum size limit 10". Daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily 
limit 5.

GAMEHAVEN (Boy Scout Lake or Willow Reservoir No. 4) (Olmsted) See Rochester–
Olmsted County Area Lakes.
GARDEN LAKE (Lake) Northern pike: all from 24"-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Walleye: all from 17"-26" must be immediately 
released. One over 26" is allowed in possession.
GARFIELD LAKE (Hubbard) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
GEORGE LAKE (Hubbard) Northern pike: all from 24"-36" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all 14-20" 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
GEORGE LAKE (Kandiyohi) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
GILBERT LAKE (Crow Wing) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
GILCHRIST LAKE (Pope) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
GIRL LAKE (Cass) Northern pike: all from 24"-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
GLADSTONE LAKE (Crow Wing) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
GOODRICH LAKE (Crow Wing) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
GOOSE LAKE (Chisago) Crappie: daily limit 5. Walleye: minimum size limit 17".
GRAVE LAKE (Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
GREAT NORTHERN LAKE (Stearns) See Sauk River Chain of Lakes.
GREEN LAKE (Chisago) Walleye: minimum size limit 17".
GREEN LAKE (Kandiyohi) Walleye: possession limit 3.
GREEN PRAIRIE LAKE (Morrison) Sunfish: possession limit 10.
GRINDSTONE LAKE (Pine) Smelt: seines may not be used within 100' of any inflow or 
outflow of the lake.
GROVE LAKE (Pope) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
⁕⁕NEW—GULL CHAIN including connected Gull, Upper Gull, Margaret, Ray, Love, 
Nisswa, Roy, and Round lakes (Crow Wing, Cass) Northern Pike: all from 30-40" must be 
immediately released. Possession limit 2, only 1 over 40".
GULL LAKE (Beltrami) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
GULL LAKE (Cook) Walleye: see Saganaga Lake.
GUN LAKE (Aitkin) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
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⁕⁕NEW—HASKELL LAKE (Itasca) See Balsam Lake (Itasca).
HEIGHT OF LAND LAKE (Becker) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
HENRY LAKE (Douglas) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
HORSESHOE LAKE and connected Minnewawa Lake (Aitkin) Walleye: possession limit 3. 
Sunfish: daily limit 10.
HORSESHOE LAKE (Cass) Near Backus. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
HORSESHOE LAKE (Stearns) See Sauk River Chain of Lakes.
HOVDE LAKE (Cass) Largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.
HUBERT LAKE (Crow Wing) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all 12" and larger must be 
immediately released. Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
HUNGRY JACK LAKE (Cook) Smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be immediately 
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

INDIAN LAKE (Wright) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
INGUADONA LAKE and connected Rice Lake (Cass) Sunfish: daily limit 10. Crappie: daily 
limit 5.
IRENE LAKE (Douglas) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
ISLAND LAKE (Becker) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
ISLAND LAKE near Ponto Lake (Cass) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
ISLAND LAKE near Deer River (Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
ISLAND LAKE near Northome (Itasca) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Walleye: all from 17-26" must 
be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.
ISLAND-LOON LAKE (Crow Wing) See Whitefish Chain.
ISLAND RESERVOIR including Cloquet River from mouth of Island Reservoir upstream 
0.5 miles to rapids and Otter River from mouth of Island Reservoir upstream to Boulder 
Reservoir dam (St. Louis) Walleye: all from 15-20" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 10, only 1 over 20".
ITASCA LAKE (Clearwater) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.

JANE LAKE (Washington) Largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.
JAY GOULD including Little Jay Gould and Blackwater Reservoir upstream to Highway 6 
(Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
JULIA LAKE (Beltrami) Sunfish: daily limit 5.

KABEKONA LAKE (Hubbard) Walleye: all from 20-26" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 4, only 1 over 26".
KABETOGAMA LAKE including Sullivan Bay and Ash River to Ash River Falls (St. Louis) 
Walleye: all from 18-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in 
possession. Walleye and sauger: possession limit 6 combined, only 4 may be walleye.
KALMAR RESERVOIR (Olmsted) See Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes.
KITCHI LAKE (Beltrami) See Cass Lake Chain.
KNAUS LAKE (Stearns) See Sauk River Chain of Lakes.
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KNIFE LAKE (Kanabec) Walleye: all from 18-24" must be immediately released. One over 
24" allowed in possession. Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
KRAYS LAKE (Stearns) See Sauk River Chain of Lakes.

LA SALLE LAKE (Hubbard) Walleye: possession limit 2. Largemouth and smallmouth 
bass: catch-and-release only. Northern Pike: possession limit 1. Crappie: possession limit 
5. Sunfish: possession limit 5. Yellow perch: possession limit 10.
LAC QUI PARLE LAKE upstream to Marsh Lake Dam, including the Watson Sag upstream 
to the diversion dam (Lac qui Parle and Chippewa) Walleye: possession limit 4, only 1 
walleye over 20".
LADY LAKE near Grey Eagle (Todd) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
LAKE OF THE WOODS including the Rainy River from the mouth upstream to the dam 
in International Falls (Roseau) Northern pike: all from 30-40" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 40". Walleye and sauger: all walleye from 
191⁄2-28" must be immediately released. Possession limit 6 in combination, not more than 
4 can be walleye, only 1 walleye over 28", see page 60 for season. Lake sturgeon, see 
page 61.
LEECH LAKE (Cass) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5. Walleye: Possession limit 
4, only 1 over 20". See page 22 for whitefish.
LESTER LAKE (Hubbard) All species: catch-and-release only.
LEVEN LAKE (Pope) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
LIDA LAKES, South and North, including Mud Lake (Otter Tail) Crappie: minimum size 
limit is 11". Walleye: all from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed 
in possession. Sunfish: daily limit 10.
LILY LAKE and connected Long Lake (Todd) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
LIND LAKE (Cass) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
LITTLE BOY LAKE (Cass) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Walleye: all from 18-26" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 4, only 1 over 26".
LITTLE BOWSTRING LAKE (Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
LITTLE CORMORANT LAKE (Becker) Sunfish: daily limit 5. Crappie: minimum size limit 
10". Daily limit 5. Walleye: minimum size limit 17".
LITTLE FLOYD LAKE (Becker) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. Daily limit 3, only 1 over 36".
LITTLE MANTRAP LAKE (Hubbard) Largemouth bass: all from 12-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
LITTLE MCDONALD LAKE including Kerbs Lake (Otter Tail) Walleye: all from 17-26" 
must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.
LITTLE PINE LAKE (Crow Wing) See Whitefish Chain.
LITTLE PINE LAKE (Otter Tail) Walleye: all from 18-26" must be immediately released. 
One over 26" allowed in possession.
LITTLE RABBIT LAKE (Crow Wing) See Mississippi River.
LITTLE SAUK LAKE (Todd) Walleye: possession limit 2. Largemouth bass: possession 
limit 1. Sunfish: possession limit 5. Crappie: possession limit 5. Yellow perch: possession 
limit 10.
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LITTLE SPLITHAND LAKE (Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
LITTLE SUGAR BUSH LAKE (Becker) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
LITTLE TOAD LAKE (Becker) Sunfish: daily limit 10. Northern pike: all from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
LITTLE TROUT LAKE (St. Louis) Lake trout: catch-and-release only.
LITTLE TURTLE LAKE (Beltrami) See Turtle River chain of lakes (page 51).
LITTLE TURTLE LAKE near Marcell (Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
LITTLE VERMILION LAKE including Loon River to Loon River Falls portage (St. Louis)
Walleye: all from 18-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in 
possession. Walleye and sauger: possession limit 6 combined, only 4 may be walleye.
LITTLE WEBB LAKE (Cass) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
LITTLE WOMAN LAKE (Cass) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
LONG LAKE near Hawick (Kandiyohi) Largemouth bass: all from 14-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Sunfish: daily limit 10.
LONG LAKE near Clearwater (Stearns) Largemouth bass: all from 12-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
LONG LAKE south of Richmond (Stearns) Channel catfish and flathead catfish: combined 
possession limit 10, not more than 2 may be flathead catfish. Only 1 over 24" allowed in 
possession. Sunfish: daily limit 10.
LONG LAKE near Burtrum (Todd) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
LONG LAKE near Spaulding (Todd) Sunfish: possession limit 10.
LONG LAKE near Vergas (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
⁕⁕NEW—LOVE LAKE (Cass) See Gull Chain.
LOW LAKE (St. Louis) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
LOWER HAY LAKE (Crow Wing) See Whitefish Chain.

MAHNOMEN MINE and connected Alstead and Arco Mines (Crow Wing) Lake trout: 
Minimum length limit 20". Possession limit 1.
MANDALL LAKE (Chisago) Crappie: daily limit 5. Walleye: minimum size limit 17".
MANOR WOODS POND (Country Club Pond) (Olmsted) See Rochester–Olmsted 
County Area Lakes.
MAPLE LAKE (Douglas) Crappie: minimum size limit 10". Daily limit 5.
MAPLE LAKE (Todd) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
⁕⁕NEW—MAPLE LAKE, Upper (Wright) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 10.
⁕⁕NEW—MARGARET LAKE (Cass) See Gull Chain.
MARION LAKE (Dakota) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MARTIN LAKE (Anoka) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
MARY LAKE (Hubbard) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Crappie: daily limit 5. 
Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MARY LAKE (Todd) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MAZASKA LAKE (Rice) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
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MAUD LAKE (Becker) Sunfish: daily limit 5. Crappie: size limit 10". Daily limit 5. 
Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" must be immediately released. One 
over 20" allowed in possession.
MEDICINE LAKE (Beltrami) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MEDICINE LAKE (Hennepin) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MELISSA LAKE (Becker) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
MIDDLE LAKE (Otter Tail) Largemouth bass: all from 12-20" must be immediately 
released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MILL LAKE (Douglas) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
MILLE LACS (See mndnr.gov/millelacslake).
MINK-SOMERS LAKE near Maple Lake (Wright) Sunfish: daily limit 5. Crappie: daily 
limit 5. Walleye: minimum size limit 17". Possession limit 3. Largemouth bass: all from 
12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Northern 
pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". 
Possession or use of live minnows is prohibited.
MINNEWASHTA LAKE (Carver) Largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.
MINNEWASKA LAKE (Pope) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
MINNEWAWA LAKE and connected Horseshoe Lake (Aitkin) Walleye: possession limit 3. 
Sunfish: daily limit 10.
MINERVA LAKE (Clearwater) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MINNIE BELLE LAKE (Meeker) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MISSION LAKES, Lower and Upper (Crow Wing) Crappie: daily limit 5. Northern pike: all 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Sunfish: 
daily limit 5.
MITCHELL LAKE (Crow Wing) Northern pike (regulation modified): all from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
MOCCASIN LAKE (Cass) Largemouth bass: catch-and-release only. Crappie: daily limit 
5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MOODY LAKE (Crow Wing) All species: catch-and-release only.
MOON LAKE (Douglas) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MOOSE LAKE near Deer River (Itasca) Walleye (regulation modified): all from 20-24" 
must be immediately released. One over 24" allowed in possession.
MOOSE LAKE (Todd) Largemouth bass: all 12" and larger must be  immediately released. 
Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MOOSEHEAD LAKE (Carlton) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MOUND LAKE (Todd) Crappie: possession limit 5.
MOVIL LAKE including Turtle River (Beltrami) See Turtle River chain of lakes (page 51).
MUD LAKE (Stearns) Channel catfish and flathead catfish: combined possession limit 10, 
not more than 2 may be flathead catfish. Only 1 over 24" allowed in possession.
MUKOODA LAKE (St. Louis) Lake trout: catch-and-release only.
MULE LAKE (Cass) Walleye: possession limit 3.

http://mndnr.gov/millelacslake
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NAMAKAN LAKE (St. Louis) Walleye: all from 18-26" must be immediately released. 1 
over 26" allowed in possession. Walleye and sauger: possession limit 6 combined, only 4 
may be walleye.
NEST LAKE (Kandiyohi) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
⁕⁕NEW—NISSWA LAKE (Crow Wing) See Gull Chain.
NORTH BROWNS LAKE (Stearns) Channel catfish and flathead catfish: combined 
possession limit 10, not more than 2 may be flathead catfish. Only 1 over 24" allowed in 
possession.
NORTH LONG LAKE (Crow Wing) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
NORTH STAR LAKE including Little North Star Lake (Itasca) Northern pike: all from 
24-36" must be immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
NORTH TURTLE LAKE (Otter Tail) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Crappie: minimum 
size limit 10".
NORTH TWIN LAKE (Beltrami) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
NORWAY LAKE (Otter Tail) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must 
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Crappie: minimum size 
limit 10". Daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.

OLSON LAKE (Washington) Largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.
OSAKIS and Little Osakis lakes (Douglas and Todd) Sunfish: daily limit 10. Walleye: 
minimum size limit 15".
OWASSO LAKE (Ramsey) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
OX YOKE LAKE (Cass) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
OZAWINDIB LAKE (Clearwater) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must 
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Crappie: daily limit 5.

PARLEY LAKE (Carver) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
⁕⁕NEW—PEARL LAKE (Stearns) Northern Pike: experimental regulation repealed.
PELICAN LAKE (St. Louis) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in  possession.
PENNINGTON MINE (Crow Wing) Lake trout: Minimum length limit 20". Possession 
limit 1.
PERCH LAKE (Crow Wing) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
PICKEREL LAKE (Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
PIERZ (FISH) LAKE (Morrison) Largemouth bass: all from 14-20" must be immediately 
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
PIG LAKE (Crow Wing) See Whitefish Chain.
PIKE BAY LAKE and connected Fox Creek (Cass) See Cass Chain.
PIMUSHE LAKE (Beltrami) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
PINE LAKE, BIG (Otter Tail)  See Big Pine Lake (Otter Tail County).
PLATTE LAKE (Crow Wing) Sunfish: possession limit 10.
PLEASANT LAKE (Ramsey) Closed to fishing.
PLEASANT LAKE (Stearns) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
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POKEGAMA LAKE near Grand Rapids (Itasca) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
POKEGAMA LAKE and connected waters including the Snake River from the Little 
Walleye landing downstream to the I-35 bridges (Pine) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
PORTAGE LAKE North of Ten Mile Lake (Cass) largemouth and smallmouth bass: all 
from 14-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
PRAIRIE LAKE (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
PRIOR LAKE, Upper and Lower (Scott) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.

