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wonderful privilege. That privilege comes with serious responsibilities. 
Fun boating is safe boating, so please read this guide thoroughly and 
contact the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) with any questions 
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This book summarizes Minnesota’s boating laws and regulations. It does not 
present the actual laws and regulations. Laws and regulations are subject to 
change by the Legislature and through public hearings.
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• Wear your life jacket and make sure children wear theirs.
• Stay sober .  Booze and boating don’t mix. Alcohol is the #1 factor in 

boating fatalities.
• Tell a friend . Tell someone where you’re going and when you will 

be back. If you’re not back, they should call 911. Bring a phone or 
VHF radio.

• Be weather aware . Don’t let a storm sneak up on you — delay your 
trip or head to shore. Go slow in rough water to avoid capsizing.

• Boat smart . Take a boating safety course. Know your boat; stay 
alert while scanning for dangers; stay seated and low in the boat to 
prevent falls overboard.

Important Notes for 2025
• New education requirements for some boaters, effective July 1, 2025. 

Page 24.
• Effective July 1, 2025, no one under the age of 18 is able to rent or lease 

a motorboat, including a personal watercraft. Page 35.
• New rental operators exam requirements effective July 1, 2025 for 

operators without a valid watercraft operators permit. More information 
on mndnr.gov/boatingsafety

• New watercraft registration fees went into effect on January 1, 2024.

LIFE JACKETS SAVE LIVES

TOP FIVE BOATING SAFETY TIPS

http://mndnr.gov/boatingsafety
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LICENSING YOUR BOAT
All motorized watercraft regardless of length and nonmotorized watercraft 
over 10 feet must be licensed by the Department of Natural Resources 
(DNR). The types of watercraft that must be licensed include, but are 
not limited to, motorboats, rowboats, sailboats, sailboards, stand‑up 
paddleboards, canoes, kayaks, paddle boats, rowing shells or sculls, 
all‑terrain vehicles used in the water and inflatable craft.

EXCEPTIONS TO THIS LAW ARE AS FOLLOWS:
• Watercraft currently registered in another state and not kept in 

Minnesota for more than 90 consecutive days, or a watercraft owned 
by a person from another state that does not require licensing of that 
type of watercraft and it is not within Minnesota for more than 90 
consecutive days.

• Watercraft from a country other than the United States and not kept in 
Minnesota for more than 90 consecutive days.

• Watercraft owned by the United States government or other specified 
governmental units, except those boats used for recreational purposes.

• Watercraft documented with the United States Coast Guard (official 
papers on craft 5 net tons or larger are issued by the Coast Guard instead 
of state registration).

• A ship’s lifeboat.
• Waterfowl boats used during the waterfowl hunting season, rice boats 

used during the harvest season and seaplanes.
• Nonmotorized watercraft 10 feet in length or less.

LICENSE PROCEDURES AND FEES
Register your watercraft in person at any deputy registrar of motor 
vehicles (where you license your car); at the DNR License Center in 
St. Paul; or renew online at mndnr.gov/licenses. 

http://mndnr.gov/licenses
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TYPE AND LENGTH 3 YEAR 
FEE

INVASIVE 
SPECIES 
SURCHARGE

ELS FEE PER
TRANS ACTION

FILING 
FEE

TOTAL 
COST

Watercraft owned by 
nonprofit organization 
and used substantially 
to teach water safety 
(camp, Boy Scouts, etc.)

$8.00 $10.60 $1.50 $7.00 $27.10

Rental or lease 
watercraft up to and 
including 19 feet 
(Rental watercraft over 
19 feet—see categories 
below for fees)

$14.00 $10.60 $1.50 $7.00 $33.10

Canoes, kayaks, 
sailboards, paddle 
boats, paddleboards 
and rowing shells 
(nonmotorized 
boats 10 feet or less 
are exempt from 
registration)

$23.00 $10.60 $1.50 $7.00 $42.10

Sailboats up to and 
including 19 feet 
(Sailboats over 19 feet 
same as pleasure craft)

$23.00 $10.60 $1.50 $7.00 $42.10

Pleasure watercraft 
less than 17 feet $36.00 $10.60 $1.50 $7.00 $55.10

Pleasure watercraft 
17–19 feet $59.00 $10.60 $1.50 $7.00 $78.10

Pleasure watercraft 
over 19 feet but less 
than 26 feet 

$113.00 $10.60 $1.50 $7.00 $132.10

Pleasure watercraft 
26 feet but less than 
40 feet

$164.00 $10.60 $1.50 $7.00 $183.10

Pleasure watercraft 
40 feet and over $209.00 $10.60 $1.50 $7.00 $228.10

Personal watercraft, 
rental or personal $85.00 $10.60 $1.50 $7.00 $104.10

Dealer’s license, 
regardless of the 
number of watercraft 
owned by the dealer

$142.00 $10.60 $1.50 $7.00 $161.10

Fees for Watercraft Registration and Titling (effective January 1, 2025)

continued on next page
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Fees for Watercraft Registration and Titling (effective January 1, 2025)
continued

TYPE AND LENGTH 3 YEAR 
FEE

INVASIVE 
SPECIES 
SURCHARGE

ELS FEE PER
TRANS ACTION

FILING 
FEE

TOTAL 
COST

Watercraft for 
commercial 
use (Including 
charter fishing)

$164.00 $10.60 $1.50 $7.00 $183.10

Transfer of registered 
boat without renewal $4.50 $0.00 $1.50 $7.00 $13.00

Watercraft Title (see 
page 11) $15.00 $0.00 $0.00 $7.00 $22.00

Duplicate Title $4.00 $0.00 $0.00 $7.00 $11.00

Transfer Title, Corrected 
Title, Add Lien‑holder $10.00 $0.00 $0.00 $7.00 $17.00

Duplicate Registration 
Card $4.50 $0.00 $1.50 $4.50 $10.50

Duplicate Decal $0.00 $0.00 $1.50 $4.50 $6.00

For each title transaction, new registration or any transaction involving a transfer, the filing 
fee is $7.00. For each renewal or duplicate registration transaction, the filing fee is $4.50. 
NOTE: $7.00 filing fee is only charged once per boat transaction. The $1.50 ELS fee is not 
charged on any title transaction.

When you register your boat you will need to provide:
• The boat length, which is the straight‑line distance from the bow 

(front of the boat) to the stern (rear of the boat). Bowsprits, outboard 
motor brackets, rudders and other attachments are not included in 
the measurement.

• Boat’s Manufacturer Statement of Origin.
• Type of hull material (wood, metal, or plastic).
• Type of propulsion.
• Boat model.
• Boat year.
• Hull identification number (HIN).
• Paddleboards do not require a HIN.
• Sales receipt that shows you have paid the sales tax.

Watercraft licenses cover a period of three calendar years and expire 
on December 31 of the last year the license is valid. The expiration date 
appears on both the license certificate and on the validation decals which 
are applied to the boat.
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HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER
A hull identification number (HIN) or 
serial number is vital in registering and 
titling your boat.

HINs can be found on all boats manufactured 
since model year 1973. The letter‑number 
combination is typically 17 digits long 
(example: ABC12345L402). HINs are usually 
found on the right side of the stern or transom 
of the craft on the outside and may be 
stamped into the fiberglass or aluminum or 
appear on a separate plate.

Location may vary slightly on pontoon boats, personal watercraft, kayaks, 
canoes, etc. Boats built before November 1972 should have a shorter serial 
number somewhere on the craft.

LICENSE CERTIFICATE AND NUMBERING
If you apply for a new boat registration or renew an existing one in person 
at a deputy registrar (where you license your car) or the DNR License 
Center, you will receive your boat license decal and registration card 
on the spot. 

If you apply through the mail, it will probably take several weeks before you 
receive your decal and card.

Sign your license and keep it on board your watercraft. If you are operating 
a nonmotorized watercraft, you don’t have to carry the license with you. 
However, if an enforcement officer asks to see it, you must produce it 
within a reasonable time.

The license number issued to your boat appears on the license card and 
must be displayed as follows:
• Numbers must be placed on each side of the forward half of the hull (see 

illustration on page 8).
• Remove the expired decals first, before applying the new ones. 
• The license number must be displayed on your boat as it appears on your 

license card.
• Letters and numbers must be at least 3 inches high.

continued on next page
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• Letters and numbers must be of a block character.
• The MN should be separated from the numbers by a 3‑inch space.
• Letters should be separated from numbers by a 3‑inch space.
• Must contrast with the background.
• Can be either painted or attached to the craft. 
• Should read from left to right and must always be legible.
• The current license decal is always placed closer to the stern within 

4 inches of the license number.

The license number which appears on your watercraft license card must be 
displayed on your boat as shown below:

License number at least 3" high3"

Decal to rear and within 
4" of license number

3" space Less than 4" space

License number area

Decal to rear and within 
4" of license number

3" spaceLess than 4" space

License number area

License number at least 3" high 3"

Right (starboard) side of boat

Left (port) side of boat
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If your canoe, kayak, paddleboard, rowing shell, paddle boat, sailboard or 
sailboat does not have a motor, a license decal is all that is required. No 
3‑inch numbers are necessary. Place the decal on each side of the forward 
half of the nonmotorized craft as shown below:

Decal 
placement

Decal

The owner of rented watercraft may keep the license certificate at the 
rental location. The rental business must be printed on both sides of the 
rear half of the watercraft in letters at least 3 inches high.

No other number, letter, or design may appear within 24 inches of the 
license number or decal.

On sailboards, paddleboards and nonmotorized sailboats, you may place the 
decals on the stern. Only do this if it is impossible, because of the boat’s 
design, to place them on the bow. For inflatable or foam paddleboards, 
attach decals to a placard attached to the paddleboard.

If your canoe or sailboat is motorized, affix the 3‑inch letters and numbers 
as previously described for other motorized craft. The square decal should 
be placed to the stern or to the rear of the number (see page 8).

MNDN
R

MNDNR

MNDNR

MNDNR
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EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL
All watercraft licenses expire on Dec. 31 of the last year the license is valid. 

When you obtain your new license certificate and validation decals, discard 
your old license certificate and replace the expired decals on your boat 
with the new ones. Remember, only the current set of decals must be 
displayed.

DUPLICATE LICENSES
If a license is lost or destroyed, stop by your local deputy registrar of motor 
vehicles office or the DNR License Center 651‑296‑2316, 800‑285‑2000 
or mndnr.gov/licenses.

To apply by mail, write to the DNR License Center. Be sure to sign your 
name on the letter and include the registration number, description of the 
boat and the hull identification number (HIN).

The fee for a duplicate license is listed on the watercraft license fee chart 
on page 6.

TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP
If you buy a boat that is currently licensed in Minnesota:
• Obtain a bill of sale from the previous owner. If boat is titled, obtain the 

watercraft title certificate.
• Send or deliver it, along with an application for transfer and the transfer 

fee listed on the fee chart on page 6, to the DNR License Center or 
deputy registrar. 

• Transfer applications must be made within 15 days after the transfer 
actually occurs. 

• The transferred registration is valid only for the time remaining on the 
previous owner’s registration. Then you must renew your license.

