10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886
10/1//24			INDTOOL

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

1.24

1.25

Proposed Expedited Rules: Electronic Licensing System

6100.5002 SPECIAL PERMITS.

Upon written application by the responsible event sponsor to the commissioner, special operating permits for limited periods of time not to exceed 30 days may be issued to operators of snowmobiles from states which do not require registration when such snowmobiles are to be used in connection with a responsibly organized group outing, trailride, race, rally, or other promotional events. Such The permit shall be conspicuously displayed on the snowmobile and is valid only when the snowmobile is used in connection with the event for which the permit was issued and for the period of time shown on the permit.

6213.0100 DEFINITIONS.

[For text of subparts 1 to 4, see Minnesota Rules]

Subp. 5. **Electronic license system.** "Electronic license system" means the Minnesota system of using point-of-sale equipment, agents, online sales, or a telephone service to collect data and to issue electronic licenses.

[For text of subpart 6, see Minnesota Rules]

6213.0400 TERMS OF AGENT CONTRACT.

[For text of subparts 1 to 6, see Minnesota Rules]

- Subp. 7. **Communication and electrical needs.** An agent must agree to provide an established communications connection and access to electrical outlets to use the point-of-sale equipment. The equipment must include the ability to print a license on ordinary paper.
- Subp. 8. Lost or missing materials and equipment; terms of deposit. Except for acts beyond their control, an agent must agree to be responsible for lost, stolen, missing, or destroyed electronic licenses and materials and point-of-sale equipment relating to electronic licenses. An agent, except for those agents who are appointed as a deputy registrar of motor

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886
1(1/1 // //4	RHVISOR		RIIAXXA

2.1	vehicles by the commissioner of public safety under Minnesota Statutes, section 168.33,
2.2	must provide a deposit not to exceed \$500 per set of equipment. The deposit shall be held
2.3	in a clearing account. The deposit shall be refunded at the time an agent terminates the
2.4	agent's contract if all point-of-sale equipment and related materials are returned to the
2.5	commissioner in good working condition and if the agent has no outstanding debt owed to
2.6	the Department of Natural Resources. If the equipment is not returned within 30 days of
2.7	contract termination, the deposit shall be forfeited and used towards the cost of replacing
2.8	the equipment. An agent's deposit shall be applied to any outstanding debt owed to the
2.9	Department of Natural Resources at the time of contract termination.
2.10	[For text of subparts 9 to 14, see Minnesota Rules]
2.11	Subp. 15. Security. An agent must provide a location for the electronic license system
2.12	equipment that protects it from damage and unauthorized use that protects the sale of
2.13	electronic licenses from unauthorized use and protects any provided materials from damage.
2.14	[For text of subpart 16, see Minnesota Rules]
2.15	6213.0500 SALE OF ELECTRONIC LICENSES.
2.16	Subpart 1. Place of sale. Electronic licenses must be completed sold at the agent's
2.17	business location that is identified in the agent's contract with the Department of Natural
2.18	Resources. An agent is responsible for the completion of each electronic license transaction
2.19	for each electronic license sold at the agent's place of business.
2.20	Subp. 2. [See repealer.]
2.21	[For text of subpart 3, see Minnesota Rules]
2.22	6232.0200 DEFINITIONS.
2.23	[For text of subparts 1 to 4a, see Minnesota Rules]