QUARRY HILL NATURE CENTER POND (Olmsted) See Rochester–Olmsted County 
Area Lakes.

RABBIT LAKES, Big and East Big (Crow Wing) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
RABOUR LAKE (Chisago) Crappie: daily limit 5. Walleye: minimum size limit 17".
RACHEL LAKE and Little Rachel Lake (Douglas) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
RAINY LAKE including the Rainy River above the dam at International Falls, all of Rainy 
Lake to the dam at Kettle Falls, Black Bay including Gold Portage below the rapids, all of 
the Rat Root River, and Rat Root Lake (Koochiching and St. Louis) Walleye and sauger: 
possession limit 8 (not more than 4 can be walleye). All walleye from 18-26" must be 
immediately released. One walleye over 26" allowed in possession.
RAT LAKE (Aitkin) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
⁕⁕NEW—RAY LAKE (Cass) See Gull Chain.
RED LAKE (see page 37).
RED RIVER LAKE (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
RED ROCK LAKE (Douglas) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
RED WING POTTERY POND (Goodhue) Trout: Continuous season. Possession limit 3. 
1 over 16" allowed in possession.
RENO LAKE (Pope) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
RICE LAKE and connected Inguadona Lake (Cass) Sunfish: daily limit 10. Crappie: daily 
limit 5.
RICE LAKE east side of Brainerd (Crow Wing): See Mississippi River.
RILEY LAKE (Carver) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
RIPLEY LAKE (Meeker) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
ROCHESTER–OLMSTED COUNTY AREA LAKES (Olmsted) includes: Bear Creek 
Reservoir (Chester Woods), Cascade Lake (Cascade Ponds), Foster-Arend Lake, 
Gamehaven Lake (Boy Scout Lake or Willow Reservoir No. 4), Kalmar Reservoir, Quarry 
Hill Nature Center Pond, Manor Woods Pond (Country Club Pond), Silver Lake, Silver 
Creek Reservoir, Willow Creek Reservoir. The daily and possession limits for the 
following species apply to the waters listed above as a whole, that is, only 1 daily and 
possession limit may be taken from the group of waters that comprise the Rochester–
Olmsted County Area Lakes. Sunfish, crappie, yellow perch: combined possession 
limit 10, and only 5 may be crappie. Largemouth or smallmouth bass: possession limit 
of 1. Northern pike: daily and possession limit 1 applies collectively to a subset of the 
Rochester–Olmsted County lakes: Cascade Lake, Game Haven Lake, Manor Woods, Silver 
Lake, Silver Creek Reservoir.
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ROGERS LAKE (Crow Wing) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
⁕⁕NEW—ROUND LAKE (Crow Wing) See Gull Chain.
ROUND LAKE (Douglas) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
ROUND LAKE near Harding (Morrison) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
ROUND LAKE near Squaw Lake including the Popple River downstream to State 
Highway Bridge 46 (Itasca) Walleye: all from 20-24" must be immediately released. 
One over 24" allowed in possession.
⁕⁕NEW—ROY LAKE (Crow Wing) See Gull Chain.
RUSH LAKE, East and West (Chisago) Northern pike: all from 26-40" must be 
immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 40".
RUSH-HEN LAKE (Crow Wing) See Whitefish Chain.

SAGAMORE MINE (Crow Wing) Lake trout: minimum length limit 20". Possession limit 1.
SAGANAGA LAKE including Gull Lake and the Sea Gull River (Cook) Walleye: minimum 
size limit 17". Possession limit 3, only 1 over 20".
SALLIE LAKE (Becker) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
SANBORN LAKE (Cass) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
SAND LAKE and connected Talac and Sorenson Lakes (Becker) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
SAND LAKE including connecting Birds Eye Lake, Little Sand Lake, Portage Lake and 
Bowstring River upstream to County Road 35 bridge and downstream to the County 
Road 145 bridge (Itasca) Walleye: all 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
SAND LAKE (Lake) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
SAND POINT LAKE (St. Louis) Walleye: all from 18-26" must be immediately released. 
One over 26" allowed in possession. Walleye and sauger possession limit 6 combined, 
only 4 may be walleye.
SANDY RIVER LAKE (Aitkin) See Big Sandy Lake.
SARAH LAKE (Hennepin) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
SARAH LAKE (Polk) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
SAUK RIVER CHAIN OF LAKES from Highway 23 downstream to the Cold Spring 
Dam including Becker, Bolfing, Cedar Island, Great Northern, Horseshoe, Knaus, Krays, 
Schneider and Zumwalde lakes (Stearns) Channel catfish and flathead catfish: combined 
possession limit 10, not more than 2 may be flathead catfish. Only 1 over 24" allowed in 
possession. Sunfish: daily limit 10.
SCHNEIDER LAKE (Stearns) See Sauk River Chain of Lakes.
⁕⁕NEW—SCRAPPER LAKE (Itasca) See Balsam Lake (Itasca).
SEA GULL LAKE including Alpine River between Alpine Lake and Sea Gull Lake (Cook)
Walleye: minimum size limit 17". Possession limit 3, only 1 over 20".
SEWELL LAKE (Otter Tail) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
SHAKOPEE LAKE (Mille Lacs) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
SHAMINEAU LAKE (Morrison) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
SHIELDS LAKE (Rice) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
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SHIELDS LAKE (Washington) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
SILVER CREEK RESERVOIR (Olmsted) See Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes.
SILVER LAKE (Olmsted) See Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes.
SOUTH FARM LAKE (Lake) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Walleye: all from 17-26" must be immediately 
released. One over 26" allowed in possession.
SOUTH LINDSTROM LAKE (Chisago) Largemouth bass: all 12" and larger must be 
immediately released.
SOUTH TWIN LAKE (Beltrami) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must 
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
SPIDER LAKE (Hubbard) Crappie: minimum size limit 10".
SPIDER LAKE (Itasca) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
SPLITHAND LAKE including Moody’s Creek upstream to County Road 432 (Itasca) 
Walleye: all from 20-24" must be immediately released. One over 24" allowed in 
possession. Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
ST. OLAF LAKE (Waseca) Northern pike: minimum size limit 30". Possession limit 1.
STAR LAKE (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
STEIGER LAKE (Carver) Northern pike and largemouth bass: catch-and-release only.
STRAND LAKE (St. Louis) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
STUART LAKE (Otter Tail) Crappie: minimum size limit 10". Sunfish: daily limit 10.
SUCKER LAKES, Upper, Middle, and Lower (Cass) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily 
limit 5.
SUGAR LAKE (Cass) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
SUGAR LAKE (Wright) Crappie: daily limit 5. Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".
SULLIVAN LAKE (Morrison) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
SWAN LAKE including Swan River downstream to dam, upstream to County Road 12, 
and connected streams (Itasca) Walleye (regulation modified): all from 20-24" must be 
immediately released. One over 24" allowed in possession.
SWIFT LAKE (Cass) See Boy Lake.
SYLVAN LAKE near Pillager (Cass) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
SYLVIA LAKES, East and West (Wright) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 10.

TAMARACK LAKE, North (Becker) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
TEN MILE LAKE, North and South (Otter Tail) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 
14-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
THIRTEEN LAKE (Cass) Largemouth and smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
THOMPSON LAKE (Cook) Trout: catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a 
single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing.
THREE ISLAND LAKE including Turtle River (Beltrami) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
THRUSH LAKE (Cook) Trout: catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a 
single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing.
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TRELIPE LAKE, Lower (Cass) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
TRELIPE LAKE, Upper (Cass) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
TROUT LAKE near Coleraine (Itasca) Walleye (regulation modified): all from 20-24" 
must be immediately released. One over 24" allowed in possession.
TURNIP LAKE (Cook) Trout: catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a single 
hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing.
TURTLE LAKE (Becker) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
TURTLE LAKE, BIG including connected Turtle River (Beltrami) See Turtle River chain of 
lakes (page 51).
TURTLE LAKE (Itasca) Smallmouth bass (regulation modified): all from 14-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
TURTLE LAKE (Ramsey) Largemouth bass (regulation modified): all from 14-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
TURTLE River chain of lakes including connected Little Turtle, Big Turtle, Movil, Beltrami, 
Fox lakes, and the Turtle River from Little Turtle Lake downstream to Fox Lake (Beltrami) 
Northern pike: all from 22-30" must be immediately released. Possession limit is 10, only 
1 over 30". Sunfish: daily limit 5.
TURTLE RIVER LAKE including Turtle River (Beltrami) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
TWENTY-ONE LAKE (Otter Tail) Sunfish: possession limit 10. Northern pike, largemouth 
and smallmouth bass: catch-and-release only. Crappie: possession limit 5.
TWO ISLAND LAKE (Cook) Smallmouth bass: all from 14-20" must be immediately 
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

VANDUSE (Hobo) LAKE (Aitkin) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
VENSTROM LAKE (Otter Tail) Crappie: minimum size limit 11". Walleye: all from 17-26" 
must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. Sunfish: daily 
limit 10.
VERMILLION LAKE (Cass) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
VERMILION LAKE (St. Louis) Walleye: all from 20-26" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 4, only 1 over 26".
VERMONT LAKE (Douglas) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
VILLARD LAKE (Pope) Sunfish: daily limit 10.

WABEDO LAKE (Cass) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Walleye: all from 18-26" must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 4, only 1 over 26".
WACONIA LAKE (Carver) Walleye: minimum size limit 16".
WALL LAKE (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
WASHINGTON LAKE (Le Sueur) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
WAUKENABO LAKE and connected West Lake (Aitkin) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
WELSH LAKE (Cass) See Crooked Lake.
WEST LOST LAKE (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 10.
WEST SILENT LAKE (Otter Tail) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
WHISKEY LAKE (Douglas) Sunfish: daily limit 5.
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WHITE IRON LAKE (St. Louis and Lake) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36". Walleye: all from 17-26" must 
be immediately released. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.
WHITEFACE RESERVOIR (St. Louis) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
WHITEFISH CHAIN, including connected Cross Lake Reservoir, Lower Hay, Arrowhead, 
Bertha, Clamshell, Big Trout, Pig, Island-Loon, Rush-Hen, Dagget, and Little Pine lakes 
(Crow Wing) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
WHITEFISH LAKE (Crow Wing) See Whitefish Chain.
WILD RICE RESERVOIR (St. Louis) Crappie: daily limit 5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
WILKINSON LAKE (Anoka and Ramsey) Closed to fishing.
WILLOW CREEK RESERVOIR (Olmsted) See Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes.
WINDIGO LAKE (Beltrami) See Cass Chain.
⁕⁕NEW—WINNIBIGOSHISH Lake and connected waters (Beltrami, Cass, and Itasca): 
Mississippi River to Knutson Dam, Third River Flowage to Little Dixon Lake, Pigeon River 
to Pigeon Lake Dam, First River, Egg Lake through Cut Foot Sioux Lake, Little Cut Foot 
Sioux Lake, Raven Flowage to Raven Lake, and Sugar Lake. Sunfish: daily limit 5. Walleye: 
all from 18-23" must be immediately released. One over 23" allowed in possession.
WOLF LAKE (Beltrami) See Cass Lake Chain.
WOMAN LAKE (Cass) Northern pike: all from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit 3, only 1 over 36".

YAWKEY MINE (Crow Wing) Lake trout: minimum length limit 20". Possession limit 1.

ZUMWALDE LAKE (Stearns) See Sauk River Chain of Lakes.

Streams and Rivers (County)
ASH RIVER (St. Louis) See Kabetogama Lake.

BAUDETTE RIVER mouth upstream to State Highway 11 bridge (Lake of the Woods) 
Northern pike, lake sturgeon, sauger, and walleye: see Lake of the Woods, pages 60-61.
BEAVER CREEK, East (Houston) Trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released 
on the entire stream (Beaver Creek Valley State Park). See page 25 for special angling 
seasons within the boundaries of Beaver Creek Valley State Park.
BELLE CREEK (Goodhue) Trout: catch-and-release on a 7.3 mile posted section from the 
confluence with the Cannon River upstream to Highway 19.
BOWSTRING RIVER (Itasca) See Sand Lake.

CAMP CREEK (Fillmore) Trout: catch-and-release on a 2.7-mile posted section from 
0.8 miles above the confluence with the Root River, South Branch upstream 2.7 miles. 
Artificial lures and flies only. On the third Saturday in May, statewide regulations apply 
to the posted section of the stream.
CANFIELD CREEK (SOUTH BRANCH CREEK) (Fillmore) Trout: all from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only. See page 25 for 
special angling seasons within the boundaries of Canfield Creek in Forestville/Mystery 
Cave State Park.
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DEVIL TRACK RIVER (Cook) Fish sanctuary: mile 1.1 to mile 1.6 open to fishing from 
June 1 - August 31.

EAGLE CREEK (Scott) Trout: catch-and-release only.
ECHO RIVER (St. Louis) See Crane Lake.