• Sales between private parties do not require payment of sales tax.

DESTROYING OR ABANDONING YOUR BOAT
If you destroy or abandon your watercraft — or if you license it in another 
state — notify the DNR License Center 651‑296‑2316 within 15 days.

http://mndnr.gov/licenses
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DEALER’S LICENSE
Boat and motor dealers, wholesalers and manufacturers may apply for a 
dealer’s license for watercraft used for demonstration purposes or for 
purposes necessary to conduct business. A dealer will be issued only one 
number. This number must be displayed on both sides of boats used for 
these purposes, however, and may be detachable. This number must be 
removed before sale.

COLLECTOR WATERCRAFT
Owners of watercraft that were built before July 1, 1959, and used solely 
as a collector’s item, have the option of displaying the boat registration 
number and current decal on the forward half of the boat, placed on both 
sides on a detachable plate or board. 

The number size, type and decal placement is the same as noted on 
pages 7–9 of this guide.

WATERCRAFT TITLING
Certain watercraft over 16 feet are required to be titled in Minnesota. 

A watercraft title provides proof of ownership, which becomes very 
important when buying or selling a boat. A title also protects businesses 
that make boat loans, and aids in the recovery of stolen watercraft.

Exceptions to this law are watercraft:
• Currently registered in another state and never used in Minnesota for 

more than 90 consecutive days.
• Manufactured before Aug. 1, 1979.
• 16 feet or less in length.
• Rowboat with oar locks and an outboard motor less than 40 hp.
• Documented with the United States Coast Guard (official papers on 

craft 5 net tons or more are issued by the Coast Guard instead of state 
registration).

• Canoe, kayak or ship’s lifeboat.
• Waterfowl boats used during the waterfowl hunting season, rice boats 

used during the harvest season and seaplanes.
• Owned by a manufacturer or dealer and is held for sale.
• Used by a manufacturer for testing purposes only.
• Owned by a resort or recreational camping area licensed by the 

Minnesota Department of Health.
• Rowing shell or scull.
• Owned by the United States, a state or a political subdivision.
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REQUIRED EQUIPMENT
CARBON MONOXIDE (CO) DETECTOR
Sophia’s Law requires that all recreational motorboats, including sailboats 
with motors, with enclosed compartments be equipped with a functioning 
marine CO detection system and/or display three CO poisoning warning 
stickers as of May 1, 2018. 

Full details and requirements can be found at mndnr.gov/boatingsafety.

LIFE JACKETS
The following are life jacket requirements in Minnesota:
• State law requires children under 10 years old to wear a properly fitted 

life jacket while a boat is underway. Underway means not securely 
fastened to a permanent mooring or tied to a dock.

• A readily accessible and wearable life jacket is required for each person 
on board a boat, this includes canoes, kayaks, stand‑up paddleboards, 
paddleboats and waterfowl boats.

• One Type IV throwable is required on boats 
16 feet or longer (except canoes and kayaks) 
and must be immediately available.

• Personal watercraft operators and passengers 
must each wear a life jacket.

Check the label on the life jacket to make sure it is 
a U.S. Coast Guard‑approved flotation device and 
how to safely use it.

The following are exempt from state life jacket carriage laws:
• sailboards
• rowing team members specified in law and accompanied by a chase boat 

carrying the required life jackets

FOR YOUR SAFETY, WE STRONGLY RECOMMEND 
EVERYONE ON BOARD WEARS A LIFE JACKET 

AT ALL TIMES.

http://mndnr.gov/boatingsafety
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MANDATORY CHILD LIFE 
JACKET WEAR LAW
Minnesota law requires a properly 
fitted U.S. Coast Guard‑approved 
life jacket to be worn by children less 
than 10 years old when aboard any 
watercraft while underway. Underway 
means not attached to a permanent 
mooring or tied to a dock.

There are exceptions to the 
wear law for:
• children who are below the top deck or in an enclosed cabin.
• children aboard passenger vessels being operated by a 

licensed captain.
• children on a boat that is anchored for the purpose of swimming 

or diving.

Some infants are too small for any life jacket, even though the 
label may say 0–30 pounds. In general, babies under 6 months or 
16 pounds are too small for a life jacket to be effective due to the size 
of their head compared to their body.

If your infant is under 6 months old or 16 pounds, please wait until the 
baby is a little older before taking them boating. 

NOTE: Fastening a boat cushion to a car seat is not considered 
a lawful flotation device for an infant and could trap the baby 
underwater if your boat capsized.



14 2025 Boating Guide 888-MINNDNR

WEARABLE LIFE JACKET TYPES
There are four types of wearable life jackets 
approved for use on recreational boats:

Off‑Shore Life Jacket (Type I) is a vest 
or yoke‑type device generally found 
on commercial craft. It is designed to 
turn most unconscious persons from a 
face downward to a face up position in 
the water.

Near‑Shore Buoyant Vest (Type II) usually 
looks like a horse collar and is worn like a 
bib. It has an unconscious turning ability 
similar to the Type I, but it will not turn as 
many persons under the same conditions.

Flotation Aids (Type III) are 
usually foam‑filled and come in several 
colors and styles, including 
full‑sleeved jackets. Type 
III devices may also include 
inflatable life jackets. Type IIIs 
are not designed to turn an 
unconscious victim, but they 
do provide protection against 
exposure to cold water.

Special Use Devices (Type V) are designed 
and approved for use during particular 
activities. Type Vs include some inflatable 
life jackets, duck hunting flotation 
coveralls, and flotation aids made for 
sailboarding and whitewater rafting. The 
label will indicate any restrictions that 
apply to the particular device. Some Type 
Vs must be worn to be counted in the total 
number of life jackets on board your boat.

Type V

Type III

Type II

Type I
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Inflatable Life Jackets are U.S. Coast 
Guard approved for boaters 16 years and 
older. Inflatables have the advantage of 
being comfortable and easy to wear. Once 
inflated, the flotation is equal to or greater 
than traditional life jackets. 

Inflatables do have some disadvantages:
• Must be inflated to provide flotation.
• Do not provide as much cold water 

protection.
• Require regular maintenance and 

rearming after inflation.

Some inflatable life jackets are required to 
be worn in order to be counted as one of 
your U.S. Coast Guard‑approved wearable 
flotation devices — check the label for 
indication. Inflatables are not approved 
for use on personal watercraft or while 
water‑skiing or similar sports. Always read 
the label for intended use and follow any 
restrictions.

Before purchasing, make sure that 
“U.S. Coast Guard Approved” is visible 
somewhere on the package or on the 
device itself.

THROWABLE FLOTATION AIDS
Throwable Devices (Type IV) — buoyant 
cushion, ring buoy or horseshoe buoy — are 
designed to be thrown to a victim in 
the water, rather than worn. Cushions 
should be checked often to see if they 
are in serviceable condition. One Type IV 
throwable is required on boats 16 feet or 
longer (except canoes and kayaks) and 
must be immediately available.

Inflatable Life Jackets

Type IV
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OTHER FACTS ABOUT LIFE JACKETS
• The life jacket must be of the appropriate size for the intended wearer.
• “Readily accessible” means easily retrievable within a reasonable amount 

of time in an emergency. Life jackets in sealed bags, under heavy objects 
or in locked containers are not accessible.

• “Immediately available” means Type IV throwable devices must be easily 
reached in time of an emergency. Generally this means in the open, not 
in a container.

• A label stating “U.S. Coast Guard approved” must be printed on or 
attached to the device and you must follow all restrictions on it.

• All life jackets must be in serviceable condition, meaning free of tears, 
rot, punctures and waterlogging. All straps, zippers and buckles are 
present and in good shape.

• A U.S. Coast Guard‑approved life jacket must be worn by a person being 
towed on any device, or be carried in the towing watercraft.

• A U.S. Coast Guard‑approved Type V device may be substituted for any 
other approved device if it meets the same requirements and is noted on 
the Type V device (i.e. “Equivalent to an approved Type III device”).

WHISTLES/HORNS REQUIREMENTS
• Motorboats 16 feet to less than 26 feet long must be equipped with a 

hand‑, mouth‑, or power‑operated whistle or horn capable of producing a 
continuous sound for two seconds and audible for at least one‑half mile.

• Motorboats 26 feet to less than 40 feet long must be equipped with 
a hand‑ or power‑operated horn or whistle capable of producing a 
continuous sound for two seconds and audible for at least 1 mile.

• Motorboats 40 feet or longer must be equipped with a power‑operated 
horn or whistle capable of producing a continuous sound for at least two 
seconds and audible for at least 1 mile.

• The only boat that can carry a siren is a government patrol craft.

NAVIGATION LIGHTS
Navigation lights must be on from sunset to sunrise.

MOTORBOAT NAVIGATION LIGHT REQUIREMENTS
Most motorboats 16 feet or longer will likely be equipped with the correct 
navigation lights by the manufacturer. Only U.S. Coast Guard‑approved 
lights will meet the following requirements.
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Motorboats less than 65 feet long 
while underway, including sailboats 
operating under engine power, require 
lights that are:
• Either separate 112.5˚ red 

and green side lights or a 
combination 225˚ red and 
green bow light. (A)

• A 225˚ masthead white light on 
the forward half of the boat, 
placed at least 3 feet above 
the red‑green lights, showing 
112.5˚ to each side and visible 
for 2 miles. (B)

• On boats 40 to 65 feet long, 
this light (B) must be at least 
9 feet above the gunwale.

• A 135˚ white light on the stern 
half of the craft showing 67.5˚ to each 
side. (C) This light may be carried off 
the center line.

• When at anchor, only one 360˚ white 
light is necessary.

OPTIONAL: Motorboats less than 
40 feet long while underway, 
including sailboats operating 
under engine power, may follow 
the lighting requirements below 
or the requirements listed in the 
previous section:
• Either separate 112.5˚ red 

and green side lights or a 
combination 225˚ red and green 
bow light. (A)

• A 360˚ white stern (rear) light. 
When at anchor, only the 360˚ 
white light is necessary. (D)

Less than 65 feet long.

Less than 40 feet long.
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NONMOTORIZED BOAT NAVIGATION 
LIGHT REQUIREMENTS
• Must at least carry a white lantern or flashlight.
• Light should be strong enough so that other boats 

around the horizon can see it at least 2 miles away.
• Light must be displayed in sufficient time to avoid a 

collision with another watercraft.
• Canoes, sailboats, etc., that are operating 

under power must follow the lighting rules for 
motorboats.

VISIBILITY RULES
• White lights must be visible for 2 miles on a dark, clear night (with one 

exception under the International Rules).
• Combination or side lights must be visible for 1 mile.
• Combination or side lights must shine red to port (left side) and green to 

starboard (right side).
• Combination lights must be attached so the light shows from directly 

ahead to 22.5˚ to the rear of the beam (midpoint of the boat) on the 
respective side.

• Lights may be detachable and need only be displayed from sunset 
to sunrise.

LIGHTING NOTES
• Check navigation light sockets and wiring for corrosion.
• Boats on waters subject to U.S. jurisdiction may also display navigation 

lights under current federal inland regulations.
• All accessory lighting such as docking lights, spotlights or accent lights 

must not impact navigation light visibility as required by law.