6232.0200 2

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886

Subp. 5. **Bonus permit.** "Bonus permit" means a license to take and tag deer by 3.1 archery or firearms, in addition to deer authorized to be taken under regular archery or 3.2 3.3 firearms licenses. It is available for one-half the cost of a regular resident or nonresident license and is valid immediately upon issuance, as long as the purchaser has a valid regular 3.4 license. Deer taken and tagged with a bonus permit must be antlerless unless otherwise 3.5 prescribed by the commissioner. 3.6 3.7 [For text of subparts 5a to 10, see Minnesota Rules] Subp. 11. Earn-a-buck hunt. "Earn-a-buck hunt" means a hunt in which a hunter 3.8 must tag kill at least one antlerless deer before tagging taking a legal buck. 3.9 [For text of subpart 12, see Minnesota Rules] 3.10 6232.0300 GENERAL RESTRICTIONS FOR TAKING DEER. 3.11 3.12 [For text of subparts 1 and 2, see Minnesota Rules] Subp. 3. Party hunting. A party is a group of two or more licensed deer hunters who 3.13 are afield hunting together and are all using firearms or all using archery equipment. A 3.14 member of a party may kill a legal buck or antlerless deer for another member of the party 3.15 who has an unused tag valid for that deer not killed a deer under their license, except: 3.16 A. as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 97B.301; and 3.17 3.18 B. in all 300 series deer permit areas as prescribed in part 6232.1300, subpart 3, where unused tags can be used on party hunting is allowed for antierless deer only. 3.19 A mixed-weapons group is considered two separate parties. Persons issued permits under 3.20

Minnesota Statutes, section 97B.055, subdivision 3, who are hunting in a lottery deer permit

area and do not have an either-sex permit may not tag take antlerless deer for another member

Subp. 4. [Repealed, L 2008 c 368 art 2 s 82]

6232.0300

3.21

3.22

3.23

3.24

of the party.

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886

4.1	Subp. 5. [See repealer.]
4.2	Subp. 6. License purchase and validation.
4.3	[For text of item A, see Minnesota Rules]
4.4	B. Before a deer is moved from the site of kill, the person tagging possessing the
4.5	deer must validate the tag corresponding license. Validation consists of using a knife or
4.6	similar sharp object to cut out or a pen to indelibly mark the appropriate notches on the tag
4.7	indicating electronically or on a paper license:
4.8	[For text of subitems (1) to (3), see Minnesota Rules]
4.9	[For text of subpart 7, see Minnesota Rules]
4.10	Subp. 8. Bag limit. Except as authorized in subpart 3, a person may not tag kill more
4.11	than one legal buck per calendar year using any combination of licenses. A person may no
4.12	tag kill more than one deer during a license year by any method, except as authorized in
4.13	items A to G and subpart 3.
4.14	A. In deer areas designated as managed or intensive, a person may tag take deer
4.15	with an archery, firearms, or muzzleloader license.
4.16	B. A person may tag take a deer by archery, firearm, or muzzleloader with a bonus
4.17	permit in specified areas as prescribed in this chapter.
4.18	C. In no case may a person tag take more than five deer per year by firearms,
4.19	archery, muzzleloader, or all methods combined, except additional deer may be taken as
4.20	provided in items D, subitem (4); E; F; and G.
4.21	[For text of items D and E, see Minnesota Rules]
4.22	F. Hunters hunting in the Metropolitan Deer Management Zone under part
4.23	6232.4700, subpart 158, may take and tag an unlimited number of deer.

6232.0300 4

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886

[For text of item G, see Minnesota Rule	Nuies	1
---	-------	---

[For text of subpart 9, see Minnesota Rules]

6232.0400 REGISTRATION OF DEER.

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

Subpart 1. [Repealed, 20 SR 2287]

Subp. 2. Registration requirements.

A. Persons tagging who validate their license for a deer must present the deer for registration at a designated deer registration station or agent of the commissioner and obtain a big game possession tag or connect to online or telephone DNR harvest registration systems and follow the instructions to obtain a registration confirmation number. All information provided by a person registering deer must be accurate and include the correct date, sex and age of the deer, and permit area in which the animal was harvested.

[For text of items B to D, see Minnesota Rules]

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 20 SR 2287]

Subp. 4. **General provisions for registration of deer.** Registration agents are not required to inspect deer at registration stations. Legally registered deer may be transported anytime during or after the deer hunting season. No part of the carcass, except skin or entrails, may be removed until after the deer has been registered using one of the methods described in subpart 2, except that deer may be quartered prior to registration as long as all parts remain together and are presented for registration and the head of the deer remains attached to one quarter. A person may not process a deer unless it has been registered as evidenced by a possession tag or registration confirmation number.