FIRST RIVER (Itasca) See Winnibigoshish Lake.
FORESTVILLE CREEK (NORTH BRANCH CREEK) (Fillmore) Trout: all from 12-16" must 
be immediately released on the entire stream. See page 25 for special angling seasons 
within the boundaries of Forestville/Mystery Cave State Park.
FRENCH RIVER (St. Louis) Fish sanctuary: all fishing closed from the river’s mouth at 
Lake Superior to the State Highway 61 four-lane expressway, including that portion of 
old Highway 61 that crosses the French River.

GARVIN BROOK (Winona) Trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released from the 
Highway 14 crossing to the source. Artificial lures and flies only.
GAUTHIER CREEK (Cook) Fish sanctuary: entire stream open to fishing from 
June 1 - August 31 only.
GRIBBEN CREEK (Fillmore) Trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released on the 
entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only.

HAY CREEK (Goodhue) Trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released on a 4-mile 
posted section from 325th Street downstream. Artificial lures and flies only.
HOOPER CREEK mouth upstream to State Highway 172 bridge (Lake of the Woods) 
Northern pike: see Lake of the Woods, page 61.

KADUNCE RIVER (Cook) Fish sanctuary: mile 0.2 (lower falls) to mile 0.4 open to 
fishing from June 1 - August 31 only.
KEDRON CREEK (Fillmore) Trout: catch-and-release only on the entire stream. Artificial 
lures and flies only.
KELLY CREEK mouth upstream to State Highway 172 bridge (Lake of the Woods) 
Northern pike: see Lake of the Woods, page 61.
KNIFE RIVER (St. Louis and Lake) Fish sanctuary: between the signs from the top of the 
second falls 100 feet downstream, and from State Highway 61 bridge downstream to the 
sign below the fish trap is permanently closed to fishing.

LAWNDALE CREEK (Wilkin) Brook trout: catch-and-release only for brook trout on a 
3.5-mile posted section within Atherton Wildlife Management Area. Artificial lures and 
flies only. All hooks must be barbless.
LESTER RIVER (St. Louis) Immediately downstream from the Superior Street bridge to 
the bottom of the first falls is closed to fishing.
LOGAN CREEK (Olmsted) Trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released on the 
entire stream from the confluence with the Whitewater River, North Branch, upstream 
to the source. Artificial lures and flies only.
LOON RIVER See Little Vermilion Lake.

MAHOODS CREEK (Fillmore) Trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released on 
the entire stream.
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MILL CREEK (Fillmore and Olmsted) Trout: special catch-and-release season 
October 16 - December 31 on posted reach in Chatfield from the confluence with the 
North Branch Root River upstream to Sprau’s tributary.
MISSISSIPPI RIVER (Dakota) From the Hastings dam downstream to the Minnesota–
Wisconsin border (inland waters of Pool 3) walleye: minimum size limit 15".
MISSISSIPPI RIVER VALLEY (Ramsey, Washington, Hennepin, and Dakota) Walleye, 
sauger, smallmouth bass, and largemouth bass: catch-and-release with a continuous 
season in the following stretches: a) Minnesota River downstream from the Mendota 
Bridge; b) Minnehaha Creek downstream from Minnehaha Falls; and c) Pool 2 of the 
Mississippi River between the Hastings Dam and the Ford Dam, including all backwater 
lakes and connecting waters except Crosby, Pickerel, Upper, Little Pigs Eye, and North 
Star Steel lakes.
MISSISSIPPI RIVER from Blandin Dam downstream to Coon Rapids Dam (Itasca, Aitkin, 
Crow Wing, Morrison, Benton, Sherburne, Wright, Anoka, and Hennepin) Muskellunge: 
catch-and-release only.
MISSISSIPPI RIVER (Sherburne, Stearns and Wright) Smallmouth bass: all from 12-20" 
must be immediately released from the confluence of the Crow River upstream to the 
St. Cloud Dam, including tributaries to the posted boundaries. Possession limit is 3, with 
1 over 20".
MISSISSIPPI RIVER from Brainerd Dam upstream to Highway 6 including Rice, Little 
Rabbit, and Half Moon Lakes and connected backwaters (Crow Wing) Crappie: daily limit 
5. Sunfish: daily limit 5.
MISSISSIPPI RIVER (Beltrami, Cass, and Itasca) See Winnibigoshish Lake.

OTTER TAIL RIVER (Otter Tail, Becker, and Wilkin) Smallmouth bass: catch-and-release 
from Wilkin County Road 19 crossing upstream to the Friberg Dam including all 
impoundments, and from Otter Tail County Highway 51 upstream to the Hubbel Pond 
Dam including Mud, Rice, and Town lakes.

PIGEON RIVER (Itasca) See Winnibigoshish Lake.
PRAIRIE RIVER (Aitkin) See Big Sandy Lake.
PRAIRIE RIVER from Prairie Lake Dam downstream to Mississippi River (Itasca) 
Muskellunge: catch-and-release only.

RAINY RIVER (Koochiching) See pages 59-61.
RAPID RIVER mouth upstream to State Highway 11 bridge (Lake of the Woods) Northern 
pike, lake sturgeon, sauger, and walleye: see Lake of the Woods, pages 60-61.
RAT ROOT RIVER (Koochiching) See Rainy Lake.
RAVEN FLOWAGE (Itasca) See Winnibigoshish Lake.
RED LAKE TRIBUTARIES See Red Lake (page 37).
ROOT RIVER, Middle Branch (Fillmore) Trout: catch-and-release on the entire stream.
ROOT RIVER, South Branch (Fillmore) Trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately 
released on a 4.8-mile posted section within Forestville State Park. See page 25 for 
special angling seasons within the boundaries of Forestville/Mystery Cave State Park. 
Trout: special catch-and-release season October 16 - December 31 on posted reach in 
Preston from the River Place West bridge downstream to the U.S. Highway 52 bridge. 
Trout: special catch-and-release season October 16 - December 31 on posted reach in 
Lanesboro from the Lanesboro Dam downstream to the confluence with the Root River.
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ROOT RIVER, South Fork (Fillmore) Trout: catch-and-release on a 7.7 mile section from 
County Road 12 upstream to the source. Artificial lures and flies only.
RUSH CREEK (Fillmore) Trout: special catch-and-release season 
October 16 - December 31 on posted reach in Rushford.

ST. CROIX RIVER See pages 66-68.
ST. LOUIS RIVER (St. Louis) Fish sanctuary: no fishing allowed at any time from the 
Fond du Lac Dam downstream to the Minnesota–Wisconsin boundary cable. No 
fishing allowed from the boundary cable downstream to the Highway 23 bridge from 
March 1 - May 18. Muskellunge: minimum size limit 50" on only the Minnesota–Wisconsin 
border waters.
SANDY RIVER (Aitkin) See Big Sandy Lake.
SAUK RIVER (Stearns) See Sauk River Chain of Lakes.
SEA GULL RIVER (Cook) Walleye: see Saganaga Lake.
SHOTLEY BROOK from Highway 72 West to Upper Red Lake See Red Lake (page 37).
SILVER CREEK mouth upstream to State Highway 11 bridge (Lake of the Woods) 
Northern pike: see Lake of the Woods, page 61.
SNAKE RIVER (Pine) See Cross (page 40) and Pokegama (page 47).
SPRING VALLEY CREEK (Fillmore) Trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released 
on a 6.8-mile posted section from Deer Creek upstream to Fillmore Township Road 359. 
Trout: special catch-and-release season October 16 - December 31 on posted reach in 
Spring Valley from West Park Street downstream to Minnesota State Highway 16 bridge.
STONEY BROOK (Cass) Brook trout: all must be immediately released on the posted 
section beginning at the mouth at Upper Gull Lake upstream to the road crossing at 
County Road 29 (Minor’s Corner).

TAMARACK RIVER (from the Beltrami County line west to Upper Red lake) See 
Red Lake (page 37).
THIRD RIVER FLOWAGE (Itasca) See Winnibigoshish Lake.
TROUT RUN CREEK (Fillmore and Winona) Trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately 
released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only.
TROUT RUN CREEK (in Whitewater State Park) See page 25 for special angling seasons 
within the boundaries of Whitewater State Park.
TROUT VALLEY CREEK (Winona) Brook trout: minimum size limit 12". Possession limit 1. 
Artificial lures and flies only.
TURTLE RIVER (Beltrami) See Turtle River chain of lakes.

VERMILION GORGE See Crane Lake.
VERMILLION RIVER upstream of Vermillion Falls in Hastings and all tributaries (Dakota) 
Brown trout: catch-and-release only. Rainbow trout: Regular statewide regulations 
apply. The Vermillion River open seasons are the same as those for Southeast Minnesota, 
see Streams—Southeast Minnesota on page 25 for details.

WABANICA RIVER mouth upstream to State Highway 172 bridge (Lake of the Woods) 
Northern pike, lake sturgeon, sauger, and walleye: see Lake of the Woods, pages 60-61.
WARROAD RIVER mouth upstream to Warroad City Beach (Roseau) Northern pike, lake 
sturgeon, sauger, and walleye: see Lake of the Woods, pages 60-61.
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How DNR Spends a License Dollar

Your License Dollars at Work
License dollars improve fishing, hunting, wildlife and habitat to 

maintain and create outdoor recreation opportunities

To learn more visit:
mndnr.gov/LicenseDollarsAtWork

› Fisheries - 33.9 cents
› Wildlife - 32.1 cents
› Conservation o�cers - 21.6 cents
› Clean water - 4.7 cents
› Licensing - 3.5 cents
› Boat ramps and accesses - 2.7 cents
› Sustainable forests - 1.5 cents

FAW_0038_23

WATSON SAG (Chippewa) See Lac qui Parle Lake.
WEST INDIAN CREEK (Wabasha) Trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released 
from the upstream Wabasha County Road 4 crossing to the source.
WEST SAVANNA RIVER (Aitkin) See Big Sandy Lake.
WHITEWATER RIVER, Middle Branch (Winona and Olmsted) Trout: catch-and-release 
on a 9.2-mile posted section from the group camp in Whitewater State Park upstream 
to the source. Artificial lures and flies only. See page 25 for special angling seasons 
within the boundaries of Whitewater State Park.
WHITEWATER RIVER, North Branch (Wabasha, Olmsted and Winona) Trout: all from 
12-16" must be immediately released on a 12.1 mile posted section from Township Road 
29 upstream to County Road 4. Artificial lures and flies only.
WINTER ROAD RIVER mouth upstream to State Highway 172 bridge (Lake of the 
Woods) Northern pike, lake sturgeon, sauger, and walleye: see Lake of the Woods, 
pages 60-61.
WISEL CREEK (Fillmore) Trout: all from 12-16" must be immediately released on the 
entire stream.

ZUMBRO RIVER, NORTH FORK (Goodhue and Wabasha) Trout: catch-and-release on 
an 11.9 mile posted section from the Zumbro River, Main Branch upstream to Highway 10.
ZUMBRO RIVER (Wabasha) Smallmouth bass: catch-and-release along a 12-mile posted 
section from Highway 63 at Zumbro Falls upstream to the Zumbro Lake Dam.
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BORDER WATERS
This section covers Minnesota’s border waters with Wisconsin, Iowa, North Dakota, and 
South Dakota, as well as the Canadian provinces of Ontario and Manitoba. It does not 
include the waters of Lake Superior, which are not covered under border water rules. 
More details can be found on pages 26-28 for Lake Superior. All calendar dates refer to 
2024 unless noted otherwise.

LICENSING
What license do I need to fish border waters?

• Minnesota residents must have a Minnesota license.
• Residents of a state bordering that water must have their state’s license.
• Other nonresidents may purchase a Minnesota or the bordering state’s 

nonresident license.

Can I fish anywhere on the border waters with a Minnesota license?
• In Canadian border waters, Minnesota residents or nonresidents fishing with a 

Minnesota nonresident license, may only fish the Minnesota portion of the Canadian 
border waters. To fish the Canadian portion, you must have a Canadian license and 
may need a Remote Access Border Crossing Permit.

• In other border waters, Minnesota residents or nonresidents fishing with a 
Minnesota nonresident license, may fish throughout the defined waters bordering 
the 2 states.

What if I don’t see a particular regulation listed in this section?
Unless otherwise noted, all general regulations relating to angling methods, licensing, 
season, limits, fish possession and transportation apply to border waters (pages 29-36). 
Also, all fish must be within length limits regardless of where they were caught (more 
details can be found on page 32-33). Please check the Experimental and Special 
Regulations section (pages 37-56) for different regulations that may apply.

If fishing regulations differ between the border states, what regulations 
do I follow?
You must obey the regulations of the state in which you are fishing. More permissive 
regulations are limited to that state’s waters.

Can I launch my boat or transport my catch back home from the adjacent state’s 
boat launch?
Yes, you can launch your boat and transport your catch by the most direct route back 
to the state that you are licensed.

Do bowfishing regulations allowed for inland waters apply to border waters?
The bowfishing regulations covered on page 69 are only allowed on Minnesota’s 
portion of the border waters. If the bordering state’s bowfishing regulations are the 
same, bowfishers may take legal fish shore to shore under a Minnesota license.
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LAKE STURGEON TAGS
Lake sturgeon tags and mail-in registration cards are required for anyone who wishes to 
harvest and possess a lake sturgeon. However, a tag is not required to catch and release 
lake sturgeon.

The following requirements apply:
• An angler may take and possess only 1 lake sturgeon per calendar year.
• Lake sturgeon may not be possessed or transported without a tag.
• Validate and attach the tag immediately upon reducing the fish to possession.
• Tag must be attached to the narrow portion of the body in front of the tail fin.
• Tags must be attached so that they cannot be easily removed.
• Tags are not transferable and no duplicate tags will be issued.
• Registration cards must be completed and mailed within 48 hours after harvesting a 

fish. Send to: Regional Fisheries, 2115 Birchmont Beach Road NE, Bemidji, MN 56601.
• Lake sturgeon must be transported intact (gills and internal organs may be removed).
• Members of a fishing party may not take sturgeon for other anglers’ limits; party 

fishing is not allowed for sturgeon.