FIRE EXTINGUISHERS
All fire extinguishers must be U.S. Coast Guard‑approved, fully charged, 
and readily accessible.

Motorboats carrying or using fuel or other flammable fluid in an 
enclosure are required to have a Type B, U.S. Coast Guard‑approved fire 
extinguisher(s) on board.
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Additionally:
• When a motorboat is equipped with a U.S. Coast Guard‑approved fixed 

fire extinguishing system in the engine compartment, one less B‑I 
extinguisher is required.

• Enclosed engines and fuel tanks are generally found on inboards or stern 
drives and also on larger outboard boats with built‑in fuel tanks. 

• Open outboard boats with unenclosed portable fuel tanks and no 
floorboards, decking, a cabin or other spaces that could trap fuel vapor 
are not required to carry an extinguisher. However, it is a good idea to 
carry one.

• Approved types of fire extinguishers are identified by the following 
marking on the label — “Marine Type USCG Approved” — followed by the 
type and size symbols and the approval number.

VENTILATION
Motorboats carrying or using any fuel that has a flashpoint of 110 degrees 
or less (gasoline) in any compartment must be equipped with an efficient 
ventilating system to remove combustible gases. 

This system must consist of at least one intake duct that extends from the 
deck below the level of the carburetor air intake (or halfway to the bilge) 
and an exhaust duct that extends from the deck to the lowest portion of 
the bilge. The cowls of these ducts must be properly trimmed for maximum 
ventilation.

A power‑operated bilge blower is highly recommended and it should be run 
at least four minutes before starting the engine.

SIZE OF BOAT REQUIRED

Boats under 26 feet with 
enclosed engine, fuel tanks 
or other spaces

One size B‑I fire extinguisher 

Boats 26 feet up to 40 feet Two size B‑I or one size B‑II fire extinguisher(s)

Boats 40 feet up to and 
including 65 feet

Three size B‑I or one size B‑II and one size B‑I fire 
extinguishers

Boats over 65 feet Three size B‑II fire extinguishers

Fire Extinguisher Requirements
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FLAME ARRESTORS
Gasoline engines, other than outboard motors, must be equipped with a 
U.S. Coast Guard‑approved backfire flame arrestor on the carburetor.

MUFFLERS/NOISE LIMITS
• All watercraft motors must have a muffler, underwater exhaust, or other 

device that suppresses the sound of the motor to levels noted below. 
• It is unlawful to modify, equip, sell or operate a motorboat (except under 

a permit from the county sheriff or U.S. Coast Guard) that exceeds the 
levels noted below.

• It is illegal to sell or have an altered muffler, muffler cutout, muffler 
bypass, or any other device designed or installed so that it can be used to 
continually or intermittently bypass any muffler or muffler system, or to 
reduce or eliminate the effectiveness of a muffler or muffler system.

NOISE LEVEL TESTING
Pass‑by Test: Noise level test usually performed at a distance of 50 feet—an 
equivalent reading may be taken at other distances.
• Boats manufactured before January 1, 1982: 84 dBA
• Boats manufactured January 1, 1982 and after: 82 dBA
Stationary Idle Test: Noise level test taken at 4 feet above the water and at 
least 4 feet behind the transom of the boat.
• Boats manufactured before January 1, 1982: 86 dBA
• Boats manufactured January 1, 1982 and after: 84 dBA

Officers and deputies may use either or both of these tests at their 
discretion.

MARINE TOILETS
Under state law, toilets on board watercraft must be no‑discharge 
devices. Waste must be retained on board for proper disposal after 
returning to shore.
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PROTECT YOUR WATERS 
By taking a few simple steps, you can help protect Minnesota’s lakes and 
rivers from zebra mussels and other aquatic invasive species. Aquatic 
invasive species (AIS) cannot move across the land without help, but when 
given a lift they can spread almost anywhere. Everyone who recreates 
in Minnesota’s lakes and rivers has an important role in preventing the 
introduction and spread of AIS.

Take these actions required by law:
• CLEAN all visible aquatic plants, mud and debris off your boat, trailer 

and other water‑related equipment before leaving a water access or 
shoreland property. It’s illegal to transport prohibited invasive plants or 
animals, whether dead or alive.

• DRAIN water‑related equipment (boat, ballast tanks, portable bait 
container, motor) and drain bilge, livewell and baitwell by removing 
drain plugs before leaving a water access. Keep drain plugs out and 
water‑draining devices open while transporting watercraft.

• DISPOSE of unwanted bait, including minnows, leeches, worms, and fish 
parts in the trash. It’s illegal to release live bait into a water body, dump 
worms on the ground or move aquatic animals or water from one water 
body to another.

Whenever possible, also take these recommended actions:
DRY everything before going to another lake or river, especially if your 
boat has been in the water or moored for more than 24 hours or if you have 
recently been in waters infested with zebra mussel or spiny waterflea. To 
further decontaminate your boat and equipment, do one or more of the 
following: 
• Spray with high‑pressure water.
• Rinse with very hot water. The following water temperatures will kill zebra 

mussels and some other AIS: 120˚F for at least 2 minutes or 140˚F for at 
least 10 seconds.

• Dry for at least 5 days.

Check these places on your boat and trailer and remove aquatic plants 
and animals: (A) anchor and lines; (B) livewell; (C) transom well; (D) hull; 
(E) rollers (F) axle (G) lower unit/propeller.

MN  4316  AD 
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There is also a risk of spreading AIS by other water recreation. Take these 
additional pre cautions when engaging in the activities below:

Sailing
Clean aquatic plants, animals and debris from hull, centerboard or 
bilgeboard well, rudderpost, trailer and other equipment before leaving the 
water access.

Personal watercraft
• Avoid areas with aquatic plants before trailering personal watercraft.
• Run engine for 5–10 seconds on the trailer to blow out excess water and 

vegetation from internal drive, and then turn engine off.
• Clean aquatic plants, animals and debris from hull, trailer, water intake 

grate and steering nozzle before leaving water access.

WATERCRAFT INSPECTIONS
The Minnesota DNR has had a watercraft inspection 
program since 1992 to help prevent the spread of 
AIS. With the help of our partners, today nearly 1,000 
authorized watercraft inspectors are working at lakes 
and rivers across Minnesota. The information below will 
help you prepare for a watercraft inspection.

What should I expect from an inspection?
Inspectors are trained to:
• Introduce themselves as a watercraft inspector.
• Provide tips on how to inspect your own equipment (page 21).
• Physically inspect your boat, trailer and any other water‑related 

equipment—meaning they may touch your boat or trailer to feel for tiny 
attached zebra mussels or other invasive species.

• Physically inspect compartments that may hold water, such as live wells 
or bilge areas.

• Deny launch if: 1) the inspector finds invasive species or any plants 
attached, and until the invasive species or plants are removed; or 2) you 
refuse an inspection.

 – Although inspectors have the authority to deny launch, they will work 
with you to try to bring your watercraft into compliance.

 – Inspectors will not deny launch based solely on where, or when, you 
last used your watercraft.

• Ask questions to help improve the DNR’s inspection program. You are 
not required to answer these questions.
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How should I prepare for an inspection?
When entering an access:
• Always follow all state laws regarding AIS and arrive in compliance with 

Clean, Drain and Dispose laws (page 21).
• Open the lids of closed compartments that could hold water, like live 

wells, so the inspector can see they are drained. Your drain plugs should 
all be open while you transport your boat.

• Remember to install the drain plug after the inspection and before 
launching.

When exiting an access:
• Remove any plants, mud, and invasive animals.
• Pull all drain plugs.
• Open water‑holding compartments to allow inspection.

What about on‑site watercraft decontamination?
An inspector may require your watercraft to be decontaminated prior 
to launching or before leaving an access, if a unit is on‑site. Most 
decontaminations can be done quickly. Trained inspectors use hot water to 
target areas to kill AIS. An inspector may also use high‑pressure water. The 
DNR performs watercraft decontaminations free of charge.

How do I find a decontamination station?
The DNR posts decontamination unit locations online at mndnr.gov/decon. 
At these sites, inspectors will perform a courtesy inspection and determine 
if any decontamination is required.

Tell us how we’re doing: wip.dnr@state.mn.us

21‑day dry law
A boat lift, dock, swim raft, or associated equipment that has been 
removed from any water body may not be placed in another water body 
until a minimum of 21 days have passed.

Report new infestations
If you suspect a new infestation of an aquatic invasive plant or animal, note 
the exact location, take a photo or keep the specimen. Then contact your 
local DNR AIS specialist at 888‑MINNDNR (646‑6367) or 651‑259‑5100. 
Visit mndnr.gov/AIS for more information. 

Affirmation
In 2016, an AIS affirmation was added to new watercraft and nonresident 
fishing licenses. License applicants are required to affirm they have read 
and understand a provided summary of AIS laws. No fees are associated 
with the affirmation. Learn more at mndnr.gov/affirmation.

http://www.mndnr.gov/decon
mailto:wip.dnr%40state.mn.us?subject=Watercraft%20Inspection%20Comment%E2%80%94Boating%20Guide
http://mndnr.gov/AIS
http://mndnr.gov/affirmation
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GENERAL OPERATION
ENFORCEMENT
DNR’s conservation officers and county sheriff deputies enforce 
Minnesota’s boat and water safety laws. All state and county enforcement 
craft will be marked on both sides or with a blue state pennant. Some 
waters of the state are also under federal jurisdiction. The U.S. Coast Guard 
and the National Park Service enforce federal boating regulations.

Whenever enforcement officers contact you, you are required to stop and 
allow them to come alongside. The officer may warn you about a storm or 
caution you about the way you’re operating your boat. Always remember 
that a key job of these officers is to ensure your safety afloat.

Violation of a boat and water safety statute or rule is a misdemeanor, with 
some exceptions for repeat violations or more serious offenses.

Boaters on some waters may be able to request assistance by using 
a marine radio. Examples of these areas are Lake of the Woods, Lake 
Superior, the Lower St. Croix River, Mississippi River downstream from 
Minneapolis, Minnesota River downstream from Shakopee and Lake 
Minnetonka.

AGE OF OPERATORS
Starting July 1, 2025, a new law will require operators 21 years and 
younger to possess a valid watercraft operator’s permit for motorboats 
and personal watercraft. Adults born on or after July 1, 2004, must hold a 
permit to operate motorboats and PWC, with the requirement expanding 
over the following three years to include older age groups. Youth 
operators, younger than 12 years of age, may operate motorboats with less 
than 75 horsepower if an accompanying operator is in the motorboat. The 
law is designed to improve water safety by ensuring that all operators are 
properly trained, with full enforcement in place by 2028. See mndnr.gov/
boatingsafety for more information. 