[For text of subpart 5, see Minnesota Rules]

6232.0400 5

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886

6232 0500	DEER 1	LICENSES	FOR MI	LITARV	PERSONNEL.
U434.U3UU			1, () 1 1 1 1		

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.5

6.6

6.7

6.8

6.9

6.10

6.11

6.12

6.13

6.14

6.15

6.16

6.17

6.18

6.19

6.20

6.21

6.22

6.23

Military personnel and disabled veterans may obtain a license to hunt deer as authorized by Minnesota Statutes, sections 97A.441 and 97A.465, under the conditions in this part.

A. The free license, and either-sex permit, and tag must be obtained from an the electronic license system special agent or, the Department of Natural Resources License Center, or other authorized agents.

B. The season option selected by the applicant shall be printed is indicated on the license.

[For text of items C to G, see Minnesota Rules]

6232.0900 CAMP RIPLEY ARCHERY HUNT.

[For text of subpart 1, see Minnesota Rules]

Subp. 2. **Permit required to hunt.** Only persons possessing a valid Minnesota archery or all-season deer hunting license, an unused possession tag valid for taking a deer by archery, and a permit validated for the Camp Ripley archery hunt will be permitted to enter Camp Ripley. Permits are not transferable between individuals or hunting dates. The permit for the Camp Ripley archery hunt authorizes the permit holder to take one deer at Camp Ripley, unless otherwise authorized by the commissioner. A permit holder may not take any species other than deer at Camp Ripley.

6232.1250 TAKING DEER BY ARCHERY UNDER BONUS PERMITS.

Subpart 1. **Purchase.** The purchase of a bonus permit is authorized for any person who has purchased a valid archery deer license for the current year. Bonus permits may be purchased from <u>the</u> electronic license system agents, the Department of Natural Resources License Center, and other authorized agents.

6.24 Subp. 2. [Repealed, 35 SR 2014]

10/17/04	DELUCOD		DD 4007
10/17/24	RHVISOR	(`K \/ / \/	RIIAXXA
10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886

7.2	For text of s	subparts 1 to	o 4a, see M	Iinnesota Ru	ıles1
-----	---------------	---------------	-------------	--------------	-------

Subp. 5. **Taking antlerless deer on firearms licenses.** The provisions for taking antlerless deer in this part apply to the use of a regular firearms, all-season, or youth deer license tag. In addition, antlerless deer may be taken and tagged with bonus permits as prescribed in parts 6232.1900 and part 6232.1950.

[For text of subpart 6, see Minnesota Rules]

6232.1600 SPECIAL HUNT PROCEDURES.

7.1

7.3

7.4

7.5

7.6

7.7

7.8

7.9

7.10

7.11

7.12

7.13

7.14

7.15

7.16

7.17

7.18

7.19

7.20

7.21

- Subpart 1. **Deer license and permit required for special hunt permit area.** Before applying to hunt in a special hunt permit area, a person must purchase a deer hunting license. A firearms deer license validated for the proper season option and a permit valid for that area is required to hunt deer in firearms special hunt areas. Special hunt permit applications must be made at an through the electronic license system agent or, the Department of Natural Resources License Center, or other authorized agents.
- Subp. 2. **Application process.** Applications for all firearms special hunt permits must be made according to this subpart and according to application instructions provided by the commissioner.
- A. Each person must apply at an electronic license system agent or the Department of Natural Resources License Center. A person may not apply more than once for a hunt, whether as an individual or as a member of a group.

[For text of items B to E, see Minnesota Rules]

7.22 [For text of subparts 3 to 6, see Minnesota Rules]