CANADA–MINNESOTA
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the Minnesota  portions of the 
following waters. Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted.

Cook County: Clove Lake, Devils Elbow Lake, North Fowl Lake, South Fowl Lake, 
Gneiss (Round) Lake, Granite Lake, Granite River, Gun flint Lake, Little Gunflint Lake, 
Lily Lake (Fan, Vaseux), Mag net ic Lake, Marabaeuf Lake, Moose Lake, Mountain Lake, 
North Lake, Little North Lake, Pigeon River, Pine River, Rat Lake, Rose Lake, Rove Lake, 
Saganaga Lake, South Lake, and Watap Lake.

Koochiching and Lake of the Woods counties: Rainy River.

Koochiching and St. Louis counties: Rainy Lake (including Black Bay).

Lake County: Basswood Lake (except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist, and Back Bays, which 
are considered inland waters), Bass wood River, Birch Lake, Carp Lake, Cypress Lake, 
Knife Lake (except South Arm), Little Knife Lake, Knife River, Melon Lake, Seed Lake, 
Sucker Lake, and Swamp Lake.

Lake and St. Louis counties: Crooked Lake.

Lake of the Woods and Roseau counties: Lake of the Woods.

St. Louis County: Bottle Lake, Iron Lake, Lac La Croix, Loon Lake, Loon River to 
Loon River Falls, Namakan Lake, Sand Point Lake, and Little Vermilion Lake.

Canada–Minnesota Regulations
• 1 line per angler is allowed, except 2 lines may be used when ice fishing.
• Parts of Saganaga, Little Gunflint, and Little North lakes are closed to fishing 

in May. For current dates, call Grand Marais Area Office: 218-387-6021.
• While in Minnesota, anglers may not possess more than a Minnesota limit of fish 

from Canada–Minnesota border waters. Fish from  Canadian inland waters may 
be pos sessed in Min ne so ta in excess of the Min ne so ta limit only if the angler has 
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Canada–Minnesota Seasons and Limits
SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye and sauger May 13, 2023 - 
April 14, 2024

May 11, 2024 - 
April 14, 2025

6 combined total (not more than 1 over 20" 
in possession).

Walleye and sauger

EXCEPTION: 
Lake of the Woods

March 1 - April 14 
each year

May 11, 2024 - 
April 14, 2025

6 (not more than 4 can be walleye; only 
1 walleye over 28"; walleye 19½-28" must 
be immediately released).

Walleye and sauger

EXCEPTION: 
Four Mile Bay 
(Southeast bay of Lake 
of the Woods)

March 1 - April 14 
each year

Catch-and-release only.

May 11, 2024 - 
Feb. 28, 2025

6 (not more than 4 can be walleye; only 
1 walleye over 28"; walleye 19½-28" must 
be immediately released).

Walleye and sauger

EXCEPTION: 
Namakan, Sand Point 
and Little Vermilion

May 13, 2023 - 
April 14, 2024

May 11, 2024 - 
April 14, 2025

6 (not more than 4 can be walleye; walleye 
from 18-26" must be immediately released; 
only 1 walleye over 26").

Walleye and sauger

EXCEPTION: 
Rainy Lake

May 13, 2023 - 
April 14, 2024

May 11, 2024 - 
April 14, 2025

8 (not more than 4 can be walleye; walleye 
from 18-26" must be immediately released; 
only 1 walleye over 26").

Walleye and sauger

EXCEPTION: 
Rainy River (Mouth 
to the dam at 
International Falls)

March 1 - April 14 
each year

Catch-and-release only.

May 11, 2024 - 
Feb. 28, 2025

6 (not more than 4 can be walleye; only 
1 walleye over 28"; walleye 19½-28" must 
be immediately released).

proof—such as lodging receipts or verification through U.S. Cus toms—that the fish 
were taken from inland Ca na di an waters.

• A person cannot possess or use a gaff while fishing on the Rainy River.
• Sauger without head and tail intact will be counted as walleye.
• Bowfishing (Minnesota’s portion of the waters only) see page 69.
• Dark houses, fish houses and shelters, see pages 71-75.
• Dark house spearing season November 15, 2024 - Feb. 23, 2025. Canada–

Minnesota border water possession limits apply.
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Canada–Minnesota Seasons and Limits continued
SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
Walleye and sauger

EXCEPTION: Saganaga Lake

May 11, 2024 - 
April 14, 2025

3 (17" minimum size limit. Only 1 
walleye over 20").

Northern pike Continuous 3 (only 1 over 30" in possession).
Northern pike

EXCEPTION: Lake of the 
Woods and Rainy River to the 
dam at International Falls

Continuous 3 (All from 30-40" must be 
immediately released. Only 1 over 
40" allowed in possession.)

Northern pike

EXCEPTION: Basswood Lake 
(includes Jackfish, Pipestone, 
Hoist, and Back bays)

May 11, 2024 - 
Feb. 28, 2025

3 (All northern pike from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. 
Only 1 over 36" allowed in 
possession.)

Muskellunge June 15 - Nov. 30  1 (minimum size 50").
Largemouth and 
smallmouth bass

Continuous 6 combined total

Lake sturgeon
Immediately validate and attach 
your sturgeon tag. Register 
your sturgeon within 48 hours. 
(See page 59.)

April 24 - May 7 1 per calendar year (fish must be 
45-50" inclusive, or over 75").

May 8 - 15 Catch-and-release only.
No tag needed.

Closed: May 16 - 
June 30

Closed

July 1 - Sept. 30 1 per calendar year (fish must be 
45-50" inclusive, or over 75").

Oct 1 - April 23 of 
following year

Catch-and-release only.
No tag needed.

Crappie Continuous 10
Lake trout (SUMMER) May 11 - Sept. 30 2

Lake trout (WINTER)
Lakes outside or partly outside 
the BWCAW. 

2024 Season: 
Jan. 13 - March 31

2025 Season: 
Jan. 18 - March 31

2

Lakes entirely within the 
BWCAW.

2024 Season: 
Dec. 30, 2023 - 
March 31, 2024

2025 Season: 
Jan. 1 - March 31

2

Stream trout May 4 - Sept. 30 5 (not more than 3 over 16").
All other species Continuous In land limits apply.
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IOWA–MINNESOTA
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters:

• Jackson County: Little Spirit Lake.
• Jackson and Nobles counties: Iowa Lake.
• Martin County: Okamanpeedan (Tuttle), Iowa, and Swag lakes.

Daily and pos ses sion limits are the same. All species not listed are covered by the inland 
regulations of the state where taken.

Iowa–Minnesota Regulations
• Anglers may use up to 2 lines with 2 hooks per line.
• Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful.
• Spearing may be used anytime to take carp, buffalo, freshwater drum, bowfin, gar, 

or quillback.
• Spearing game fish is unlawful.
• Bowfishing regulations, page 69.
• Dark house spearing, ice angling, and ice shelter regulations, pages 71-75.

Iowa–Minnesota Seasons and Limits
SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye Continuous 3 

Northern pike Continuous 3

Largemouth and smallmouth bass Continuous 3 combined total

Muskellunge May 21 - Nov. 30 1 (minimum size 40")

Catfish Continuous 8 combined total

Sunfish 

(bluegill, crappie, pumpkinseed, 
green, orangespotted, northern, 
warmouth, and their hybrids)

Continuous 25 combined total

Perch Continuous 25 

White bass and yellow bass Continuous No limit

Bullhead Continuous No limit 

Carp, sucker, redhorse, 
freshwater drum, buffalo, 
burbot, bowfin, and quillback

Continuous No limit 

Gar Continuous 10
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NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA
Seasons and regulations apply to the Bois de Sioux River and the Red River of the 
North. Daily and pos ses sion limits are the same. All species not listed are covered by 
the inland reg u la tions of the state where taken.

North Dakota–Minnesota Regulations
• Anglers may use 2 lines with up to 2 hooks per line.
• Dark house spearing is legal; however, catfish may not be speared at any time. 

Other rules regarding dark house spearing, ice angling, and ice shelters can be 
found on pages 71-75.

• It is unlawful to possess a spear, spring gaff or bow and arrow on or adjacent to any 
water body where the spearing and archery season is closed.

• Carp, buffalo, freshwater drum, suckers, redhorse, bowfin, and gar may be taken by 
spearing between sunrise and sunset from May 1 through December 31.

• The bowfishing regulations on page 69 are allowed only on Minnesota’s portion of 
the border waters when they differ from those of the border state. If the bow-
fishing regulations are the same, then they may be exercised from shore to shore.

• Culling is not allowed. However, at the end of your fishing day you may release live 
fish before leaving the water.

• Anglers fishing from the North Dakota shoreline must possess a North Dakota 
fishing license.

North Dakota–Minnesota Seasons and Limits
SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
Walleye and sauger Continuous 3 combined total

Northern pike Continuous 3 

Sunfish 

(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, 
orangespotted, northern, 
warmouth, and their hybrids)

Continuous 30

Perch Continuous 50
Crappie Continuous 30

Largemouth and smallmouth bass Continuous 3 combined total
Lake sturgeon March 1 - April 14 Catch-and-release only

April 15 - June 15 Closed
June 16, 2024 - 
April 14, 2025

Catch-and-release only

Muskellunge Continuous 1 (minimum size 50")
Rock bass Continuous 20
Bullhead Continuous 100

Catfish Continuous 5 (only 1 over 24")
Carp, sucker, redhorse, freshwater 
drum, buffalo, burbot, bowfin, 
and white bass

Continuous No limit

Gar Continuous 10
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SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters:

• Big Stone County: Big Stone Lake.
• Lincoln County: Hendricks Lake.
• Traverse County: Lake Traverse, Mud Lake, Bois de Sioux River to North Dakota 

border, and Mustinka River from the mouth to the Minnesota State Highway 117 
bridge.

Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. All species not listed 
are covered by the inland reg u la tions of the state where taken.

South Dakota–Minnesota Regulations
• Anglers may use 2 lines with up to 3 hooks per line.
• Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful.
• Carp, buffalo, freshwater drum, suckers, redhorse, bowfin, burbot, and gar may be 

taken by spearing from sunrise to sunset from May 1, 2024 through February 28, 
2025.

• The bowfishing regulations on page 69 are allowed only on Minnesota’s portion of 
the border waters when they differ from those of South Dakota. If the bowfishing 
regulations are the same, then they may be exercised from shore to shore.

• It is unlawful to possess a spear, spring gaff, or bow and arrow on or adjacent to any 
body of water where the spearing and archery season is closed.

• Spearing game fish is unlawful except northern pike (season and limit in table 
below) and catfish may be speared from a dark house. For other rules regarding 
dark house spearing, ice angling, and ice shelters see pages 71-75.

• Catfish may not be taken by spearing anytime on the Bois De Sioux River from 
White Rock Dam to the North Dakota border.

• Culling is not allowed on the Bois de Sioux River from the White Rock Dam to the 
North Dakota border. However, at the end of your fishing day you may release live 
fish before leaving the water.

South Dakota–Minnesota Seasons and Limits
SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye and sauger Continuous 4 combined total 
(only 1 walleye over 20") 

Northern pike angling Continuous 6

Northern pike spearing Nov. 15, 2024 - Feb. 23, 2025 3

Largemouth and 
smallmouth bass

Continuous 6 combined total

Crappie Continuous 10 

Sunfish 

(bluegill, pumpkinseed, 
green, orangespotted, 
northern, warmouth, 
and their hybrids)

Continuous 10 combined total

Rock bass Continuous 20 
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SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Bullhead Continuous 100 

Perch Continuous 15 daily and 30 in possession 

Catfish 

(channel and flathead)

Channel catfish: continuous

Flathead catfish: April 1 - 
Nov. 30

5 combined total. No more 
than 2 can be flathead (only 1 
catfish over 24").

Lake sturgeon March 1 - April 14 Catch-and-release only

April 15 - June 15 Closed

June 16, 2024 - April 14, 2025 Catch-and-release only

Carp, sucker, redhorse, 
freshwater drum, 
buffalo, burbot, bowfin, 
and white bass

Continuous No limit

Gar Continuous 10

South Dakota–Minnesota Seasons and Limits continued

Aquatic Plant Permit Requirements
Water plants such as bulrushes are essential for healthy lake ecosystems. They 
reduce wave erosion, provide fish and wildlife habitat, and purify water. Because 
lake plants can interfere with swimming and boating by lakeshore owners—but are 
also vital to lake health—the DNR allows removal under the following conditions.

DNR permit is NOT required to cut or pull submersed (underwater) plants as long as: 
• The area does not extend along more than 50 feet of your shoreline or 

one-half the length of your frontage, whichever is less;
• The total area is less than 2,500 square feet (except for boat channels); and
• The plants are immediately and permanently disposed of on high ground 

where they can’t re-enter the water.

DNR permit IS required to:
• Remove emergent plants (such as bulrushes, cattails, and wild rice).
• Use herbicides or algicides in Minnesota lakes.
• Install or use an automated device such as the Crary WeedRoller®

• Remove water lilies (other than in a narrow channel extending to open water).
• Remove plants in an area larger than 2,500 square feet or wider than 50 feet.

A person who illegally destroys plants can be cited and made to pay for the 
restoration of those plants.

For more information, call your regional DNR office (page 90) or visit our website 
at mndnr.gov/apm/aquatic-plant-management-permits. 

http://mndnr.gov/apm/aquatic-plant-management-permits.html
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Continued on next page

WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following  waters: Mississippi River 
(downstream of the Highway 10 bridge in Prescott, Wisconsin and all waters between 
the Burlington Northern [Wisconsin] and Canadian Pacific [Minnesota] railroad tracks). 
Lake Pepin, St. Croix River, Lake St. Croix and St. Louis River Estuary.