Born on or after the following dates:
• July 1, 2004  (effective July 1, 2025)
• July 1, 2000  (effective July 1, 2026)
• July 1, 1996 (effective July 1, 2027)
• July 1, 1987 (effective July 1, 2028)

You can obtain an operator’s permit by successfully completing the 
Minnesota, NASBLA‑approved boating safety course. It is available at 
mndnr.gov/boatingcourse.

http://www.mndnr.gov/boatingsafety
http://www.mndnr.gov/boatingsafety
http://mndnr.gov/boatingcourse
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• If you are visiting Minnesota and are between the ages of 12 ‑21 years and 
already possess a valid watercraft operator’s certificate/permit issued by 
your home state, you don’t need to obtain another one from Minnesota. 
Effective July 1, 2025 and expanding over the following three years to 
include older age groups.

• If you do not have a certificate from your state, you may obtain one from 
Minnesota by successfully completing the DNR’s boating safety course. 
It is available at mndnr.gov/boatingcourse.

• We recommend that all adults take the Minnesota boating course to 
enhance their knowledge and safety.

• Many boat insurance companies offer discounts to boat owners who have 
taken an approved boating safety course.

Motorboat Operator Age Restrictions
(Personal watercraft see page 34)

OPERATOR AGE REQUIREMENTS

Less than 
12 years

May operate motorboats with less than 75 horsepower if an 
accompanying operator is in the motorboat.

12–21 years Born on or after July 1, 2004 must possess operator’s permit, 
effective July 1, 2025. Expanding over the following three 
years to include older age groups.

NAVIGATION RULES
Passing
• When overtaking another watercraft going in the same direction, the 

craft being overtaken must maintain course and speed.
• The passing watercraft must keep a sufficient distance to avoid collision 

or endangering the other craft from its wake.

Meeting
• When two watercraft approach each other “head‑on,” each must alter 

course to the right to avoid collision.
• If the two watercraft are far enough to the left of each other, no change 

in direction is needed for safe passage. Both watercraft will maintain their 
course and speed to pass clear of each other.

• Keep to the right in narrow channels.

Crossing
If two watercraft approach each other at a right angle, the watercraft to 
the right shall have the right‑of‑way.

continued on next page

http://mndnr.gov/boatingcourse
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Nonmotorized craft
Nonmotorized craft (sailboats, canoes, etc.) have the right‑of‑way over 
motorized craft in all situations, except when the nonmotorized craft is 
overtaking or passing.

Commercial Vessels
Small craft shall not insist on the right‑of‑way when in the path of large 
commercial vessels, which are limited in maneuverability.

Emergency Craft
All watercraft will yield right‑of‑way to an authorized watercraft displaying 
a red or blue flashing light.

MOVE OVER LAW
When approaching and passing a law enforcement watercraft with its 
emergency lights activated, the operator of a watercraft must safely move 
the watercraft away from the law enforcement watercraft and maintain 
a slow no‑wake speed while within 150 feet of the law enforcement 
watercraft.
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WATERWAY MARKERS — AIDS TO NAVIGATION
Waterway markers show navigable channels, denote unsafe areas, direct 
traffic, control speed, protect resources and serve other functions.

Official markers are usually placed by the U.S. Coast Guard, state, county 
or local governmental unit. Private markers of any type may not be placed 
in the water overnight without a permit from the county sheriff.

If a buoy or sign is lighted, it will usually display the color and flash 
characteristics noted on following pages. “Flashing” means not more than 
30 flashes per minute. “Quick‑flashing” means at least 60 flashes per 
minute and generally indicates caution or danger.

Channel Marker Buoys
• All‑green and all‑red companion buoys 

indicate that the boating channel is 
between them. 

• Red buoy is on the right side of the channel 
when facing upstream.

Signs can be substituted. For example, a green square sign is the same 
as a green buoy and red triangular sign is the same as a red buoy — these 
are often called “daymarks.” They can be used to mark each side of a 
channel, which is common on the Mississippi River below the Twin Cities. 
A red‑white octagonal sign can be used to mark the center of a channel.

Red and white and black and white buoys
• Red‑white striped buoys (usually with a red 

topmark) indicate the center of a channel 
and should be passed closely on either side.

• Black and white striped buoys (formerly 
red‑white striped) indicate there is a 
shoreward obstruction and that you should 
not pass between it and the nearest shore.

continued on next page

FLASHING GREEN FLASHING RED

FLASHING WHITE QUICK‑FLASHING 
WHITE
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REGULATORY BUOYS AND SIGNS
Boats Keep Out
 A white buoy or sign with an orange diamond and 
cross means that boats must keep out of the area. 
Black lettering on the buoy or sign gives the reason 
for the restriction, for example, SWIM AREA.

Danger 
A white buoy or sign with an orange diamond warns 
boaters of danger — rocks, dams, rapids, etc. The 
source of danger will also be lettered in black. In 
winter, ice hazards may also be identified with this 
marker in the form of a sign.

Controlled Area
A white buoy or sign with an orange circle and black 
lettering indicates controlled or restricted areas 
on the water. The most common restriction is slow 
no‑wake speed. Slow no‑wake means operating your 
boat at the slowest possible speed necessary to 
maintain steerage, but in no case greater than 5 mph.

Information
A white buoy or sign with an orange rectangle 
provides the boater with information or directions. 
Information will be lettered in black.

Mooring Buoys
Buoys designed for mooring boats are all‑white 
with a blue stripe midway between the top and the 
waterline. A minimum of 16 square inches of white 
reflector, part of which must be visible from any 
direction, is required on all mooring buoys. (Obtain 
a permit from the county sheriff before placing a 
mooring buoy in the water.)

QUICK‑FLASHING 
WHITE

FLASHING WHITE

FLASHING WHITE

FLASHING WHITE

FLASHING WHITE
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Here are some tips on waterway markers:
• Waterway markers, especially buoys can move off station due to wind, 

waves, current, ice or other reasons.
• Buoys and other waterway markers may not be present outside of the 

normal boating season. Check locally before heading out.
• Red and green channel markers may be numbered: green (odd) and 

red (even).
• Size specifications for buoys: 

 – For all buoys except mooring buoys, the minimum height above water 
is 36 inches and the minimum diameter is 9 inches.

 – For mooring buoys the maximum size is 24 inches in diameter, if 
spherical, or a maximum of 24 inches wide if some other shape. 
Mooring buoys must extend at least 8 inches above the water.

ON THE WATER LAWS AND RULES
It’s against the law:
• To operate a watercraft in a careless or reckless manner.
• To operate a watercraft so its wash or wake endangers, harasses, or 

interferes with any person or property.
• To operate a watercraft so it obstructs ordinary navigation.
• To operate a watercraft within an area legally marked off as a swimming 

area, or within 150 feet of a diver’s warning flag (see page 37).
• To ride or sit on the gunwales, bow, transom, or decking over the bow, 

sides or stern of any motorboat while underway, unless it is equipped 
with an adequate railing. It is also illegal to operate a motorboat while any 
person is riding or sitting in a manner as just listed. 

• To chase wildlife with a motorboat, or operate a boat where it is 
prohibited — including marked spawning beds. Avoid traversing any 
emergent or floating vegetation, if possible.

• To intentionally obstruct a seaplane.
• To attach a watercraft to any buoy, except a mooring buoy, or to tamper, 

remove, or destroy a navigational aid.
• To deposit or leave refuse in or upon the waters of the state or at public 

access areas.
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CAPACITY AND OVERLOADING
The boat’s operator must limit the total horsepower, weight and maximum 
number of passengers to that shown on the capacity plate installed by 
the boat’s manufacturer. It is unlawful and dangerous to load or power 
your boat beyond its maximum capacity. Capacity is reached by either the 
maximum number of people or maximum weight, whichever is met first.

BOATING WHILE IMPAIRED (BWI)
• Operating a motorboat while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled 

substance (or its metabolite), or an intoxicating substance is unlawful.
• Operators who are impaired may be required to take tests by an 

enforcement officer to determine the presence of these substances. 
There is a penalty for refusal. BWI test failures, convictions, and refusals 
are recorded on the violator’s driver’s license record.

Most of the BWI law is found in the motor vehicle statutes. The alcohol 
concentration for impaired operation is .08.

Possible penalties for impaired operation:
• Fines.
• Possible jail time.
• Loss of motorboat, off‑road vehicle and motor vehicle operating 

privileges.

In addition to the above penalties, those who refuse testing will also be 
subject to a separate and more severe criminal charge for refusal and loss 
of their motorboat, off‑road vehicle and motor vehicle operating privileges 
for one year, immediately upon refusal.

MAXIMUM CAPACITIES

THIS BOAT COMPLIES WITH U.S. COAST 
GUARD SAFETY STANDARDS IN EFFECT 

ON THE DATE OF CERTIFICATION
ABC BOATS

XYZ MANUFACTURING, INC.
ANYWHERE, USA 12345

7 PERSONS OR 1050 LBS.
1400 LBS. PERSONS, MOTORS, GEAR
130 H.P. MOTOR

EX
AM
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E 

O
N

LY
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continued on next page

If any of the following aggravating factors are involved, the offense 
is a gross misdemeanor (a fourth conviction in 10 years can result in a 
felony penalty):
• An alcohol concentration of .16 or more.
• Prior DWI convictions or refusals of any kind in the past 10 years.
• A child less than 16 years old is on board the motorboat.

Penalties will increase with any of the aggravating factors or a refusal, and 
can include the following:
• A higher fine.
• Mandatory jail time.
• Longer revocation times for operating privilege loss.
• Loss of motor vehicle license plates.
• Forfeiture of the motorboat and trailer being operated at the time of 

violation.

The BWI law does not prohibit drinking alcoholic beverages aboard boats 
nor having an open bottle. The BWI law applies to operators of motorboats 
that are not anchored, beached, moored, docked or being rowed or 
propelled by nonmechanical means at the time of the offense.

TOWED AND WAKE SPORTS
Laws and Rules
• It is unlawful to make a wake for a wake surfer or tow a person on water 

skis, wakeboard, tube, or similar device unless there is a mirror providing 
the operator a wide field of vision to the rear, or unless another person in 
the towing watercraft is continuously observing the person wake‑surfing 
or being towed.

• Water‑skiing, tubing, wake‑surfing and similar acts are prohibited 
between one‑half hour after sunset to sunrise of the following day.

• Tow ropes may not be longer than 150 feet in length, unless a permit is 
obtained from the county sheriff.

• A wearable U.S. Coast Guard‑approved life jacket must either be worn by 
the person being towed, or carried in the towing watercraft.

For regulations on towing people with a personal watercraft (Jet Ski, 
PWC, etc.) — see page 33. Also, there may be local restrictions on towing 
(especially in the Twin Cities area) — see page 42.
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Tubing
The maneuvers of the tow boat affect tubes in a way that is similar to a 
clock’s pendulum. Riders do not have the directional control that water 
skiers have, so the boat operator needs to take special precautions.

Accidents are most often caused by:
• The tube hitting a wake and flipping, throwing the rider(s) into the water 

or against each other.
• Tubes swinging out as a boat turns — hitting an object or throwing the 

occupant off.
• Injuries caused by the tow line and when two tubes being towed by the 

same boat collide with each other.