	10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886
8.1 8.2	6232.1950 TAKING DEER BY BONUS PERMITS.	FIREARMS OR MI	UZZLELOADERS U	U NDER
8.3	Subpart 1. Purchase. The pur	rchase of a bonus per	mit is authorized for	any person
8.4	who has purchased and presents a r	egular firearms or mu	uzzleloader deer licen	ise for the
8.5	current year. Bonus permits may be	purchased for one-ha	lf the cost of a regular	· license from
8.6	the electronic license system agents	s, the Department of I	Natural Resources Lic	cense Center,
8.7	and or other authorized agents.			
8.8	[For text of	subpart 2, see Minne.	sota Rules]	
8.9 8.10	6232.1970 TAKING DEER BY AUNDER EARLY ANTLERLESS	· ·	RMS, OR MUZZLI	ELOADER
8.11	Subpart 1. Purchase. A perso	on who purchases and	l presents a license va	alid for the
8.12	archery, firearm, or muzzleloader s	eason may purchase u	up to two early antler	less permits.
8.13	Early antlerless permits may be pur	chased for one-quarte	er the cost of a regular	license from
8.14	the electronic license system agents	s, the Department of I	Natural Resources Lic	eense Center,
8.15	and or other authorized agents.			
8.16	[For text of	subpart 2, see Minne.	sota Rules]	
8.17 8.18	6232.1980 TAKING DEER BY A PERMITS.	ANY WEAPON USI	NG DISEASE MAN	AGEMENT
8.19	Subpart 1. Purchase. An unli	imited number of dise	ease management per	mits may be
8.20	purchased by a person who has pur	chased a valid firearr	ns, archery, or muzzle	eloader deer
8.21	license. Disease management permi	ts may be purchased for	or \$1.50 from the elect	tronic license
8.22	system agents, the Department of N	atural Resources Lice	nse Center, and <u>or</u> oth	er authorized
8.23	agents.			
8.24	[For text of	subpart 2, see Minne.	sota Rules]	

[For text of subpart 1, see Minnesota Rules]

6232.2550 8

8.25

8.26

6232.2550 YOUTH SPECIAL DEER HUNTS.

10/17/24 REVISOR CKM/VJ RD4886

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.20

9.21

9.22

9.23

9.24

Subp. 2. Application requirements. Applications for youth special hunts must be made according to this part and according to application instructions provided by the commissioner. Applicants for youth firearms special hunts must be at least 12 years old and under age 16 by the beginning hunt date. Applicants for youth archery special hunts must be at least 12 years old and under age 18 by the beginning hunt date. Each person must apply at an through the electronic license system agent or, the Department of Natural Resources License Center, or other authorized agents. Group applications are not allowed. If the number of eligible applicants exceeds the quota established by the commissioner, the commissioner shall conduct a drawing to determine eligible participants. Preference for the youth special hunt drawing is given to applicants based on the number of years they have correctly applied for a youth special hunt permit but have been unsuccessful. Upon issuance of a youth special hunt permit, all accumulated preference is lost. The application deadline is the Friday nearest August 17.

6232.2800 GENERAL REGULATIONS FOR TAKING BEARS.

[For text of subpart 1, see Minnesota Rules]

Subp. 2. **Party hunting.** Party hunting for bears is not permitted. A person may not shoot a bear for another person, validate a bear killed by another person, or tag register a bear shot by another person.

[For text of subpart 3, see Minnesota Rules]

- Subp. 4. Tagging and License validation. Persons taking a bear must affix a tag and validate their license at the site of kill as provided below:
- A. Persons killing a bear must affix to the careass the site tag provided with their bear hunting license. The tag must be fastened around the bear's sternum (breast bone), through an ear, or around a leg bone or tendon so that the tag cannot be readily removed.

6232.2800 9

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886

A hunter may not possess or use the site tag of another, except when transporting a bear as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 97A.535.

B. At the time a bear is tagged at the site of kill, the license of the person whose tag is affixed to who killed the bear must be validated. Validation consists of using a knife or similar sharp object to cut out or a pen to indelibly mark the appropriate notches on the registration slip indicating:

[For text of subitems (1) to (3), see Minnesota Rules]

[For text of subpart 5, see Minnesota Rules]

- Subp. 6. Registration requirements and sample collection.
 - A. Every person taking a bear must present it for registration:
- (1) at a designated bear registration station or must connect to an online or telephone Department of Natural Resources harvest registration system and follow the instructions; or

[For text of subitem (2), see Minnesota Rules]

[For text of item B, see Minnesota Rules]

C. A person registering bear must:

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.17

10.18

10.19

10.20

10.21

- (1) obtain a big game possession tag at a bear registration station; or
- (2) obtain a registration confirmation number at a designated bear registration station or by using an online or telephone Department of Natural Resources harvest registration system.
 - D. Registration agents are not required to inspect bear at registration stations.
- E. A person may not process a bear unless it has been registered as evidenced by a possession tag or registration confirmation number.