Daily and possession limits are the same. All species not listed are covered by the inland 
regulations of the state where a fish is taken.

Wisconsin–Minnesota Regulations
• 2 lines with a single lure or bait on each are permitted. If fishing with 1 line, you may 

use 2 baits.
• Fish hooked in any part of the body, except the mouth, must be returned to the 

water immediately.
• Anglers must be within 400 feet of their tip-ups.
• Rough fish may be taken by spearing and dip-netting between sunrise and sunset 

from May 4, 2024 - March 1, 2025. Dip net hoops cannot exceed 24" in diameter.
• Spearing game fish is prohibited. It is unlawful to have a spear on or adjacent to any 

body of water where the spearing season is closed.
• Dark house spearing, ice angling, and ice shelter regulations, pages 71-75.
• The bowfishing regulations on page 69 are allowed only on Minnesota’s portion 

of the border waters when they differ from those of Wisconsin. If the bowfishing 
regulations are the same, then they may be exercised from shore to shore.

• Fish sanctuaries, no fishing allowed:
 › Mississippi River: no fishing allowed within 300 feet below Lock and Dam 3 

(near Red Wing) and Lock and Dam 4 (Alma, Wisconsin) from March 1 - April 30.
 › St. Croix River: no fishing from Taylors Falls (St. Croix Falls) dam to 50 feet 

downstream from the pier in center of river.
 › St. Louis River Estuary: no fishing allowed at any time from the Fond du Lac 

Dam downstream to the Minnesota–Wisconsin boundary cable. No fishing 
allowed from the boundary cable downstream to the Highway 23 bridge from 
March 1 - May 18.

Wisconsin–Minnesota Seasons and Limits
SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
Walleye and sauger
St. Louis River Estuary

May 11, 2024 - 
March 1, 2025

2 combined total (15" min i mum 
size for walleye)

Walleye and sauger 
St. Croix River

May 4, 2024 - 
March 1, 2025

6 combined total (15" minimum 
size for walleye)

Walleye and sauger
Mississippi River, border water 
portion of Pool 3 and Pools 4-8 
including Lake Pepin

Continuous 4 combined total (15" minimum 
size for walleye, only 1 walleye 
or sauger over 20")
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Wisconsin–Minnesota Seasons and Limits continued

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye and sauger continued

Mississippi River downstream of 
Lock and Dam 8

Continuous 6 combined total (15" minimum 
size for walleye, all walleye from 
20-27" must be immediately 
released, only 1 walleye over 27")

Largemouth and smallmouth bass
St. Louis River Estuary

May 25, 2024 - 
March 1, 2025

5 combined total 
(14" minimum size) 

Largemouth and smallmouth bass 
St. Croix River upstream 
of Taylors Falls Dam

May 25 - Sept. 8 5 (14" minimum size)

Sept. 9 - March 1, 
2025

Catch-and-release only

Largemouth and smallmouth bass 
St. Croix River downstream 
of Taylors Falls Dam to 
U.S. Hwy. 10 Bridge

May 25, 2024 - 
March 1, 2025

5 (14" minimum size)

Largemouth and smallmouth bass 
Mississippi River and Lake Pepin

Continuous 5 (14" minimum size)

Northern pike
St. Louis River Estuary

May 11, 2024 - 
March 1, 2025

2

St. Croix River May 4, 2024 - 
March 1, 2025

5

Mississippi River and Lake Pepin Continuous 3 (only 1 over 30")

Muskellunge May 25 - Nov. 30 1 (50" minimum size)

Perch

Mississippi River and Lake Pepin Continuous 15

St. Louis River Estuary and 
St. Croix River

Continuous 25

Catfish (channel and flathead)

Mississippi River and Lake Pepin 

Channel catfish: 
continuous

Flathead catfish:
April 1 - Nov. 30

10 combined total 
(only 1 catfish over 30")

St. Louis River Estuary and 
St. Croix River

Channel catfish: 
continuous

Flathead catfish:
April 1 - Nov. 30

10 combined total

Rough fish (not including gar) Continuous No limit

Bullhead Continuous No limit

Gar Continuous 10

White bass and yellow bass

Mississippi River and Lake Pepin Continuous 10 combined total

Continued on next page
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Wisconsin–Minnesota Seasons and Limits continued

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
White bass and yellow bass
St. Louis River Estuary and 
St. Croix River

Continuous 25 combined total

Crappie
Mississippi River and Lake Pepin Continuous 15
Crappie
St. Louis River Estuary and 
St. Croix

Continuous 25

Rock bass Continuous 25

Sunfish 
(bluegill, pumpkinseed,
green, orangespotted, northern, 
warmouth, and their hybrids)

Mississippi River and Lake Pepin Continuous 15
Sunfish
St. Louis River Estuary and 
St. Croix

Continuous 25

Paddlefish No open season

Lake sturgeon
St. Louis River Estuary and the 
Mississippi River below the Red 
Wing dam and Lake Pepin

March 1 - April 14

June 16, 2024 - 
April 14, 2025

Catch-and-release only; 
no tag needed.

Lake sturgeon
Mississippi River above the Red 
Wing dam to the mouth of the 
St. Croix River

June 16, 2024 - 
March 1, 2025

Catch-and-release only; 
no tag needed.

Lake sturgeon
St. Croix River above Taylors Falls

June 16, 2024 - 
March 1, 2025

Catch-and-release only; 
no tag needed.

Lake sturgeon
St. Croix River below Taylors Falls 
to mouth including Lake St. Croix

June 16 - Sept. 1 Catch-and-release only; 
no tag needed.

Sept. 7 - 30 1 per calendar year (60" minimum 
size). A sturgeon tag is needed to 
harvest a lake sturgeon. Details 
on page 59.

Oct. 1, 2024 - 
March 1, 2025

Catch-and-release only; 
no tag needed.

Shovelnose sturgeon 
St. Croix River including Lake 
St. Croix and Mississippi River 
above Red Wing dam

June 16, 2024 - 
March 1, 2025

Catch-and-release only

Shovelnose sturgeon 
Mississippi River below 
Red Wing dam

Continuous 3
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Seasons and Limits
SPECIES SEASONS (DAY AND NIGHT) POSSESSION LIMIT

Bullhead 100

Sucker and 
redhorse

50 each

Carp, buffalo, 
freshwater 
drum, bowfin, 
goldeye

No limit

Gar 10

Can I fish with a bow and arrow?
You can bowfish for rough fish over open water or through the ice in a fish house or 
shelter, day or night, with or without lights, during the open season.

• You need a fishing license if you’re 16 or older unless you qualify for an angling 
license exclusion.

• Arrows must have a barb and be attached to the bow with a tethered line.
• To possess a bow, you need to follow local ordinances. You can use a bow while 

taking rough fish from a watercraft with or without a motor.
• From sunset to sunrise you cannot discharge a bow within 300 feet of a campsite or 

within 150 feet of an occupied structure.
• You cannot make more than 65 decibels of noise on the “A” scale measured at a 

distance of 50 feet from the boat.
• If you shoot a fish you have to try to retrieve the fish and your arrow.
• You can’t shoot a fish and throw it back in the water, leave it on any bank of any 

waterway or any access site or otherwise illegally dispose of the fish.
• You can’t bowfish in designated trout lakes and streams nor in posted spawning areas.

Can I fish with a crossbow?
Yes, you can use a crossbow for bowfishing.

What species may I take when bowfishing?
You may only bowfish for rough fish, which include carp, buffalo, sucker, redhorse, 
freshwater drum, bowfin, gar, goldeye and bullhead.

If I take fish by bowfishing can I also take fish by spearing, harpooning, 
dip netting or seining?
Yes, but you cannot exceed the daily limit for each species taken with any combination 
of bowfishing, spearing, harpooning, dip netting or seining equipment to reach the limit.

BOWFISHING, SPEARING, 
HARPOONING AND DIP NETTING
BOWFISHING

2024 Early Season: Feb. 26 - April 26, 2024

Regular Statewide: April 27, 2024 - Feb. 23, 2025

2025 Early Season: Feb. 24 - April 25, 2025

(Early Seasons are south of Hwy 210, only on 
lakes and on Minnesota, Mississippi, or St. Croix 
rivers. You must bowfish from a boat during the 
early season.)
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SPECIES SPEARING SEASON 
(SUNRISE TO SUNSET)

HARPOONING, DIP NET 
AND SEINE SEASON 
(SUNRISE TO SUNSET)

POSSESSION 
LIMIT

Sucker April 27, 2024 - 
Feb. 23, 2025

May 1, 2024 - 
Feb. 16, 2025

50

Bullhead April 27, 2024 - 
Feb. 16, 2025

May 1, 2024 - 
Feb. 16, 2025

100

Redhorse April 27, 2024 - 
Feb. 16, 2025

May 1, 2024 - 
Feb. 16, 2025

50

Carp, buffalo, 
freshwater 
drum, bowfin

April 27, 2024 - 
Feb. 16, 2025

May 1, 2024 - 
Feb. 16, 2025

No limit

Gar April 27, 2024 - 
Feb. 16, 2025

May 1, 2024 - 
Feb. 16, 2025

10

SPEARING, HARPOONING AND DIP NETS
Seasons and Limits

Can I spear, harpoon or dip net for rough fish? 
You can harpoon or dip net for rough fish from sunrise to sunset provided:

• You have a fishing license if you’re 16 or older unless you qualify for an angling 
license exclusion.

• Speared or dead fish are not returned to the water or left on the banks.

What equipment can I use for rough fish?
• You can only use spears, underwater harpoons, dip nets, seines used for taking 

smelt, traps used for taking minnows for bait or angling equipment and nets 
associated with angling.

• You can use any spear.
• You can use an underwater harpoon or spear that is discharged by a 

rubber-powered gun, spring gun or air gun and attached with a tethered line not 
more than 20 feet long and discharged only when the equipment and the operator 
are entirely under water.

• Harpoons may not be carried in a cocked position while out of the water.
• The hoops on hand-held dip nets cannot exceed 24" in diameter.
• During a closed season, you cannot possess spears, traps, dip nets, seines or 

harpoons on or near any waters.

Where can I spear, harpoon or dip net for fish?
• All inland waters except Baby Lake (Cass County) and where taking fish is prohibited.
• You cannot harpoon within 1,000 feet of swimming beach.
• You can’t spear, harpoon or dip net in a designated trout stream or trout lake.

Can I sell or buy rough fish?
Yes. All rough fish can be bought or sold.

Can I take a limit of fish for each method?
No. You cannot exceed the daily limit for each species taken with any combination of 
spearing, harpooning, dip netting or seining equipment to reach the limit. Fish taken by 
bowfishing also are included in this limit.
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DARK HOUSE SPEARING, 
ICE ANGLING AND ICE SHELTERS
DARK HOUSE SPEARING

Seasons and Limits
SPECIES SPEARING SEASON 

(SUNRISE TO SUNSET)
ZONES AND POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Northern 
pike
Angling 
limits differ, 
see page 21.

Nov. 15, 2024 - Feb. 
23, 2025 except 
where prohibited. 

See Zone Map on page 23. For border waters or 
special regulations, refer to those sections.

Northeast Zone: 2 (not more than 1 northern 
pike over 26")

North-central Zone: 10 (either 2 northern pike over 
26" and none from 22 to 26" or 
1 from 22 to 26" and 1 over 26")

Southern Zone: 2 (minimum size 24")
Catfish Nov. 15, 2024 - 

Feb. 23, 2025 except 
where prohibited. 

5 (only 1 over 24") (not more than 2 flathead); 
flathead catfish can only be speared from 
Nov. 15 - Nov. 30.

Whitefish Nov. 15, 2024 - 
Feb. 23, 2025 except 
where prohibited. 

No limit

What species of fish can I spear from a dark house?
Northern pike, catfish, and whitefish may be speared but only if using a darkhouse. 
Rough fish (including gar) may be speared in or outside of a darkhouse. See page 70 for 
rough fish spearing seasons as they differ.

What is a dark house?
Any structure that is darkened to view fish under the ice. Holes in the ice are cut inside 
these structures so fish can be speared. Please mark your holes upon leaving.

Do I need a license to spear from a dark house?
Residents age 18 through 89 and nonresidents age 18 and older need a spearing license 
and an angling license. Youth age 16 and 17 need an angling license but do not need a 
spearing license.

What methods can I use while spearing in a dark house?
• You may fish with 1 additional line but any fish caught must be landed immediately 

and not left out as a decoy.
• You cannot use artificial lights to see fish or attract fish when spearing.
• You can use lighted decoy fish but any battery in the lighted decoy must not 

contain mercury.
• You cannot drop material down the hole to provide a visual backdrop unless it can 

be retrieved at the end of your trip.

If more than 1 person is spearing in a dark house, how many fish can you spear?
Party fishing does not apply to spearing. Each person can only spear their own fish.



72 2024 Minnesota Fishing Regulations  888-MINNDNR

Where can I spear fish in a dark house?
Most inland waters. Only Baby Lake (Cass County) is closed to dark house spearing. 
Rough fish may not be taken while dark house spearing in designated trout lakes.  
For border waters, more details can be found on pages 58-68.

ICE ANGLING
How many lines can I use through the ice?
2, except on designated trout lakes and streams you can only use 1 line.

How far away can I go from my lines?
You must remain within sight of your line. If you’re using a tip-up (a device with spooled 
line and a flag that pops up to indicate when a fish bites) you need to be within 200 feet.

Does ice fishing have any other regulations that differ from open water fishing 
besides the number of lines I can use?
No, anglers must follow all general and special regulations.

ICE SHELTERS
What is a shelter?
A fish house, dark house, or other structure that is set on the ice to provide shelter.