Towed and Wake Sports Safety Tips
• Keep speeds low (most tube manufacturers recommend a maximum of 

15–20 mph) to reduce the likelihood and consequences of an accident. 
• Make turns gradually and away from shore, other boats, swim rafts or 

docks, to reduce the chance of collision and property damage. 
• Tow only a single tube at a time. 
• It is critical that everyone being towed wear a life jacket. 
• It is also a good idea to have an observer in the towing craft, in addition 

to a wide‑angle mirror.
• Stay back at least 20 feet behind the boat to avoid carbon 

monoxide exposure.
• Many manufacturers also recommend that no one under 6 years old be 

towed on a tube, and that you follow the manufacturer’s recommended 
passenger weight limits.

Own Your Wake
Large wakes produced by some watercraft operated at certain speeds can 
cause a number of negative impacts, including:
• Shoreline erosion, which results in impaired water quality and 

property loss.
• Damage to others’ property, including docked boats.
• Hazards to public safety both on the water (swimmers, paddlers) 

and on shore.
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PERSONAL WATERCRAFT
Personal watercraft (PWC) are also 
known as Jet Skis or Wave Runners. 
Personal watercraft is defined by law 
as a motorboat that is:
• Powered by an inboard motor 

powering a water jet pump or by an outboard or propeller‑driven motor.
• Designed to be operated by a person or persons sitting, standing, or 

kneeling on the craft, rather than in the conventional manner of sitting or 
standing inside a motorboat.

All personal watercraft are considered motorboats and therefore, any 
regulations that govern other motorboats (such as fishing boats, cabin 
cruisers, etc.), also govern personal watercraft.

Personal Watercraft Laws
In summary, the law requires that:
• Anyone operating or riding on a personal watercraft must wear a U.S. 

Coast Guard‑approved wearable life jacket that is compatible with that 
activity (check the label).

• Personal watercraft must travel at slow no‑wake speed (5 mph or less) 
within 150 feet of nonmotorized boats, shore (unless launching or landing 
skiers directly to or from open water), docks, swim rafts, swimmers, or 
any moored or anchored boat.

• Operation of personal watercraft is allowed only from 9:30 a.m. to 1 hour 
before sunset.

• If you tow a person on water skis, or any other device, there must be an 
additional person on board the personal watercraft to act as an observer. 
(The observer does not have to be facing backward.)

• Factory‑installed or factory‑specified wide‑field rearview mirrors are 
allowed instead of an observer when pulling a skier or other device (tube, 
kneeboard, etc.).

• After‑market mirrors, stick‑on mirrors, motorcycle mirrors, etc., do not 
qualify for the observer exemption.

• The skier/knee‑boarder etc. must also be wearing a life jacket or there 
must be one on board the personal watercraft for the skier.

• If the machine is equipped by the manufacturer with a lanyard‑type 
engine cutoff switch, it must be attached to the person, life jacket or 
clothing of the operator when underway.

• You may not operate a personal watercraft if any part of the 
spring‑loaded throttle system has been removed or tampered with so it 
interferes with the return‑to‑idle system.

• You may not chase or harass wildlife.
continued on next page

95 MN 1234 AB
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• You may not travel through emergent or floating vegetation at greater 
than slow no‑wake speed.

• You may not operate a personal watercraft in a manner that unreasonably 
or unnecessarily endangers life, limb or property.

• You may not weave through congested watercraft traffic, or jump the 
wake of another watercraft within 150 feet of the other watercraft. This 
includes other personal watercraft.

• A personal watercraft rules decal issued by the DNR needs to be on the 
craft in full view of the operator.

• You may not operate a personal watercraft while facing backward.
• It is unlawful for the owner of the personal watercraft to permit its 

operation in violation of the age restrictions (see below).
• Some lakes have additional restrictions, see mndnr.gov/boatingsafety 

and click on local water restrictions.
• A person on a waterjet propelled accessory to a personal watercraft is 

operating a personal watercraft and must follow all regulations.

Personal Watercraft Operator Age Restrictions Regardless 
of Horsepower
(other motorboats see page 25)

OPERATOR AGE RESTRICTIONS
Less than 12 years Cannot operate — even with an adult on board.

12 ‑21 years must possess a valid watercraft operator’s permit for 
personal watercraft. Adults born on or after July 1, 2004, 
must hold a permit to operate  PWC, effective July 1, 2025 
and expanding over the following three years to include 
older age groups.

Selling and Renting Personal Watercraft
Personal watercraft dealers are required to distribute a summary of 
the laws and rules governing personal watercraft. They must provide 
instruction regarding laws governing personal watercraft, as well as safe 
operation of the craft, upon request by a purchaser.

Rental operators must provide required safety equipment and a copy of the 
personal watercraft laws free of charge, as well as instruction on laws and 
operation of the craft.

Personal watercraft dealers must keep a signature record for 6 months of 
all those who buy personal watercraft. This record is to indicate that the 
buyer has been provided with a copy of the personal watercraft laws and 
has read them.

http://mndnr.gov/boatingsafety
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continued on next page

In addition, rental businesses must not rent or lease a motorboat, including 
a personal watercraft, to any person for operation unless the renter 
or lessee: 

 – has a valid watercraft operator’s permit or is an exempt operator; and 
 – is 18 years of age or older.

General Watercraft Laws that Apply to Personal Watercraft
Personal watercraft must follow the same laws which apply to general 
watercraft, including:
• All personal watercraft must display valid registration decals and 

registration numbers on the forward half of both sides of the craft 
(see pages 7–9).

• Your watercraft license card must be kept on board your craft when 
it’s in use.

• All personal watercraft with enclosed engine or fuel compartments 
(almost all personal watercraft fall into one or the other category) must 
carry a fully charged, readily accessible, U.S. Coast Guard‑approved fire 
extinguisher.

• Personal watercraft may not exceed the maximum watercraft noise 
levels. Also, you may not modify any motorboat (including personal 
watercraft) in a way that amplifies or increases the noise it emits above 
watercraft noise limits. No person shall operate or sell a motorboat with 
any such modification, or sell parts to facilitate such modification.

• It is unlawful to operate a personal watercraft while intoxicated.

Personal Watercraft Tips
Many personal watercraft accidents involve new and inexperienced 
riders who haven’t received adequate training. If you or your family own a 
personal watercraft or are going to purchase one, ask the dealer to provide 
you with any safety information they may have for your craft. All machines 
are supplied with an owner’s manual and many come equipped with a safety 
video. Have everyone who operates the machine watch the video and read 
the safety information.

Avoid Explosions
• Before starting, check the engine compartment for gasoline vapors, 

especially after refueling or when the engine is running poorly.
• Don’t start the engine and seek repair if vapors are present.

Give It the Gas
Many PWC accidents have occurred because the operators forgot (or 
never learned) that a personal watercraft will not turn unless you apply 
the throttle. The only way it will turn is if there is water spraying out the 
steering nozzle.
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Be a Good Neighbor
• Talk to your neighbors.
• Don’t operate in the same area for a long period of time.
• Operate far from shore and other boaters.

RENTING WATERCRAFT
• All watercraft offered for rent are subject to periodic inspection by the 

county sheriff. An inspection decal will be issued to each craft that passes 
this inspection.

• The rental agent is required to provide U.S. Coast Guard‑approved 
life jackets in serviceable condition, as well as all other required safety 
equipment.

• All rental craft must meet the federal manufacturer’s flotation 
requirements as of the date they were constructed.

• A boat may not be rented to a person who is under the influence of 
alcohol or a controlled substance.

• A rental boat loaded beyond its weight capacity or powered beyond its 
horsepower capacity may not leave the place where it is rented.

• Boats may not be rented, or offered for rent, unless they are in safe 
condition.

• Those 18 years of age and older must follow the boating education 
requirement. Under 18 years is not able to rent.

• See page 34 for regulations governing personal watercraft dealers and 
rental operators.

ACCIDENTS
If an accident occurs, follow these simple steps:
• Call 911.
• Stop at the scene and assist others who are in trouble if you can do so 

safely (required by law).
• Don’t risk your life or the lives of others to save equipment.
• If a second boat or other property is involved, exchange your name and 

boat number with the other operator or owner (as required by law).
• The county sheriff investigates all watercraft accidents, follow their 

instruction.
• It is required by law to report the following accidents to the county sheriff:

 – Property damage of $2,000 or more.
 – Personal injury. 
 – A fatality. 
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OTHER WATER ACTIVITIES
PADDLING
Canoes, kayaks and stand‑up paddleboards are all considered watercraft in 
Minnesota.

Paddling Safety
• Always wear a U.S. Coast Guard‑approved life jacket.
• Keep your balance. Stay low, move slow.
• Check your equipment and your skills before attempting a paddling trip.
• Check river levels at mndnr.gov/watertrails
• Be a competent swimmer.
• Tell someone where you are going, when you are coming back and when 

to call for help.
• Paddle with a friend. Safety increases with numbers.
• Be aware of hazards like dams, rapids, current and big waves.
• Dress for the weather and water temperature. Be prepared for cold 

water immersion.
• Avoid paddling under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
• Learn how to get out of, hang on to and re‑enter your capsized 

watercraft.
• Take the free BoaterExam Paddle Sports Safety Course online or other 

paddling safety courses through the American Canoe Association.
• Wear bright clothes, carry a whistle and a white light. 

Laws
• Nonmotorized craft over 10 feet require registration in Minnesota.
• A U.S. Coast Guard‑approved wearable life jacket is required for each 

person on board a watercraft.
• Children under 10 years old are required to wear a life jacket.

SCUBA DIVING
Scuba divers must display a warning flag when diving.

Scuba diving laws and rules
• Boats not involved with the diving operation must 

remain 150 feet away from a flag.
• No more than four divers shall dive under one flag.
• Divers must remain within 50 feet (measured 

horizontally) of the warning flag.

DIVER’S FLAG

continued on next page

http://mndnr.gov/watertrails
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• If a group of divers is using a contained area, the perimeter of the area 
must be marked. The area must be outside the normal area of navigation. 
These markings must consist of the official diver’s flag and must be 
placed around the perimeter of the diving area at intervals of not more 
than 150 feet.

• Persons who dive from one hour after sunset to sunrise on the following 
day must carry a diver’s light visible when above the water for a distance 
of 150 feet.

• Scuba or skin diving while in possession of a spear is unlawful from sunset 
to sunrise.

• Do not place a diver’s flag where it will obstruct navigation.

The Diver’s Flag:
• Must measure at least 15 inches horizontally and 12 inches vertically. 
• Both sides must have a red‑colored background bisected diagonally by a 

3‑inch wide white stripe. 
• There is also a blue and white diver’s flag authorized under the federal 

rules of the road.

The diver’s flag may be displayed on a watercraft or float or be anchored 
to the bottom. The top of the flag must be at least 30 inches above the 
surface, however.

SWIMMING AREAS
Required Permits
Obtain a permit for swimming area markers from the county sheriff. No 
swimming marker may obstruct navigation or unduly interfere with public 
use of the water. Sheriffs or conservation officers may direct the owner to 
move such markers or remove them from the water. 

Individual Swim Areas
The owner or lessee of shoreline property may mark off up to 2,500 square 
feet, but not more than 50 feet along the lake frontage, for a swimming 
area directly in front of his or her property. No watercraft may enter this 
area but the water remains public waters.