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886

11.1	[For text of subparts 7 and 8, see Minnesota Rules]
11.2	6232.3100 BEAR NO-QUOTA AREA.
11.3	Licenses for the no-quota area are not limited in number and may be purchased at an
11.4	from the electronic licensing system (ELS) agent, ELS-Internet, or ELS-Telephone, the
11.5	Department of Natural Resources License Center, or other authorized agents. A person may
11.6	purchase a license for both a quota area and the no-quota area in the same year. No-quota
11.7	licenses are valid only in the no-quota area.
11.8	6232.4400 GENERAL REGULATIONS FOR TAKING ELK.
11.9	[For text of subpart 1, see Minnesota Rules]
11.10	Subp. 2. Party hunting. Licensees may not hunt elk without having the unused seal
11.11	in their possession if the licensees have already killed an elk. Licensed parties with an unused
11.12	seal in their possession may assist other licensed parties in taking elk, but may not shoot,
11.13	validate, or tag register elk for another party.
11.14	[For text of subparts 3 and 4, see Minnesota Rules]
11.15	Subp. 5. [See repealer.]

Subp. 5a. Validation. Before an elk is moved from the site of kill, the person

possessing the elk must validate the corresponding license. Validation consists of indicating

[For text of subparts 6 and 7, see Minnesota Rules]

A. the month the elk was taken;

B. the date the elk was taken; and

C. the time of day the elk was taken.

6232.4400 11

electronically or on a paper license:

11.16

11.17

11.18

11.19

11.20

11.21

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886
111/1 // //4	RHVISOR		RIMXXA

6234 1600	TAKING BOBCAT.	
0237.1000	IAMINO DODCAI.	

12.3

12.4

12.5

12.6

12.7

12.8

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

12.13

12.14

12.15

12.16

12.17

12.18

12.19

12.20

12.21

12.22

12.24

12.2 [For text of subparts 1 and 2, see Minnesota Rules]
--

- Subp. 3. **Bag limits.** A person may not take more than five bobcats per season by either hunting or trapping or both. A person may not possess more than five bobcats at a time, except that a person may possess additional pelts that the person lawfully took, tagged, and registered during previous seasons.
- Subp. 4. Tagging bobeats Registering and validating pelts. Pelts and skinned carcasses are subject to the provisions of part 6234.2600.

6234.1700 TAKING FISHER AND PINE MARTEN.

[For text of subpart 1, see Minnesota Rules]

- Subp. 2. **Bag limits.** The combined limit for fisher and pine marten is five per season, in aggregate. A person may not take more than five fisher and pine marten, combined, per season or possess more than five fisher and pine marten, combined, at a time, except that a person may possess additional pelts that the person lawfully took, tagged, and registered during previous seasons.
- Subp. 3. **Validation and tagging.** Each pine marten or fisher must be validated electronically or on a site validation coupon issued by the state a paper license. The person taking the animal must validate the coupon at and prior to electronically or on the paper license before removing the animal from the kill site. The coupon must be obtained and validated according to part 6234.2600. Pelts and skinned carcasses of fisher and pine marten are subject to the provisions of part 6234.2600.

[For text of subpart 4, see Minnesota Rules]

12.23 **6234.2000 TAKING OTTER.**

[For text of subparts 1 and 2, see Minnesota Rules]

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886

Subp. 3. **Bag limits.** A person may not take more than four otter per season, or possess more than four otter at a time, except that a person may possess additional pelts that the person lawfully took, tagged, and registered during previous seasons.

Subp. 4. **Validation and tagging otter.** Each otter <u>taken</u> must be validated on a site validation coupon issued by the state. The person taking the animal must validate the coupon at and prior to removing the animal from the kill site. The coupon must be obtained and validated according to part 6234.2600 electronically or on the paper license at the kill site before removal. Pelts are subject to the provisions of part 6234.2600.