What is a portable shelter?
A portable shelter is one that collapses, folds, or is disassembled for transportation. 
Portable shelters do not include trailer/campers with or without slide-outs.

Do I need a license for my fish house or dark house?
• All shelters, except portable shelters, placed on the ice in inland and Canadian 

border waters need a shelter license.
• However, portable shelters in inland and Canadian border waters need a license if 

a person leaves the portable shelter unattended any time between midnight and 1 
hour before sunrise, or is not within 200 feet of the portable shelter.

• The fish house license tag must be readily visible from the exterior of the shelter.
• A shelter license is not required on the border waters between Minnesota and 

Wisconsin, Iowa, North Dakota, and South Dakota.
• A shelter license is valid from March 1 through April 30 of the following year.

Do I need any kind of identification on my shelter?
All shelters need identification, except portable shelters that are occupied. Occupying 
a shelter means staying within 200 feet of it. Identification means:

• One of the following: owner’s name and address; owner’s driver’s license number; 
or owner’s Minnesota DNR identification number.

• Identification must be readily visible from the exterior of the shelter with 
characters at least 2" high.

Where can I place my shelter?
• Anywhere on Minnesota waters. Shelters must be no closer than 10 feet apart.
• In the BWCAW you can use a shelter but must remove it from the ice each night 

and each time you leave the BWCAW.
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Are there any regulations about shelters I must comply with?
Any shelters on the ice overnight must have at least 2 square inches of reflective 
material on each side.

Are there different shelter regulations for border waters for adjacent states?
If you are on border waters between Minnesota and Wisconsin, Iowa or North and 
South Dakota, the regulations for the state that issues your fishing license apply for 
your shelter.

Does the trailer I use to haul my fish house, fishing equipment or fish house on 
wheels need to be registered?
Yes. See your local deputy registrar for trailer registration.

Can I use a fish shelter after the removal date?
Yes. After removal dates, shelters may remain on the ice between midnight and 1 hour 
before sunrise only when occupied or attended.

What happens if I don’t remove my shelter before the deadline?
The owners of the shelter will be prosecuted, and the structure and contents may be 
confiscated or destroyed by a conservation officer.

Can I leave my shelter on a public access site after I take it off the ice?
No.
⁕⁕NEW—Can I place or leave any items, including fish, on the ice outside my 
shelter?
You can store non-garbage related items outside your shelter such as coolers, storage 
containers, food and beverages that haven't been consumed, and other supplies and 
equipment. However, garbage, debris, dead animals, human or pet waste, or any other 
item that would be considered litter if left behind, may not be placed outside a shelter 
directly on the ice. All garbage, waste, and dead fish must be placed in a container that 
is secured to a shelter or sled.

Shelter Removal Dates
All shelters must be off the ice no later 
than midnight for each of the dates 
given in the following categories below.

Inland Waters
Dates of removal are determined 
by an east-west line formed by U.S. 
Highway 10, east along Highway 34 to 
Minnesota Highway 200, east along 
Highway 200 to U.S. Highway 2, and 
east along Highway 2 to the Minnesota–
Wisconsin border.

Border Waters
• Minnesota–Iowa, February 20
• Minnesota–Wisconsin, March 1
• Minnesota–North and South Dakota, 

March 5
• Minnesota–Canada, March 31

Inland waters
March 4, 2024
March 3, 2025

Inland waters
March 18, 2024
March 17, 2025
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ILLUSTRATED FISH OF MINNESOTA

Walleye and Sauger

Walleye and sauger hybrid fillets are counted as part of a walleye possession limit 
during transportation.

Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass

Knowing what fish species you are catch ing is not only fun, but in many cases it’s 
required by law. It is par tic u lar ly im por tant to know how to distinguish walleye from 
sauger (and saugeye), to know the difference be tween north ern pike and muskellunge, 
and to be able to tell what spe cies of trout or salmon you catch.

Largemouth

Smallmouth

No spots on dorsal fin
Dark area at base of dorsal fin

White spot on 
bottom of tail

Maynard Reece

Sauger
Spots on dorsal fin

No dark area at base of dorsal fin

Duane Raver, USFWS

Walleye

Duane Raver, USFWS

Back of mouth goes way 
beyond back of eye

Back of mouth goes only 
to middle of eye

Duane Raver, USFWS
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Northern Pike and Muskellunge

Catfish
Flathead Catfish

Channel Catfish

Northern Pike (Esox lucius)
Coloration with pattern of 
horizontal rows of light round to 
oval spots on a dark background

Paired fins having 
more rounded tips

(Juvenile pattern has white, oblique bars 
which extend from the white belly)

Tail with more rounded tips

©MN DNR, 
C. Iverson

Five or fewer pores on 
each side under jaw

Tiger (hybrid) Muskellunge (Esox masquinongy X Esox lucius)
Coloration having irregular narrow vertical dark markings on a light 
background with stripes merging onto the back in an interlocking pattern

Tail with 
rounded tips

Paired fins having 
rounded tips

Muskellunge

Clear

Muskie illustrations 
courtesy of 
©Muskies Inc.

Paired fins having 
more pointed tips

Six or more pores on each 
side under jaw

Spotted

Tail with 
pointed tips

Barred
Coloration with vertical dark markings on a light background 
(Juvenile pattern similar to that of adults)

Square tail

Forked tail
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To tell a brook trout from a splake from a lake trout, look at the tail. 
A splake is a cross between a brook trout and a lake trout.

Trout and Salmon

Brown Trout
Large dark spots 
and red dots on 
brown body

Brook Trout

White 
leading edge 
on lower fins

Lake Trout
White spots on 
grayish body

White leading edge on lower fins

Steelhead
(Rainbow Trout)
Inside mouth 
is white

Square tail

Duane Raver, USFWS

Light, wormlike 
markings on dark 
upper body

Duane Raver, USFWS

Forked tail

©MN DNR, C. Iverson 

Usually a pink stripe on silvery body

Small spots 
throughout tail

10 rays in anal fin
Joseph Tomelleri

Small scales

Some eye-sized 
spots in tail and 
on back 

Tim Knepp, USFWS

Pink Salmon
Spawning male 
has hump on 
back. 

Green and white 
blotches on spawning fish 

Brook 
Trout

Splake
Lake 
Trout



79

Spots 
throughout 
tail

15-17 rays in anal fin
Joseph Tomelleri

Spots in top half 
of tail only

13-15 rays in anal fin
Tim Knepp, USFWS

Chinook Salm on
Inside mouth 
is dark 

Coho Salmon
Inside mouth 
is gray 

Rainbow Trout and Salmon Identification Guide

Rainbow trout: 
white mouth

Coho salmon and 
Chinook salmon: 
grayish to black mouth

Rainbow trout: tail has 
many small spots in 
distinct rows.

Coho salmon: tail has 
some large spots mostly 
on the upper half.

Chinook salmon: Tail has 
large spots throughout, 
especially in the silver 
area at the base of 
the tail.

The shape of the anal fin is another way to 
identify these species. This can easily be seen 
by depressing the front edge of the anal fin 
to its base.

Rainbow trout: tip falls to or beyond end of base

Coho salmon: tip falls slightly past middle

Chinook salmon: tip falls short of middle

anal fin

base

front edge

Rainbow Trout
Pinkish stripe 
on silvery body

Small black dots 
throughout the body 
that extend into tail

Duane Raver, USFWS
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How to Measure the Total Length of a Fish
To determine the legal length of a fish, lay it flat on its side, pinch or squeeze the 
tail to maximize length, and measure from the nose or jaw, whichever is longer, to 
the farthest part of the tail when fully extended.

Mouth closed 

Push tip 
of tail 
down

Sturgeon image by Maynard Reece

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12   13

Weigh Your Fish With a Ruler
Fish are sometimes injured when weighed. With this chart, you can quickly 
determine the approximate weight of your fish using a ruler or tape measure.

Crappie 
length 
(inches)

Crappie 
weight 
(lbs.)

 8 0.3
 9 0.4
10 0.6
11 0.8
12 1.1
13 1.4
14 1.8
15 2.2
16 2.7
17 3.3

Trout
length 
(inches)

Trout
weight 
(lbs.)

 8 0.2
 9 0.3
10 0.4
11 0.6
12 0.8
13 0.9
14 1.1
15 1.4
16 1.6
17 1.8
18 2.3

Bass
length
(inches)

Bass
weight
(lbs.)

12 1.0
13 1.3
14 1.7
15 2.1
16 2.5
17 3.0
18 3.6
19 4.2
20 5.0
21 5.7
22 6.6
23 7.6

Walleye
length
(inches)

Walleye
weight
(lbs.)

14 0.9
15 1.1
16 1.3
17 1.6
18 2
19 2.3
20 2.7
21 3.2
22 3.6
23 4.2
24 4.8
25 5.4
26 6.2
27 6.9
28 7.9

Northern 
length
(inches)

Northern 
weight
(lbs.) 

18 1.2
19 1.4
20 1.6
21 1.9
22 2.2
23 2.5
24 2.9 
25 3.3
26 3.8 
27 4.2 
28 4.7 
29 5.3 
30 5.8
31 6.5 
32 7.1 
33 7.9 
34 8.7 
35 9.3 
36 10.4 
37 11.5
38 12.2
39 13.2
40 16

Sunfish 
length 
(inches)

Sunfish 
weight 
(lbs.)

 6 0.2
 7 0.3
 8 0.4
 9 0.6
10 0.9
11 1.1
12 1.5
13 1.9
14 2.4

Muskie
length
(inches)

Muskie
weight
(lbs.)

48 29
49 32      
50 34
51 36 
52 39
53 41
54 44
55    47
56 50

These figures are 
rough estimates only. 
Actual weights vary slightly 
by season and waterbody.
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Boat and Water Safety
Everyone on your boat needs to have an accessible, U.S. Coast Guard-approved life 
vest of the proper size and type. In addition, if the boat is 16 feet or longer, there must 
also be an approved throwable device such as a boater’s seat cushion or ring buoy.

Children under the age of 10 must wear a life jacket on board any boat underway. 
Underway means not attached to a permanent mooring or tied to a dock. There are 
exceptions to the law for: children who are below the top deck, or in an enclosed 
cabin, or on a boat operated by a licensed captain, or on a boat that is anchored for the 
purpose of swimming or diving.

It’s always a good idea to wear your life jacket. Most fatal boating mishaps occur 
when boats capsize or people fall overboard, especially on small boats. These types of 
accidents can happen even on calm waters, while traveling at slow speed or stopped.

For a complete summary of the boating reg u la tions and safety information, contact the 
DNR Information Center for a copy of the Minnesota Boating Guide, or find it online 
at mndnr.gov/safety/boatwater. For rules per tain ing to the use of mo tor boats within 
Wild life  Management Areas, refer to the Minnesota Hunting and Trap ping  Regulations 
Handbook or call the DNR.

9 out of 10 boating deaths 
could be prevented 

by wearing a life jacket.

mndnr.gov/boatingsafety

http://www.mndnr.gov/safety/boatwater
http://www.mndnr.gov/boatingsafety
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Aquatic Management Areas
The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife acquires land along lakes and streams to protect 
critical fish habitat and to provide fishing opportunities. These areas, known as Aquatic 
Management Areas (AMAs), have specific use types (easement, restricted use and 
general use) and are posted with signs that indicate allowable and unauthorized uses 
for each use type. As a reminder it is always unlawful to leave any personal equipment, 
such as tree stands, unattended on AMAs. For more information on AMAs please go to 
the AMA Finder at: mndnr.gov/amas.

Catch-and-Release
Catch-and-release fishing offers anglers a way to enjoy their sport with less harm to 
the resource.

• Do not plan to release fish that have been on a stringer or in a livewell.
• Play and land the fish quickly.
• Don’t angle for fish in very deep water, unless you plan to keep what you catch. 

Fizzing of fish, or the act of inserting a needle into a fish intended to deflate the gas 
bladder, caught from deep water can do more harm than good and is not legal.

• Handle the fish gently and keep it in the water as much as possible.
• Do not hold the fish by the eye sockets or gills, but rather by the lower lip or under 

the gill plate and also support the belly of the fish.
• Wet your hands before touching a fish to prevent removing its protective coating.
• If a hook is deeply embedded, cut the line so that at least 1" hangs out of the mouth. 

This helps the hook to lay flush when the fish takes in food.
• Circle hooks may help in reducing deeply hooked fish. They are made to hook fish in 

the mouth.
• A fish that can be legally kept should not be released if it is bleeding heavily, which 

indicates its chance of survival is poor.
• You cannot target a species during its closed season, even if you plan to release it.

Managing Minnesota’s Fisheries
The DNR Fish and Wildlife Division is responsible for man ag ing the state’s diverse 
fisheries resources (4,500 fishable lakes and 16,000 miles of fishable streams). 
Each year, roughly 2 million people fish in Minnesota, and sport fishing generates 
approxi mate ly $6 billion in direct ex pen di tures, mak ing an gling one of the state’s 
largest industries.

Much of Minnesota’s fisheries program is reimbursed by the Federal Aid in Sport 
Fish Restoration Program (federal excise tax), ad min is tered by the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service.

Master Angler Program
The Fishing Hall of Fame of Minnesota in partnership with DNR recognizes anglers who 
catch large fish of various species. Categories include adult, youth, and catch-and-release.

For more information on becoming a Master Angler, visit the DNR website or
fishinghalloffamemn.com

Conservation Partners Legacy Grant Program
The program provides funding for projects to restore, enhance, and protect 
Minnesota’s fish, game, and wildlife habitat. See mndnr.gov/cpl for details.

http://mndnr.gov/amas
http://www.fishinghalloffamemn.com
http://mndnr.gov/cpl
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STATE RECORD FISH PROGRAM
State Record Fish Program Updates
Minnesota’s State Record Fish Program generates excitement among anglers, the 
public and the media! Updates have been made to the Certified Weight category, and 
the Catch and Release category. 