Markers to designate an individual swimming area must:
• Be white with an orange diamond and cross on each side. A white gallon 

plastic bottle with the orange markings painted on each side fulfills this 
requirement.

• Extend out of the water at least 6 inches but no more than 14 and should 
be spaced no more than 15 feet apart. 
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Public Swim Areas 
Public swimming areas (including resorts) must be marked 
off with the standard 9 inches or larger “Swim Area” buoy. 
This buoy is white with an orange band at the bottom and 
top. Between the orange bands is an orange diamond with 
a cross inside. The design appears on opposite sides of the 
buoy. Above or below the diamond shapes are the words SWIM AREA in 
black, 2‑inch lettering. Marker buoys must not be spaced more than 75 feet 
apart. Smaller all‑white markers may be used to add definition to the 
area marked by regulation markers. Size limits are at the discretion of the 
county sheriff.

SEAPLANES
Who has the right of way, a seaplane or a boat? In general, seaplane pilots 
bear primary responsibility for staying clear of boats and not impeding their 
navigation. Rights‑of‑way are more specifically defined in the following 
circumstances: When a seaplane and boat are on a crossing course, the 
plane or boat to the right has the right‑of‑way; when approaching head‑on, 
each should alter its course to the right; when one is overtaking the other, 
the one being overtaken has the right‑of‑way and the other should alter 
course. Boaters, especially, must remember there are times when seaplanes 
have little or no ability to maneuver, so it’s important for them to be aware 
of their surroundings and alter their course as necessary.

TEMPORARY STRUCTURES, DOCKS AND BUOYS
Docks that extend from shore may not interfere with navigation and 
generally require no permit, unless they exceed certain width or number of 
mooring space limits.

For current information, see the DNR publication “Docks and 
Access in Public Waters” by checking the DNR website: mndnr.gov/
publications/waters or contacting the DNR Information Center at 
651‑296‑6157 or 888‑MINNDNR (646‑6367). (There may be local 
ordinances on docks.)

Structures such as swimming rafts, boat lifts, buoys, slalom courses, ski 
jumps, etc., which do not extend from shore, cannot be in the water 
between sunset and sunrise unless allowed under permit issued by 
county sheriff.

continued on next page

http://mndnr.gov/publications/waters
http://mndnr.gov/publications/waters
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All structures placed under a permit must have the permit number painted 
on them. In addition, the structure or buoy must either have a light visible 
in all directions or be reflectorized to reflect light from all directions.

Persons placing structures on joint federal‑state waters may need a permit 
from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. 

SPECIAL EVENTS
Persons holding regattas, races, tournaments, or other competition or 
exhibition events on the water must first obtain a permit for the event from 
the county sheriff.

Those holding events on commercially‑navigable, joint‑jurisdictional 
waters (primarily Lake Superior, the Mississippi River downstream from 
St. Anthony Falls, the Minnesota River east of Shakopee, and the St. Croix 
River from Stillwater downstream) must obtain a marine event permit from 
the U.S. Coast Guard.

PUBLIC WATERS AND WATER APPROPRIATION PERMITS
Any work in the bed of public waters (below the ordinary high water 
level), such as dredging, filling, draining, and placement of structures, 
or water appropriations of more than 10,000 gallons per day or 1 million 
gallons per year requires a permit from the DNR Ecological and Water 
Resources Division.

AQUATIC PLANT MANAGEMENT PERMITS
Any control of aquatic vegetation, either native species or non‑native 
invasive species, in public waters (lakes, rivers, or wetlands) or the control 
of other aquatic nuisances (e.g., swimmer’s itch) is regulated by the DNR.

Those activities which require a permit, as well as activities that can 
be done without a permit, are summarized on pages 40–41. For more 
information go to mndnr.gov/apm or search for “mndnr apm.”

An aquatic plant management permit is needed for:
• Destruction of any emergent vegetation such as cattails and bulrushes.
• Removal of submerged vegetation in: an area of more than 2,500 square 

feet OR an area exceeding 50 feet along the shoreline or one‑half the 
owner’s total frontage, whichever is less.

• Applying herbicides or algaecides.
• Moving or removing a bog of any size that is free‑floating or lodged in 

any area other than its place of origin in public waters.

http://mndnr.gov/apm
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• Transplanting aquatic plants into public waters.
• Use of automated aquatic plant control devices such as Crary 

WeedRoller®.
• Physical removal of water lilies or other floating‑leaf vegetation in an 

area exceeding a 15‑foot wide channel.

When an aquatic plant management permit is NOT needed:
There are some things a lakeshore property owner can do without a permit 
to maintain a boat docking site or swimming area. A lakeshore property 
owner may mechanically clear the following without a permit:
• Submerged vegetation 

An area for swimming or boat docking not exceeding 2,500 square 
feet and not extending more than 50 feet or one‑half the length of 
the owner’s shoreline frontage (whichever is less) may be cleared of 
submerged aquatic vegetation only by cutting or pulling the plants. The 
cleared area must remain in the same location each year.

• Floating‑leaf vegetation 
A boat channel 15 feet or less in width extending to open water may 
be maintained by mechanical means (cutting or pulling) through 
floating‑leaf (water lilies) and submerged vegetation. The channel must 
take the most direct route to open water and remain in the same location 
each year. Vegetation that is cut or pulled must be immediately and 
permanently removed from the water and disposed of on high ground 
where it will not re‑enter the lake.

What is not allowed:
Some of these activities may be allowed for the selective control of 
invasive aquatic plants.
• Excavation of the lake bottom for aquatic plant control.
• Use of hydraulic jets to control aquatic plants or remove muck.
• Destruction of or prevention of the growth of aquatic plants by using 

lake bottom barriers.
• Removal of aquatic vegetation within posted fish‑spawning areas.
• Removal of aquatic plants from an undeveloped shoreline.
• Removal of aquatic plants where they do not interfere with swimming, 

boating or other recreation.
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LOCAL BOATING RESTRICTIONS
Certain bodies of water in Minnesota have local restrictions as to the type 
and size of watercraft or motor horsepower, areas which can be used by 
boats, boat speed, times for use, and minimum distance between boats. 
With few exceptions, local restrictions on boat use on Minnesota waters 
must be approved by the DNR and posted at public access points.

Questions regarding lakes or rivers with local restrictions can be directed 
to the appropriate county sheriff, or the DNR Information Center. A list of 
approved local restrictions is posted on the DNR webpage at: mndnr.gov/
boatingsafety. Click on local water restrictions.

BOAT TRAILERS
Dimensions
• The maximum length of a boat trailer and boat is 45 feet.
• No trailer load may exceed 8½ feet wide or 13½ feet high.

Lights
• Two red tail lights, license plate light (not required on trailers with 

permanent registration) and two red reflectors are required on the rear 
of all trailers.

• Signal and brake lamps are recommended on all trailers and required 
whenever the signals of the towing vehicle are not visible to the 
other drivers. 

• Trailers over 80 inches wide also require front and rear clearance 
lamps, and combinations over 30 feet long must have front and rear 
marker lamps.

Hitch and Coupling
• The hitch and coupling of the trailer must meet state standards. 
• Safety chains or cables are required.

Brakes
Brakes of adequate effectiveness are required on all trailers of 3,000 
pounds or more gross weight.

Following
Drivers of vehicles towing a trailer must maintain a distance of 500 feet 
between their vehicle and the vehicle ahead.

More information on trailer laws is available from the Minnesota 
Department of Public Safety in St. Paul or from any Minnesota State 
Patrol office.

http://mndnr.gov/boatingsafety
http://mndnr.gov/boatingsafety
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Before Driving
• Check tires, test trailer brakes and signal lights, crisscross the 

safety chains.
• Properly secure tie down straps, winch/bow line, and all gear in the vessel.
• Tilt and secure the engine.
• Remove the drain plug.

Launching
• Prepare to launch away from the ramp.
• Leave the winch/bow line attached, remove tie downs and transfer 

remaining gear.
• Put the plug in.
• Back vehicle into the water until the vessel floats.
• Unhook bow line, secure vessel to dock or shore and park vehicle and 

trailer in parking lot.

Retrieving
• Back the trailer into the water so two‑thirds of rollers or bunks are 

submerged.
• Move vessel onto trailer, attach winch/bow line to bow eye, crank the 

winch to pull the vessel all the way onto the trailer.
• Tow vessel off ramp and out of the way for others.
• Clean, Drain, Dispose all aquatic plants, mud, animals and water.
• Repeat the “before driving” tips.

When the boat landing is busy, the line for launching and loading watercraft 
is based on the vehicles on land, not the boats in the water. Your time on 
the boat ramp should be no more than a few minutes. For the courtesy of 
others, please prepare your boat for launching and secure your boat for 
travel away from the ramp area.
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BOATING EMERGENCIES
RESCUE BREATHING FOR DROWNING VICTIMS
Drowning victims need oxygen before compressions. Follow these steps:
1. Start right away.
2. Provide two rescue breaths as soon as you safely can do so. Usually this 

is when you are in shallow water or on shore.
3. Once on shore, tilt the head backward so the chin is pointed upward 

and the air passage is open.
4. Pinch the nostrils to prevent air leakage.
5. Place your mouth over the victim’s mouth so that you form an 

airtight seal.
6. Blow for one second to make the chest clearly rise. Give two 

rescue breaths.
7. If chest does not rise, re‑tilt head and give another breath. If you do 

not hear air coming, recheck the head and jaw position and clear the 
victim’s mouth.

8. Check victim’s pulse. If no pulse, perform CPR. Include breathing!
9. DO NOT STOP! Continue cycles of CPR. Do not stop CPR except in 

one of these situations:
 – You find an obvious sign of life, such as breathing.
 – An AED is ready to use.
 – Another trained responder or EMS personnel take over.
 – You are too exhausted to continue.
 – The scene becomes unsafe.

FALLING OVERBOARD
Prevent persons from falling overboard:
• Avoid a sudden shift in weight or change in speed. Quick movement can 

cause a boater to fall overboard or a boat to capsize.

If someone on your boat falls overboard:
• Reduce speed and toss the victim a throwable flotation device.
• Turn your boat around and slowly pull alongside the victim, approaching 

the victim from downwind or into the current, whichever is stronger.
• Turn off the engine. Pull the victim on board over the stern, keeping the 

weight in the boat balanced.
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CAPSIZING OR SWAMPING
To reduce the risk of capsizing or swamping:
• Don’t overload your boat. Balance the load.
• Secure the anchor line to the bow, never to the stern.
• Don’t boat in rough water or in bad weather — always wear a life jacket in 

bad weather.
• If you do fall out or capsize, stay with your boat and try to reboard. 
• Most capsized watercraft can still float.
• A craft in the water is also easier for rescuers to locate.
• If you have to remain in the water, do not attempt to swim unless it is to a 

nearby boat or floating object.

continued on next page

BOATING IN COLD WATER
Resist the urge to fight the water: rest and recover
If wearing a life jacket, the 1‑10‑1 principle may save your life:

1 minute
 – Get breathing under control.