6234.2600 PELT TAGGING AND REGISTRATION REGISTERING AND VALIDATING PELTS.

13.11 Subpart 1. [Repealed, 30 SR 613]

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.12

13.13

13.14

13.15

13.16

13.17

13.18

13.19

13.20

13.21

13.22

13.23

13.24

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 30 SR 613]

Subp. 3. **Registration of pelts.** The pelt of each bobcat, fisher, pine marten, and otter must be presented, along with completed site <u>validation coupons validations</u> for each fisher, pine marten, or otter, by the person taking it, to a state wildlife manager designee for registration before the pelt is sold and before the pelt is transported out of the state, but in no event more than 48 hours after the season closes for each species, respectively. The entire carcass of bobcat and the entire head of pine marten and fisher must be surrendered to the state wildlife manager designee. The pelt of bobcat, otter, fisher, and pine marten must have been removed from the carcass.

Subp. 4. **Prohibition on validation or tagging validating animals not personally taken.** A person may not validate a site validation coupon or affix any tag or seal to the pelt or carcass of any animal that the person did not take or is not authorized to take.

[For text of subpart 5, see Minnesota Rules]

Supp. 0. Site validation coupons validation	Subp. 6.	Site validation coupons	validations
---	----------	-------------------------	-------------

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

14.20

14.21

14.22

14.23

14.24

A. Fisher, otter, and pine marten site <u>validation coupons</u> <u>validations</u> may be obtained at no cost <u>through from</u> the electronic licensing system, the <u>Department of Natural</u> Resources License Center, or other authorized agents.

- B. The site validation coupon is part of the trapper's license to take fisher, otter, and pine marten and must be in the trapper's possession while taking and transporting these species.
 - C. Site validation coupons validations are not transferable.
- Subp. 7. Validating coupons Validation. Site validation eoupons must be notehed with a knife or other sharp instrument in the appropriate locations be completed electronically or on a paper license indicating the species for fisher or marten, month, date, and time (a.m./p.m.) the animal was taken. The coupon must be validated Validation must be completed at and prior to before removing the animal from the kill site.

6236.0300 TURKEY HUNT DRAWING.

Subpart 1. Spring license application drawings.

A. Applications for spring hunts must be made according to this part and according to application instructions provided by the commissioner. Each person must apply at an through the electronic license system agent or, the Department of Natural Resources License Center, or other authorized agents. Drawings will be conducted by the department to determine persons who will be eligible to purchase licenses for each season. The drawings will be subject to the quotas established by the commissioner. Preference in the respective drawings is given to applicants based upon the number of times they have correctly applied for a license for that hunt but have been unsuccessful. A person selected by the drawings is eligible to purchase a license to hunt turkey. Upon issuance of a turkey license for the

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886
10/1//24	KE VISOK	CIXIVI/ V J	KDTOOL

spring season, all accumulated preference for that season is lost, except as provided in subpart 6.

B. No application is needed to purchase a fall turkey license.

15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

15.6

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

15.14

15.15

15.16

15.17

15.18

15.19

15.20

15.21

15.22

15.23

15.24

15.25

[For text of subparts 2 to 4, see Minnesota Rules]

Subp. 5. **Drawing application fee.** An applicant must pay a fee as provided by statute at the time of application at the electronic license system-point of sale (ELS-POS) agent. Any check that is returned to the department for nonpayment will invalidate the application and the check will be destroyed. Refunds of application fees will not be made for any reason.

Subp. 6. Undersubscribed wild turkey permit areas. In permit areas and time periods with fewer applicants than available licenses, the remaining available licenses may be first offered to unsuccessful applicants for other permit areas or time periods on a first-come, first-served basis. An eligible person must apply individually and in person at an ELS-POS (point-of-sale) agent location or individually through the ELS-Internet or ELS-Telephone system through the electronic license system, the Department of Natural Resources License Center, or other authorized agents to obtain a remaining available license. Any remaining available licenses not purchased by unsuccessful applicants may then be issued to any eligible person on a first-come, first-served basis. Individuals who purchase these remaining available licenses retain their accumulated preference.