Certified Weight Category Updates
Prior to 1980, record submissions did not require certified weights. To fit with the 
standards of current submission requirements, records established prior to 1980 will be 
recognized as “Historical Records,” and new submissions will be accepted for:

• Smallmouth bass
• Brown bullhead
• Common carp
• Channel catfish

• Flathead catfish
• Black crappie
• Yellow perch
• Northern pike

• Bluegill
• Lake trout
• Walleye

New record submissions must meet minimum length requirements, and weight of 
catch must be certified.  Please see the certified weight record application instructions 
for more information.

More Catch and Release Category Species Available
With increasing numbers of anglers practicing catch-and-release, the DNR wants to 
provide more opportunities for you to score a state record! Catch and release records 
are no longer limited to muskie, northern pike, flathead catfish, and lake sturgeon. New 
record submissions will be accepted for:

• Largemouth bass
• Smallmouth bass
• Blue sucker
• Channel catfish
• Freshwater drum
• Shovelnose sturgeon

• Tiger muskie
• Bigmouth buffalo
• Lake trout
• Rainbow trout
• Smallmouth buffalo
• Brook trout

• Brown trout
• Longnose gar
• Shortnose gar
• Sauger
• Walleye
• Bowfin

Please see the catch and release record application instructions for minimum length 
requirements and more information.

How do I submit an application?
Complete rules for catch and release and certified weight record fish submissions and 
applications are available on the DNR website at mndnr.gov/recordfish. Record fish 
submissions must include photographs, and your catch must be witnessed by someone 
willing to vouch for the catch. Photographs must show the full length of the fish on or 
next to a clearly marked measuring device, with the snout of the fish on zero and the 
tail pinched. Harvested fish must be weighed on a certified scale (found at most bait 
shops and butcher shops). Species identification must be verified at a DNR Fisheries 
office. Locations are listed on the DNR website. DNR does not keep line class records. 
Any incomplete applications will not be accepted.

http://mndnr.gov/recordfish
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Catch and Release Records
The following is a complete list of Minnesota’s state record catch and release fish, 
including lake and county where they were caught. Lengths are listed in inches. New 
record submissions are being accepted for species listed below. New catch and release 
record submissions must meet minimum length requirements listed on the website at 
mndnr.gov/recordfish.

• Bass, Largemouth: Open record
• Bass, Smallmouth: Open record
• Bowfin: Open record
• Buffalo, Bigmouth: Open record
• Buffalo, Smallmouth: Open record
• Catfish, Channel: Open record
• Catfish, Flathead: 521⁄2", St. Croix 

River (Washington County)
• Drum, Freshwater (Sheepshead): 

Open record
• Gar, Shortnose: Open record
• Gar, Longnose: Open record
• Muskellunge: 58 1⁄4", Mille Lacs Lake 

(Mille Lacs County)

• Muskellunge, Tiger: Open record
• Northern Pike: 461⁄4", Basswood Lake 

(Lake County)
• Sauger: Open record
• Sturgeon, Lake: 78", St. Croix River 

(Washington County)
• Sturgeon, Shovelnose: Open record
• Sucker, Blue: Open record
• Trout, Brook: Open record
• Trout, Brown: Open record
• Trout, Lake: Open record
• Trout, Rainbow: Open record
• Walleye: Open record

Certified Weight Records
The following is a complete list of Minnesota’s state record certified weight fish and 
the county where they were caught. Weights given are in pounds and ounces  (example: 
55-5 is 55 pounds, 5 ounces). No additional species or hybrids are being considered 
for certified weight state record fish. New certified weight submissions must meet 
minimum length requirements listed on the website at mndnr.gov/recordfish. 

• Bass, Largemouth: 8-15, Auburn Lake 
(Carver).

• Bass, Rock: 2-0, Osakis Lake (Todd); 
and 2-0, Lake Winnibigoshish (Cass).

• Bass, Smallmouth: 8-0, West Battle 
Lake (Otter Tail). Historical record.

• Bass, White: 4-8, Vadnais Lake 
(Ramsey).

• Bowfin: 12-9, Mississippi River 
(Wabasha).

• Buffalo, Bigmouth: 41-11, Mississippi 
River (Goodhue).

• Buffalo, Smallmouth: 20-0, Big Sandy 
(Aitkin).

• Bullhead, Black: 3-13, Reno Lake 
(Pope).

• Bullhead, Brown: 7-1, Shallow Lake 
(Itasca). Historical record.

• Bullhead, Yellow: 3-10, Osakis Lake 
(Todd).

• Burbot: 19-10, Lake of the Woods 
(Lake of the Woods).

• Carp, Common: 55-5, Clearwater 
Lake (Wright). Historical record.

• Carpsucker, Quillback: 7-4, Upper 
Red Lake (Beltrami).

• Carpsucker, River: 4-6, Minnesota 
River (Carver).

• Catfish, Channel: 38-0, Mississippi 
River (Hennepin). Historical record.

• Catfish, Flathead: 70-0, St. Croix 
River (Washington). Historical record.

• Cisco (Tullibee): 5-13, Sybil Lake 
(Otter Tail).

• Crappie, Black: 5-0, Vermillion River 
(Dakota). Historical record.

http://mndnr.gov/recordfish
http://mndnr.gov/recordfish
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• Crappie, White: 3-15, Lake Constance 
(Wright).

• Drum, Freshwater (Sheepshead): 
35-3, Mississippi River (Winona).

• Gar, Longnose: 16-12, St. Croix River 
(Washington).

• Gar, Shortnose: 5-4, Minnesota River 
(Renville).

• Goldeye: 3-5, Minnesota River (Blue 
Earth).

• Hogsucker, Northern: 3-4, Mississippi 
River (Stearns).

• Mooneye: 1-15, Minnesota River 
(Redwood).

• Muskellunge: 55-14, Mille Lacs Lake 
(Mille Lacs).

• Muskellunge, Tiger: 34-12, Lake Elmo 
(Washington).

• Perch, Yellow: 3-4, Lake Plantagenet 
(Hubbard). Historical record.

• Pike, Northern: 45-12, Basswood Lake 
(Lake). Historical record.

• Redhorse, Golden: 4-8, Otter Tail 
River (Otter Tail).

• Redhorse, Greater: 12-11, Sauk River 
(Stearns).

• Redhorse, River: 12-10, Kettle River 
(Pine).

• Redhorse, Shorthead: 7-15, Rum River 
(Anoka).

• Redhorse, Silver: 10-6, Rainy River 
(Lake of the Woods).

• Salmon, Atlantic: 12-13, Baptism River 
(Lake).

• Salmon, Chinook: 33-4, Poplar River 
(Cook); and 33-4, Lake Superior (St. 
Louis).

• Salmon, Coho: 10-14, Lake Superior 
(St. Louis).

• Salmon, Kokanee: 2-15, Caribou Lake 
(Itasca).

• Salmon, Pink: 4-8, Cascade River 
(Cook).

• Sauger: 6-2, Mississippi River 
(Goodhue).

• Saugeye (Walleye-Sauger Hybrid): 
9-13, Mississippi River (Goodhue).

• Sturgeon, Lake: 94-4, Kettle River 
(Pine).

• Sturgeon, Shovelnose: 6-7, Mississippi 
River (Goodhue).

• Sucker, Longnose: 3-10, Brule River 
(Cook).

• Sucker, White: 9-1, Big Fish Lake 
(Stearns).

• Sunfish, Bluegill: 2-13, Alice Lake 
(Hubbard). Historical record.

• Sunfish, Green: 1-4, North Arbor Lake 
(Hennepin).

• Sunfish, Hybrid: 1-12, Zumbro River 
(Olmsted); and 1-12, Green Lake 
(Kandiyohi).

• Sunfish, Pumpkinseed: 1-5, Leech 
Lake (Cass).

• Trout, Brook: 6-5, Pigeon River 
(Cook).

• Trout, Brown: 16-12, Lake Superior (St. 
Louis).

• Trout, Lake: 43-8, Lake Superior 
(Cook). Historical record.

• Trout, Rainbow (Steelhead): 16-6, 
Devil Track River (Cook).

• Trout, Splake: 13-5, Larson Lake 
(Itasca).

• Trout, Tiger: 2-9, Mill Creek 
(Olmsted).

• Walleye: 17-8, Seagull River (Cook). 
Historical record.

• Warmouth: 0-9, Bartlet Lake 
(Winona).

• Whitefish, Lake: 13-9, Lake of the 
Woods (Roseau).

• Whitefish, Round (Menominee): 2-7, 
Lake Superior (Cook).
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SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE
The following table is provided primarily for trout and salmon anglers who need to know 
the sunrise and sunset times on the waters they fish. Times shown are approximations 
of sunrise and sunset and vary by where you are located. Times shown are Central 
Daylight Saving Time beginning March 12, 2024 through November 4, 2024. Central 
Standard Time for all other dates.

Sunrise/Sunset Table—March 2024 though August 2024
DATE MAR.

SUN-
RISE

MAR.
SUN-
SET

APR.
SUN-
RISE

APR.
SUN-
SET

MAY
SUN-
RISE

MAY
SUN-
SET

JUNE
SUN-
RISE

JUNE
SUN-
SET

JULY
SUN-
RISE

JULY
SUN-
SET

AUG.
SUN-
RISE

AUG.
SUN-
SET

1 6:50 6:00 6:55 7:41 6:03 8:18 5:30 8:52 5:30 9:04 5:58 8:40

2 6:49 6:02 6:53 7:42 6:02 8:20 5:29 8:53 5:31 9:03 5:59 8:39

3 6:47 6:03 6:51 7:43 6:00 8:21 5:29 8:54 5:31 9:03 6:00 8:38

4 6:45 6:04 6:49 7:44 5:59 8:22 5:28 8:55 5:32 9:03 6:01 8:36

5 6:43 6:06 6:47 7:46 5:57 8:23 5:28 8:56 5:32 9:02 6:03 8:35

6 6:41 6:07 6:45 7:47 5:56 8:24 5:28 8:56 5:33 9:02 6:04 8:34

7 6:40 6:08 6:43 7:48 5:55 8:26 5:27 8:57 5:34 9:02 6:05 8:32

8 6:38 6:10 6:42 7:49 5:53 8:27 5:27 8:58 5:35 9:01 6:06 8:31

9 6:36 6:12 6:40 7:51 5:52 8:28 5:27 8:58 5:35 9:01 6:07 8:29

10 7:34 7:13 6:38 7:52 5:51 8:29 5:26 8:59 5:36 9:00 6:08 8:28

11 7:32 7:14 6:36 7:53 5:49 8:30 5:26 8:59 5:37 9:00 6:10 8:26

12 7:31 7:15 6:34 7:54 5:48 8:32 5:26 9:00 5:38 8:59 6:11 8:25

13 7:28 6:14 6:33 7:56 5:47 8:33 5:26 9:01 5:39 8:59 6:12 8:23

14 7:27 7:18 6:31 7:57 5:46 8:34 5:26 9:01 5:39 8:58 6:13 8:22

15 7:25 7:19 6:29 7:58 5:45 8:35 5:26 9:01 5:40 8:57 6:14 8:20

16 7:24 7:20 6:27 7:59 5:43 8:36 5:26 9:02 5:41 8:56 6:16 8:18

17 7:23 7:21 6:26 8:01 5:42 8:37 5:26 9:02 5:42 8:56 6:17 8:17

18 7:21 7:23 6:24 8:02 5:41 8:38 5:26 9:03 5:43 8:55 6:18 8:15

19 7:19 7:24 6:22 8:03 5:40 8:40 5:26 9:03 5:44 8:54 6:19 8:14

20 7:17 7:25 6:21 8:05 5:39 8:41 5:26 9:03 5:45 8:53 6:20 8:12

21 7:15 7:27 6:19 8:06 5:38 8:42 5:26 9:03 5:46 8:52 6:22 8:10

22 7:13 7:28 6:17 8:07 5:37 8:43 5:27 9:04 5:47 8:51 6:23 8:09

23 7:11 7:29 6:16 8:08 5:36 8:44 5:27 9:04 5:48 8:50 6:24 8:07

24 7:10 7:30 6:14 8:10 5:36 8:45 5:27 9:04 5:49 8:49 6:25 8:05

25 7:08 7:32 6:12 8:11 5:35 8:46 5:27 9:04 5:50 8:48 6:26 8:03

26 7:06 7:33 6:11 8:12 5:34 8:47 5:28 9:04 5:51 8:47 6:28 8:02

27 7:04 7:34 6:09 8:13 5:33 8:48 5:28 9:04 5:52 8:46 6:29 8:00

28 7:02 7:35 6:08 8:15 5:32 8:49 5:29 9:04 5:54 8:45 6:30 7:58

29 7:00 7:37 6:06 8:16 5:32 8:50 5:29 9:04 5:55 8:44 6:31 7:56

30 6:58 7:38 6:05 8:17 5:31 8:51 5:30 9:04 5:56 8:43 6:32 7:55

31 6:56 7:39 No data No data 5:30 8:52 No data No data 5:57 8:41 6:33 7:53
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The times in the table below 
are for the longitudinal line 
running north and south through 
Minneapolis/St. Paul.
To find the sunrise or sunset 
hours on the water you fish, go to 
mndnr.gov/sunrise-sunset/

Sunrise/Sunset Table—September 2024 though February 2025
DATE SEPT.