10 minutes of meaningful movement
 – Assess the situation and make a plan.

 – Perform most important functions first, 
such as locating other party members.

 – Self‑rescue if possible.

 – Signal or call for help.

1 hour (or more) of useful consciousness
 – Focus on slowing heat loss.
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COLD WATER
• One‑third of boating fatalities in Minnesota occur on cold water.
• Always wear a life jacket when on or working near cold water.
• Dress in several layers of clothing under your life jacket.

If you fall into cold water: 
• Put on your life jacket, if you are not wearing one.
• Keep boots and clothes on. Almost all clothing, even hip boots and 

waders, will float for an extended period of time. 
• Don’t thrash or move about. Excess motion consumes energy and 

increases loss of body heat.
• Draw your knees to your chest and your arms to your sides, protecting 

the major areas of heat loss.
• If others are in the water with you, huddle together with your arms 

around their shoulders. 

PROPELLER INJURIES
Each year, people are seriously injured or killed by 
being hit by a propeller.
• Be sure to turn off your motor any time people 

are in the water near your boat, especially near 
the stern.

• Never allow passengers to board or exit from the 
water when the motor is running. The prop may 
continue to turn even when the motor is in neutral, 
or someone could accidentally bump the shift lever.

• Stay away from other boats towing skiers or tubers.
• Never use reverse to pick someone up from the water, instead go 

around again.
• Don’t let passengers sit on the transom, gunwales or bow while 

underway, unless there are adequate railings to prevent falling overboard.
• Use the engine cut‑off lanyard that came with your motor and consider 

installing propeller safety devices.
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THE “CIRCLE OF DEATH”
Every year, serious injuries or deaths occur when operators let go of the 
steering wheel or outboard steering handle while the boat is moving. The 
steering torque forces the motor to slam left causing the boat to swerve 
sharply to the right, throwing the victim into the water.

The boat continues to travel in a circle and returns to strike the victim 
in the water, inflicting massive propeller wounds. Thus the term “circle 
of death.”

The way to avoid circle of death accidents is to avoid letting go of the 
steering wheel or handle until the boat ceases all forward motion.

If you notice that you must apply extra pressure on the steering wheel or 
handle, have your boat serviced immediately.

For outboards and inboard‑outboard craft, corrective measures may 
involve resetting the boat’s trim tab, the small fin mounted on the 
anti‑ventilation or cavitation plate just behind the prop.

If the motor is equipped with an automatic kill switch, be sure to fasten the 
lanyard to your life jacket or some article of clothing such as a belt loop.

If you do fall out of your boat, the lanyard, which is attached to the 
electrical system, disables the motor, keeping the boat from circling back 
to hit you.

Make sure that clamp‑on swivel seats are tightly secured and that seat 
backs are sturdy enough to withstand the shock of a victim being thrown 
against them.
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CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING 
Carbon monoxide (CO) is an odorless, colorless, tasteless gas that can be 
toxic even in very small quantities since its effects are cumulative over 
time. Passengers on any boat with a motor can become victims of carbon 
monoxide poisoning. If CO is suspected, open all hatches, windows and 
ports to ventilate.

Common signs of carbon monoxide poisoning include irritated eyes, 
headache, nausea, weakness and dizziness. These symptoms can often be 
misdiagnosed as seasickness or intoxication.

Swimmers have died when venturing too close to houseboats’ swim 
platforms while engines or generators were running, and victims have been 
poisoned while being towed, dragged or sitting too near the stern of a boat. 
All carbon monoxide poisonings are preventable.

To help avoid the dangers of carbon monoxide on your watercraft:
• Install marine rated CO detectors and supplement with low level 

CO detectors.
• Keep air flowing throughout the boat whenever any gas or diesel engine 

or propane appliance is running.
• Stay away from any area where engine or generator exhaust is vented.
• Do not leave your generator running at night or when anchored.
• Keep your boat and motor properly maintained, including keeping 

exhaust clamps tight and in place.
• Replace exhaust hoses if there is cracking, deterioration or damage.
• Skiing, dragging, or tubing closer than 20 feet from a motorboat can be 

fatal from carbon monoxide poisoning—stay well away!

IF YOU SUSPECT CARBON 
MONOXIDE POISONING, CALL 911!
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THE DROWNING MACHINE
Boating or swimming near a lowhead dam can be dangerous or even deadly.

Lowhead dams are usually small structures no more than 10 feet 
high, although some are as low as 6 inches. They may be hard to see 
from upstream.

In the spring and during other periods of high runoff, however, the 
dams become very dangerous. The recirculating current created by the 
water pouring over the dam creates a backwash. This current takes any 
object — including people wearing life jackets — to the bottom of the stream, 
releases it to the surface, sucks it back to the face of the dam, and pushes it 
back to the bottom; the cycle can continue indefinitely. Keep well clear of 
these structures.

This sign, installed at many 
dam sites around the state, 
warns people of the potential 
dangers of a lowhead dam.

FLOAT PLAN
Before you head out on the water, let someone know where you are going 
to be boating and when you will return. Give them a description of your 
car, where it will be parked, and information about your boat and who will 
be on board.

Be sure to contact that person when you return or prior if you are 
delayed. It is very important that the person understands they are to call 
911 if you do not return on time. 

BOATING COURSES
Learn more about boating and water safety. Take the Minnesota DNR 
boating safety course online or a classroom course taught by the U.S. Coast 
Guard Auxiliary or U.S. Power Squadrons. For more information go 
to  mndnr.gov/boatingcourse.

DANGER!
HAZARDOUS RECIRCULATING
CURRENTS BELOW THIS DAM

CAN TRAP AND DROWN A VICTIM

http://mndnr.gov/boatingcourse
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BOATING ON LAKE SUPERIOR
As more people turn to the 
waters of Lake Superior 
for fishing and boating, the 
importance of boating safety 
cannot be overemphasized. 
Take a boating safety course 
from the U.S. Coast Guard 
Auxiliary (USCGAux) or U.S. 
Power Squadrons and get advice 
from veteran boaters.

Make sure your boat size is appropriate and you have the required safety 
equipment — have a USCGAux Vessel Safety Check (VSC) to make sure.

Weather can change rapidly on the lake — monitor the skies and radio. Water 
temperatures on Superior are always cold — even in the summer. Always 
wear your life jacket and consider other survival gear as well.

Carry a VHF marine radio, chart, visual distress signals, Global Positioning 
System (GPS) and EPIRB (Emergency Position Indicating Radio Beacon) 
or PLB (Personal Locator Beacon) but remember electronics can 
sometimes fail.

Let someone know where you are going and when you will return.

Take advantage of the DNR’s safe harbors and launch ramps on Lake 
Superior. Order a free copy of the Lake Superior Boating Guide by 
contacting the DNR Information Center. You may also download it from 
mndnr.gov/boatingsafety and click on Lake Superior small craft harbors.

VISUAL DISTRESS SIGNALS
Visual distress signals (VDS) allow boat operators to signal for help in the 
event of an emergency.

Lake Superior is the only body of water in Minnesota where federal law 
requires visual distress signals to be carried on board boats.
• Craft less than 16 feet, boats participating in organized events, 

nonmotorized open sailboats less than 26 feet and manually propelled 
boats are NOT required to carry VDS during the daytime, but must carry 
night VDS when operating between sunset and sunrise.

All VDS must be U.S. Coast Guard approved or certified, in serviceable 
condition and readily accessible. 

http://mndnr.gov/boatingsafety
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Pyrotechnic devices may not be beyond their expiration date. 
Nonpyrotechnic VDS include:
• Orange distress flag (day signal only). 

 – Distress flag which is at least 3 feet by 3 feet with a black square and 
ball on an orange background.

• Electric distress light (night signal only).

For more complete information on VDS and other federal requirements go 
to uscgboating.org.

SECURITY
On occasion, you may encounter U.S. Navy ships on Lake Superior or the 
Duluth–Superior Harbor.
• Stay at least 100 yards from these vessels and operate at slow no‑wake 

speed within 500 yards. If possible, avoid commercial ships and port 
areas on Lake Superior.

• Observe any restricted areas near power plants, dams and bridges and 
when possible, avoid anchoring near these areas.

• Report any suspicious activity immediately by calling 911 or use your 
marine radio to contact the U.S. Coast Guard, state or local enforcement 
officers. The Coast Guard has also established a 24‑hour toll‑free number 
at its national response center 800‑424‑8802. Suspicious activities 
could include:

 – People appearing to be engaged in surveillance activities, especially 
around critical or restricted areas.

 – Unusual boating activity or unattended boats in unusual locations.
 – Persons attempting to buy or rent a boat with cash for a short‑term 
undefined use.

 – Large numbers of people on board nonpassenger vessels.
 – Unusual nighttime activity or lights flashing between boats.

http://uscgboating.org
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PUBLIC WATER ACCESS
The Minnesota DNR, county, city, township, tribal and federal government 
units all provide public water access sites throughout the state. Both 
carry‑in and trailer access sites are available on lakes and rivers.

Most trailer access sites have concrete launch ramps and are designed for 
launching watercraft up to 18 ft. in length, with some that can handle larger 
boats. Amenities at each access vary, however, most trailer boat launch 
sites have a concrete ramp and a dock. There are typically no launch fees 
unless the access is located within a park requiring a vehicle permit or there 
is an ordinance or rule in place. The following activities are unlawful at DNR 
owned public water access sites: littering, camping, overnight mooring, 
shooting/hunting, fires, storage of watercraft, vehicles, or equipment of 
any kind, and consuming alcoholic beverages. Access sites owned by others 
may have different hours and rules. 

Free maps of public water access sites and state water trails are available 
at mndnr.gov and through the DNR Information Center. To report a 
problem, contact the site administrator, or the DNR Information Center, 
651‑296‑6157 or 888‑MINNDNR (646‑6367) or email info.dnr@state.
mn.us.

WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS
For regulations pertaining to the use of motorboats within wildlife 
management areas, be sure to check the “Minnesota Hunting and Trapping 
Regulations” handbook or contact the DNR Information Center at 
651‑296‑6157 or 888‑MINNDNR (646‑6367).

SUNKEN BOATS AND VEHICLES
Minnesota law requires that watercraft and motor vehicles (including cars, 
trucks, snowmobiles and ATVs) that sink in a lake or river be removed by 
the owner within 30 days. 

Owners must also notify the county sheriff within 48 hours. 