6236.0500 TURKEY HUNT LICENSE RESTRICTIONS.

Turkey hunters licensed for the same wild turkey permit area and time period may assist other licensed turkey hunters but each hunter may not shoot, validate, or tag register a turkey for another hunter.

6236.0950 TAGGING VALIDATING TURKEYS.

Immediately after taking a turkey, the hunter must punch date of kill, sign, and attach the tag provided with validate the license to the turkey as specified on the tag. This tag The

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886
111/1 // //	RHVISOR		RIIAXXA

<u>license may be electronic or on paper and must remain attached to with the turkey during</u> transit. Validation consists of indicating electronically or on a paper license:

A. the month the turkey was taken;

16.1

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.21

16.22

16.23

16.24

16.25

- B. the date the turkey was taken; and
- C. the time of day the turkey was taken.

6237.0200 PRAIRIE CHICKEN HUNT DRAWING.

Subpart 1. **License application drawings.** Applications for all hunts must be made according to this part and according to application instructions provided by the commissioner. Each person must apply at an electronic license system agent through the electronic licensing system, a contracted license agent, or the Department of Natural Resources License Center. Drawings shall be conducted by the department to determine persons who are eligible to purchase licenses for the season. The drawings are subject to the quotas established by the commissioner. Preference in the respective drawings is given to applicants based upon the number of times they have correctly applied for a license for the hunt but have been unsuccessful. A person selected by the drawings is eligible to purchase a license to hunt prairie chicken. Upon issuance of a prairie chicken license, all accumulated preference for prairie chicken hunting is lost.

[For text of subparts 2 to 4, see Minnesota Rules]

- Subp. 5. **Drawing application fee.** An applicant must pay a fee as prescribed by statute at time of application at the electronic license system-point of sale (ELS-POS). Refunds of application fees shall not be made for any reason.
- Subp. 6. **Undersubscribed prairie chicken permit areas.** In permit areas with fewer applicants than available licenses, the remaining available licenses may be first offered to unsuccessful applicants for other permit areas on a first-come, first-served basis. An eligible person must apply individually and in person at an ELS-POS agent location or individually

6237.0200 16

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886
111/1 // //	RHVISOR		RIIAXXA

through the ELS-Internet or ELS-Telephone system to obtain a remaining available license
through the electronic licensing system, a contracted license agent, or the Department of

Natural Resources License Center. Any remaining available licenses not purchased by
unsuccessful applicants may then be issued as prescribed by the commissioner to any eligible
person on a first-come, first-served basis. Individuals who purchase these remaining available
licenses retain their accumulated preference.

6262,1000 SPECIAL FISH MANAGEMENT TAGS.

17.8 Subpart 1. [See repealer.]

17.7

17.21

17.22

17.23

17.24

- Subp. 2. **Special fish management species.** The following is a special fish management species and requires a tag an endorsement:
- 17.11 Lake sturgeon (*Acipenser fulvescens*).
- Subp. 3. Tag Endorsement requirements. A person may not possess a special fish management species unless the person has a valid tag endorsement for that species. A tag

 An endorsement is not required to angle for a special fish management species.
- Subp. 4. **Eligibility.** A person applying for a tag special fish management endorsement must either possess a valid fishing license or be specifically exempt by law from the fishing license requirement. A person exempt by law from the fishing license requirement must still obtain a tag an endorsement to legally possess a special fish management species.
- 17.19 Subp. 5. [See repealer.]
- 17.20 Subp. 6. Tagging Validation.

A. Immediately after reducing a special fish management species to possession, a tag an endorsement holder must validate and attach a tag to the fish their license. A tag

An endorsement holder may not affix any tag to the carcass of validate a special fish management species that the tag endorsement holder did not personally catch.