SUN-
RISE

SEPT.
SUN-
SET

OCT.
SUN-
RISE

OCT.
SUN-
SET

NOV.
SUN-
RISE

NOV.
SUN-
SET

DEC.
SUN-
RISE

DEC.
SUN-
SET

JAN.
SUN-
RISE

JAN.
SUN-
SET

FEB.
SUN-
RISE

FEB.
SUN-
SET

1 6:35 7:51 7:11 6:54 7:52 6:01 7:31 4:33 7:52 4:42 7:33 5:21

2 6:36 7:49 7:12 6:52 7:53 5:59 7:32 4:33 7:52 4:43 7:32 5:22

3 6:37 7:47 7:13 6:51 6:55 4:58 7:33 4:33 7:52 4:44 7:31 5:24

4 6:38 7:45 7:14 6:49 6:56 4:57 7:34 4:32 7:52 4:45 7:30 5:25

5 6:39 7:44 7:16 6:47 6:57 4:55 7:35 4:32 7:51 4:46 7:29 5:27

6 6:41 7:42 7:17 6:45 6:58 4:53 7:36 4:32 7:51 4:47 7:27 5:28

7 6:42 7:40 7:18 6:43 7:00 4:53 7:37 4:32 7:51 4:48 7:26 5:29

8 6:43 7:38 7:19 6:41 7:01 4:52 7:38 4:32 7:51 4:49 7:25 5:31

9 6:44 7:36 7:21 6:40 7:02 4:51 7:39 4:32 7:51 4:50 7:23 5:32

10 6:45 7:34 7:22 6:38 7:04 4:50 7:40 4:32 7:50 4:52 7:22 5:34

11 6:47 7:32 7:23 6:36 7:05 4:49 7:41 4:32 7:50 4:53 7:20 5:35

12 6:48 7:30 7:25 6:34 7:06 4:48 7:42 4:32 7:50 4:54 7:19 5:37

13 6:49 7:28 7:26 6:32 7:08 4:47 7:43 4:32 7:49 4:55 7:18 5:38

14 6:50 7:27 7:27 6:31 7:09 4:46 7:44 4:32 7:49 4:56 7:16 5:39

15 6:51 7:25 7:28 6:29 7:10 4:45 7:44 4:32 7:48 4:58 7:15 5:41

16 6:53 7:23 7:30 6:27 7:12 4:44 7:45 4:32 7:48 4:59 7:13 5:42

17 6:54 7:21 7:31 6:25 7:13 4:43 7:46 4:33 7:47 5:00 7:12 5:44

18 6:55 7:19 7:32 6:24 7:14 4:42 7:46 4:33 7:46 5:01 7:10 5:45

19 6:56 7:17 7:34 6:22 7:16 4:41 7:47 4:33 7:46 5:03 7:08 5:46

20 6:57 7:15 7:35 6:20 7:17 4:40 7:48 4:34 7:45 5:04 7:07 5:48

21 6:59 7:13 7:36 6:19 7:18 4:39 7:48 4:34 7:44 5:05 7:05 5:49

22 7:00 7:11 7:38 6:17 7:20 4:39 7:49 4:35 7:43 5:07 7:04 5:51

23 7:01 7:09 7:39 6:16 7:21 4:38 7:49 4:35 7:42 5:08 7:02 5:52

24 7:02 7:08 7:40 6:14 7:22 4:37 7:50 4:36 7:42 5:10 7:00 5:53

25 7:03 7:06 7:42 6:12 7:24 4:36 7:50 4:37 7:41 5:11 6:59 5:55

26 7:05 7:04 7:43 6:11 7:25 4:36 7:50 4:37 7:40 5:12 6:57 5:56

27 7:06 7:02 7:44 6:09 7:26 4:35 7:51 4:38 7:39 5:14 6:55 5:58

28 7:07 7:00 7:46 6:08 7:27 4:35 7:51 4:39 7:38 5:15 6:53 5:59

29 7:08 6:58 7:46 6:07 7:28 4:34 7:51 4:39 7:37 5:17 No data No data

30 7:09 6:56 7:48 6:05 7:30 4:34 7:51 4:40 7:36 5:18 No data No data

31 No data No data 7:50 6:03 No data No data 7:51 4:41 7:35 5:19 No data No data

http://mndnr.gov/sunrise-sunset/
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HEALTH ADVISORY AND FISH 
EATING GUIDELINES

•	Cá	lỏ́n	và	trưởng	thành	chủ́a	nhiều	chất	ô	nhiễn	(mercury).	Thì	dụ	như	cá	walleye,	
cá	hồi,	cá	trê.

•	Nên	ăn	loại	nhỏ	cỡ	như	cá	Rô	(sunfish),	cá	hồi	(lake	trout).

•	Không	nên	ăn	da	và	mỡ	cá,	nhất	là	phâ	̀n	mỡ	ở	bụng	cá.	Mặt	khác,	nên	ăn	ít	
những	loại	cá	có	nhiều	mỡ	như	cá	chép,	cá	trê	hoặc	cá	bông	lau,	và	cá	hồi.

Most fish are healthy to eat and are a great source of protein, healthy fats (Omega-3s), 
and important vitamins, but any fish (store-bought or sport-caught) could have 
contaminants such as mercury and polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) that can harm 
human health—especially children and fetuses. The Minnesota Department of Health 
lets people know how often fish can be safely eaten.

The guidelines on the following page are based on contaminants measured in fish from 
lakes across the state. For more information, call the Minnesota Department of Health 
at 651-201-4911, toll-free at 800-657-3908 or visit health.state.mn.us/fish

Tips for safe fish eating
• For consumption advice on individual waters that have been tested visit 

mndnr.gov/lakefind.
• Older and larger predator fish (walleyes, northern pike, lake trout) contain more 

mercury—eat smaller predators.
• Eat more panfish (sunfish, crappies) and fewer fish that eat other fish (walleyes, 

northern pike, lake trout).
• PCBs accumulate the most in fatty fishes such as carp, catfish, and lake trout.

Consejos para el consumo saludable de pescado
• Los peces depredadores mayores y más grandes (Lucioperca, Lucio Norteño, Trucha 

de Lago) contienen más mercurio, comen depredadores más pequeños.
• Coma más peces como Pomosios y Pez Sol y menos pescados que comen otros 

peces como Lucioperca, Lucio Norteño y Trucha de Lago.
• Remueva la piel y la grasa, especialmente la grasa alrededor de la barriga. También 

coma menos pescados que tienen más grasa como Bagre, Carpa y Trucha de lago.

Tej yam qhia noj ntse kom txhob muaj teeb meem
• Cov ntses loj xws li (walleyes, northern pike, lake trout) nws muaj cov kua hlau ntau 

nyob rau hauv nws lub cev, yog li nej yuav tsum noj cov ntses me.
• Noj cov ntse pluav xws lis (xafiv = sunfish, kabpib = crappies) thiab yog cov ntse uas 

tom lwm yam ntse no ces noj kom tsawg xws lis (vaulais = walleyes, novtaw phaij = 
northern pike, lej rhauj = lake trout).

• Yim cov tawv thiab roj, qhov tseem ceeb tshaj yog cov roj tawm npluag plab. Tsis 
tag lis xwb yuav tsum noj cov ntse rog kom tsawg lis tsawg tau xws lis pamnais, ntse 
tuajkub, thiab (lej rhauj = lake trout).

http://www.health.state.mn.us/fish
http://www.mndnr.gov/lakefind
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STATEWIDE CONSUMPTION GUIDELINES FOR FISH 
CAUGHT IN MINNESOTA

• Sunfish
• Crappie
• Perch
• Bullhead
• Stream trout
• Cisco
• Whitefish

1 meal per week
Una comida por semana
Ib as thiv, ib pluag

• Walleye
• Northern pike
• Catfish
• Lake trout
• All sizes of 

other species

1 meal per month
Una comida por mes
Ib hli, ib pluag

• Muskellunge
Do not eat
No comer
Tsis txhob noj hlos lis

Other Adults:

• Sunfish
• Crappie
• Perch
• Bullhead
• Stream trout
• Cisco
• Whitefish

Check health.state.mn.us/
fish for current guidance

Consulte health.state.
mn.us/fish para obtener 
información actualizada

Saib health.state.mn.us/fish 
rau cov lus qhia tam sim no

• All sizes of 
other species

1 meal per week
Una comida por semana
Ib as thiv, ib pluag

Fish Illustrations ©MN DNR, C. Iverson

Children and Women of Child-bearing Age:

For consumption advice on individual waters that have been tested visit 
mndnr.gov/lakefind

Tham	khảo	health.state.
mn.us/fish	để	biết	thêm	
thông	tin

http://www.health.state.mn.us/fish
http://www.health.state.mn.us/fish
http://www.health.state.mn.us/fish
http://www.health.state.mn.us/fish
http://www.health.state.mn.us/fish
http://mndnr.gov/lakefind
http://www.health.state.mn.us/fish
http://www.health.state.mn.us/fish
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CONTACT INFORMATION

Licenses
DNR License Center
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4026
Watercraft registration: 800-285-2000
Phone license sales: 888-665-4236
Internet sales: mndnr.gov

DNR general information
888-646-6367 or 651-296-6157
info.dnr@state.mn.us

Information on and reporting
harmful invasive species
651-259-5100 or 888-646-6367

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
612-713-5360

Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness
Permits and reservations are not under 
DNR jurisdiction. This is a national forest 
wilderness area.
For information, contact:
Superior Na tion al Forest 8901
Grand Avenue Place Duluth, MN 55808
Information: 218-626-4300
Reservations: 877-444-6777
recreation.gov

Voyageurs National Park
218-283-6600

Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge
218-847-2641

DNR Fisheries Headquarters and Offices 
Northwest Region
Bemidji 
Headquarters
218-308-2623

Baudette Area  
218-395-6040

Bemidji Area
218-308-2339

Detroit Lakes Area
218-846-8290

Fergus Falls Area
218-671-7940

Glenwood Area 
320-634-7321

Park Rapids Area
218-552-2310

Walker Area
218-552-2330

Central Region 
Central Headquarters 
651-259-5831

Garrison Area 
(Mille Lacs)
320-692-0085

Hinckley Area
320-384-7721

Lake City Area
651-299-4010

Lanesboro Area
507-467-2442

Little Falls Area
320-232-1064

Metro East Area
651-259-5831

Metro West Area
952-236-5170

Sauk Rapids Area
320-223-7878

Northeast Region 
Grand Rapids 
Headquarters
218-328-8831

Aitkin Area
218-429-3010

Brainerd Area
218-203-4302

Duluth and Lake 
Superior Area
218-302-3264

Finland Area
218-353-8840

Grand Marais Area
218-387-6021

Grand Rapids Area
218-328-8836

In ter na tion al Falls Area
218-598-8190

Tower Area
218-300-7802

South Region
South Headquarters
507-233-1215

Hutchinson Area
320-753-0339

Ortonville Area
320-839-2656

Spicer Area
320-409-2040

Waterville Area
507-497-1820

Windom Area
507-832-6020

Conservation Officer
Call the DNR Information Center to connect with a Conservation 
Officer: 888-MINNDNR (888-646-6367). If you witness a violation in 
progress or need to contact a Conservation Officer immediately, call 
the Turn in Poachers 24-hour hotline: 800-652-9093.

http://www.mndnr.gov
mailto:info.dnr%40state.mn.us?subject=
http://www.recreation.gov
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Dispose of unwanted bait in the trash.

I will always DISPOSE 
of unwanted bait 

in the trash.

Pledge to do your part. Protect Minnesota 
waters from invasive species.

mndnr.gov/AISPledge

mndnr.gov/AISanglers

EWR_0043_2023

Never release bait. Releasing bait is illegal because 
it threatens Minnesota’s fisheries. Bait and bait 
water can spread fish diseases and invasive species. 
All earthworms are nonnative to Minnesota and 
damage forests if released.

To Keep leftover live baitfish: (1) bring extra bottled 
or dechlorinated tap water with you and (2) on 
shore before leaving, you must always drain your 
bait container and refill it with the extra water.



CALL US
Interpreters are available to answer all of your questions

License, titling and registration: M-F 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
General information: M-F 8 a.m.-6 p.m., Sat. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

888-MINNDNR or 651-296-6157
info.dnr@state.mn.us

500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4040

888-MINNDNR or 651-296-6157
mndnr.gov

The Minnesota DNR prohibits discrimination in its programs and services based on race, 
color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, disability, sexual orientation, and 
status with regard to public assistance. Individuals with a disability who need a reasonable 
accommodation to access or participate in DNR programs and services please contact 
the DNR ADA Title II Coordinator at info.dnr@state.mn.us, 651-296-6157, or through MN 
Relay Service 711. Discrimination inquiries should be sent to Minnesota DNR, 500 Lafayette 
Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4049.

This document is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by 
contacting info.dnr@state.mn.us, 651-296-6157. For TTY/TDD communication contact us 
through the Minnesota Relay Service at 711 or 800-627-3529.

©2024, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources.

Publication printed using vegetable-based ink. Please recycle.

mnfish mn_fish

TURN IN POACHERS
24-hour hotline, 800-652-9093

FAW_0057_2024

REGISTER TO VOTE
www.sos.state.mn.us/elections-voting

OFFICE OF THE MINNESOTA SECRETARY OF STATE

mailto:info.dnr@state.mn.us
http://mndnr.gov
mailto:info.dnr@state.mn.us
mailto:info.dnr@state.mn.us


MINNESOTA FISHING REGULATIONS
The following updates were made after the fishing regulations handbook was printed. 
The updates are summarized below. See the page listed for the detailed change.

March 15, 2024
Page 7 and 29. Beginning July 1, 2023, the legislature authorized the use of 2 lines in 
selected river sections. This change was inadvertently omitted from the print version of 
the 2024 fishing regulations book.

Page 14. The age range for anglers requiring a trout stamp was incorrectly listed 
as 17-64.

Page 66. The beginning closure date for the fish sanctuary on the St. Louis River 
Estuary was incorrectly listed as February 29.
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