If the watercraft or vehicle is not removed, the local unit of government 

can remove it and charge the owner two to five times the cost of removal.

http://www.mndnr.gov
mailto:info.dnr%40state.mn.us?subject=
mailto:info.dnr%40state.mn.us?subject=
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DAY APR.
SUN‑
RISE

APR. 
SUN‑
SET

MAY
SUN‑
RISE

MAY
SUN‑
SET

JUNE
SUN‑
RISE

JUNE
SUN‑
SET

JULY
SUN‑
RISE

JULY
SUN‑
SET

AUG.
SUN‑
RISE

AUG.
SUN‑
SET

SEPT.
SUN‑
RISE

SEPT.
SUN‑
SET

OCT.
SUN‑
RISE

OCT.
SUN‑
SET

1 6:53 7:41 6:02 8:19 5:29 8:53 5:31 9:03 5:59 8:39 6:36 7:49 7:11 6:53

2 6:51 7:42 6:00 8:20 5:29 8:54 5:31 9:03 6:00 8:38 6:37 7:48 7:13 6:51

3 6:49 7:44 5:59 8:21 5:29 8:54 5:32 9:03 6:01 8:36 6:38 7:46 7:14 6:49

4 6:47 7:45 5:58 8:23 5:28 8:55 5:32 9:02 6:02 8:35 6:39 7:44 7:15 6:47

5 6:46 7:46 5:56 8:24 5:28 8:56 5:33 9:02 6:03 8:34 6:40 7:42 7:16 6:45

6 6:44 7:48 5:55 8:25 5:27 8:57 5:34 9:02 6:05 8:32 6:41 7:40 7:18 6:44

7 6:42 7:49 5:53 8:26 5:27 8:57 5:34 9:01 6:06 8:31 6:43 7:38 7:19 6:42

8 6:40 7:50 5:52 8:28 5:27 8:58 5:35 9:01 6:07 8:29 6:44 7:36 7:20 6:40

9 6:38 7:51 5:51 8:29 5:26 8:59 5:36 9:00 6:08 8:28 6:45 7:35 7:21 6:38

10 6:37 7:53 5:50 8:30 5:26 8:59 5:37 9:00 6:09 8:26 6:46 7:33 7:23 6:36

11 6:35 7:54 5:48 8:31 5:26 9:00 5:38 8:59 6:11 8:25 6:47 7:31 7:24 6:34

12 6:33 7:55 5:47 8:32 5:26 9:00 5:38 8:59 6:12 8:23 6:49 7:29 7:25 6:33

13 6:31 7:56 5:46 8:33 5:26 9:01 5:39 8:58 6:13 8:22 6:50 7:27 7:27 6:31

14 6:29 7:58 5:45 8:35 5:26 9:01 5:40 8:57 6:14 8:20 6:51 7:25 7:28 6:29

15 6:28 7:59 5:44 8:36 5:26 9:02 5:41 8:56 6:15 8:19 6:52 7:23 7:29 6:27

16 6:26 8:00 5:43 8:37 5:26 9:02 5:42 8:56 6:16 8:17 6:53 7:21 7:30 6:26

17 6:24 8:01 5:42 8:38 5:26 9:02 5:43 8:55 6:18 8:16 6:55 7:19 7:32 6:24

18 6:23 8:03 5:40 8:39 5:26 9:03 5:44 8:54 6:19 8:14 6:56 7:17 7:33 6:22

19 6:21 8:04 5:39 8:40 5:26 9:03 5:45 8:53 6:20 8:12 6:57 7:16 7:34 6:21

20 6:19 8:05 5:38 8:41 5:26 9:03 5:46 8:52 6:21 8:11 6:58 7:14 7:36 6:19

21 6:18 8:07 5:38 8:42 5:26 9:03 5:47 8:51 6:22 8:09 6:59 7:12 7:37 6:17

22 6:16 8:08 5:37 8:43 5:27 9:04 5:48 8:50 6:24 8:07 7:01 7:10 7:38 6:16

23 6:14 8:09 5:36 8:44 5:27 9:04 5:49 8:49 6:25 8:05 7:02 7:08 7:40 6:14

24 6:13 8:10 5:35 8:45 5:27 9:04 5:50 8:48 6:26 8:04 7:03 7:06 7:41 6:13

25 6:11 8:12 5:34 8:46 5:28 9:04 5:51 8:47 6:27 8:02 7:04 7:04 7:42 6:11

26 6:09 8:13 5:33 8:47 5:28 9:04 5:52 8:46 6:28 8:00 7:05 7:02 7:44 6:09

27 6:08 8:14 5:33 8:48 5:29 9:04 5:53 8:45 6:30 7:58 7:07 7:00 7:45 6:08

28 6:06 8:15 5:32 8:49 5:29 9:04 5:54 8:44 6:31 7:57 7:08 6:58 7:46 6:06

29 6:05 8:17 5:31 8:50 5:29 9:04 5:56 8:43 6:32 7:55 7:09 6:57 7:48 6:05

30 6:03 8:18 5:31 8:51 5:30 9:03 5:57 8:42 6:33 7:53 7:10 6:55 7:49 6:03

31 5:30 8:52 5:58 8:40 6:34 7:51 7:51 6:02

Longitude of Minneapolis (from National Oceanic and Atmospheric 
Administration). Variation approximately 4 minutes to each degree or 
1 minute for each 12 miles. Add to determine time for points west, and 
subtract for points east of Minneapolis. To determine the exact sunrise and 
sunset time for your location — log on to: www.esrl.noaa.gov/gmd/grad/
solcalc/sunrise.html

SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE FOR 2025 

http://www.esrl.noaa.gov/gmd/grad/solcalc/sunrise.html
http://www.esrl.noaa.gov/gmd/grad/solcalc/sunrise.html
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AGENCY DIRECTORY
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Information Center
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155‑4040
Info.dnr@state.mn.us
651‑296‑6157 or 888‑MINNDNR 

Conservation Officer
To reach a Conservation Officer contact the DNR Information Center. 
To locate an officer in your area go to mndnr.gov/enforcement 
and click on Locate a Conservation Officer. You can also contact 
the Minnesota State Patrol or County Sheriff to reach a MN DNR 
Conservation Officer.

Region 3: Central
1200 Warner Road
St. Paul, MN 55106
651‑259‑5800

Region 4: Southern 
21371 State Highway 15
New Ulm, MN 56073
507‑233‑1200

DNR Regional Headquarters
Region 1: Northwest
2115 Birchmont Beach Road N.E.
Bemidji, MN 56601
218‑308‑2700

Region 2: Northeast
1201 E. Highway 2
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
218‑328‑8780

Registration and Titling
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155‑4026
651‑296‑2316 or 800‑285‑2000

COUNTY SHERIFFS
Check local listings for County Sheriff’s non‑emergency numbers. In an 
emergency call 911 anywhere in Minnesota. 

mailto:Info.dnr@state.mn.us
http://mndnr.gov/enforcement
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UNITED STATES COAST GUARD
Ninth Coast Guard District
Sault Ste. Marie (for Lake Superior) 906‑635‑3228

Coast Guard Station Duluth  218‑529‑3100

Eighth Coast Guard District
Upper Mississippi   314‑269‑2500

UNITED STATES ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS
St. Paul District    651‑290‑5807

WEBSITES
Minnesota DNR, Boat and Water Safety 
mndnr.gov/boatingsafety

Minnesota DNR Online Licensing
mndnr.gov/licenses

U.S. Coast Guard — Boating Safety
uscgboating.org

U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary
cgaux.org

America’s Boating Club (U.S. Power Squadrons)
americasboatingclub.org

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers — St. Paul
www.mvp.usace.army.mil

National Park Service
• Voyageurs National Park nps.gov/voya
• St. Croix Scenic Riverway nps.gov/sacn
• Mississippi National River and Recreation Area nps.gov/miss

Wisconsin DNR
dnr.wi.gov

Canada, Office of Boating Safety
tc.gc.ca

Minnesota State Legislature (statutes and rules)
www.leg.mn.gov

http://mndnr.gov/boatingsafety
http://mndnr.gov/licenses
http://uscgboating.org
http://cgaux.org
http://americasboatingclub.org
http://www.mvp.usace.army.mil
http://nps.gov/voya
http://nps.gov/sacn
http://nps.gov/miss
http://dnr.wi.gov
http://tc.gc.ca
http://www.leg.mn.gov
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OPERATOR FLOAT PLAN

DESCRIPTION OF BOAT
Size

Color

Make

Boat’s registration number

MN‑

NAMES AND ADDRESSES OF ALL PEOPLE ON BOARD

TRIP PLAN
When Leaving

Where

Expect to return by

Vehicle parked where 

Description and license of vehicle

Can be contacted by calling (radio call letters, cell phone, destination)

If not returned by (time)
Call the following:
 County sheriff at ( ) 

 U.S. Coast Guard at ( )

Don’t forget to cancel your float plan when you get home. 



FREE PUBLICATIONS
The DNR has free boat and water safety publications available at 
mndnr.gov/boatingsafety or by mail at no charge:
• Danger, Thin Ice (ice safety tips)
• Think Twice Before Walking on Ice (kids coloring and activity book)
• Cold Water Kills
• Carbon Monoxide Warning Stickers (stern, helm, cabin)
• Water Safety for Duck Hunters
• Metro Area Rivers Guide (Twin Cities) 
• Mississippi River Guide (Hastings, Minnesota to Iowa)
• Minnesota Boating Guide (this publication)
• Lake Superior Boating Guide
• Water Safety Coloring Book
• H2O Toons Comic Book
• Recommended Ice Thickness Safety Card
• Ice Safety Poster
• Personal Watercraft Rules Decal 
• Buoy Identification Sticker 
• Stop That Prop (warning sticker)
• Check The Drain Plug (sticker)
• Dual Language Boating Safety Tips brochure — English plus one other 

language — please select language:
 – Hmong
 – Cambodian
 – Laotian
 – Spanish
 – Vietnamese

Contact the DNR Information Center for any Boat and Water Safety 
publications:
 Phone: 651‑296‑6157
 Email: info.dnr@state.mn.us

mailto:Info.dnr%40state.mn.us?subject=


BOAT AND WATER SAFETY
500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155‑4047
888‑MINNDNR (646‑6367) or 651‑296‑6157

mndnr.gov

ENF_0012_25

The Minnesota DNR prohibits discrimination in its programs and services based on race, color, creed, 
religion, national origin, sex, marital or familial status, disability, public assistance status, age, sexual 
orientation, and local human rights commission activity. 

Individuals with a disability who need a reasonable accommodation to access or participate in DNR 
programs and services, including those who would like to request this document in an alternative 
format, should contact the DNR ADA Title II Coordinator at info.dnr@state.mn.us. We welcome 
calls from Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS) users. For assistance in other languages, please 
call 651‑296‑6157 or 888‑MINNDNR (646‑6367).

Discrimination inquiries should be sent to Minnesota DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 
55155‑4049; or U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Office for Civil Rights and Civil Liberties, 
Compliance Branch, 245 Murray Lane SW, Building 410, Mail Stop #0190, Washington, D.C. 20528.

©2025, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources

Printed on recycled paper containing a minimum 
of 10 percent post‑consumer waste and vegetable‑based ink.

CALL US
Interpreters are available to answer all of your questions

License, Titling and Registration: M‑F 8 a.m.‑4:30 p.m.
General information: M‑F 8 a.m.‑6 p.m., Sat. 8 a.m.‑4:30 p.m.

888‑MINNDNR (646‑6367) or 651‑296‑6157
info.dnr@state.mn.us

MN DNR Enforcement @mndnr_ENF minnesotadnr

FSC LOGO

http://www.mndnr.gov
mailto:info.dnr%40state.mn.us?subject=boating%20guide
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