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886
10/1//24	KE VISOK	CIXIVI/ V J	KD4000

18.1	B. To validate a tag license, the tag endorsement holder must use a sharp object
18.2	to cut out or use a pen to indelibly mark the appropriate notch on the tag indicating indicate:
18.3	[For text of subitems (1) to (3), see Minnesota Rules]
18.4	C. A tag validated license must be attached to remain with a special fish
18.5	management species as described in this item and in such a manner that it cannot be readily
18.6	removed before until the fish is consumed or processed. For lake sturgeon, tag holders must
18.7	attach the validated tag to the caudal peduncle (narrow portion of the body just in front of
18.8	the tail fin) using string, twine, wire, or similar device.
18.9	Subp. 7. Registration. A tag holder must register a catch of a special fish management
18.10	species must be registered electronically or at a registration agent within 48 hours of reducing
18.11	it to possession by completing and mailing the registration card provided with the tag. The
18.12	following registration information is required:
18.13	A. tag holder information;
18.14	B. date when reduced to possession;
18.15	C. fish length;
18.16	D. name of the water body where the fish was reduced to possession; and
18.17	E. signature of permittee.
18.18	6262.3200 PREPARATION AND PACKING OF FISH FOR TRANSPORTATION.
18.19	[For text of subparts 1 to 5, see Minnesota Rules]
18.20	Subp. 6. Restrictions on special fish management species.
18.21	A. A person may transport a tagged special fish management species during the
18.22	open season and the two days following the season for that species once the fish has been
18.23	registered and the licensee has validated their license for that fish.

6262.3200 18

.0/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.22

19.23

19.24

19.25

B. A person other than the tag endorsement holder may transport a tagged special
fish management species that the tag holder has been registered if the fish has an additional
informational tag information attached to it, marked in indelible ink with the signature full
<u>name</u> of the <u>tag endorsement</u> holder and the locations from which and to which the fish is
being transported.

- C. All tagged special fish management species must be transported in devices that readily allow for inspection.
- D. Processing of a special fish management species may only be done at the tag endorsement holder's permanent residence, except:

[For text of subitems (1) to (4), see Minnesota Rules]

- E. The validated special fish management species tag must be a part of the packaging and remain with the processed fish until all meat is consumed.
- F. E. Special fish management species must be shipped undressed and the packaging must have include the appropriate validated tag attached full name of the endorsement holder, except when packaged by a licensed fish packer.

6264.0400 DESIGNATED SPECIAL MANAGEMENT WATERS.

[For text of subparts 1 to 31, see Minnesota Rules]

Subp. 32. Lake sturgeon restrictions. As described in part 6262.1000 and Minnesota Statutes, sections 97A.551 and 97C.087, a special fish management tag endorsement is required to harvest lake sturgeon. Notwithstanding part 6266.0700, subpart 2, item B, the following seasons and possession limits apply to all Minnesota-Canadian border waters and associated tributary streams. A person may possess only one lake sturgeon per license year. Lake sturgeon may be harvested from April 24 to May 7 or July 1 to September 30. All lake sturgeon in possession while on or fishing in the above listed waters must be 45 inches to 50 inches in length, inclusive, or greater than 75 inches in length. All lake sturgeon that are

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886

20.2

20.3

20.4

20.5

20.6

20.7

20.8

20.9

20.10

20.11

20.12

20.13

20.14

20.15

20.16

20.17

20.18

20.19

20.20

20.21

20.22

20.23

20.24

20.25

less than 45 inches in length or that are more than 50 inches but not more than 75 inches in length, must be immediately returned to the water. From May 8 to May 15 and October 1 to April 23, angling for lake sturgeon is limited to catch and release only. During catch-and-release seasons all sturgeon must be immediately released back into the water.

[For text of subparts 33 to 89, see Minnesota Rules]

Subp. 90. Lake St. Croix and St. Croix River lake sturgeon regulations. As described in part 6262.1000 and Minnesota Statutes, sections 97A.551 and 97C.087, a special fish management tag endorsement is required to harvest lake sturgeon.

Notwithstanding part 6266.0500, subpart 3, the following seasons and possession limits apply to all waters of Lake St. Croix and the St. Croix River of the Minnesota-Wisconsin boundary waters between Prescott and Taylor's Falls Dam. Lake sturgeon may be harvested from the first Saturday in September to September 30. While a person is on or angling in these waters, all lake sturgeon in possession must be 60 inches or greater in length. All lake sturgeon less than 60 inches in length must be immediately returned to the water. A person may possess only one lake sturgeon per calendar year. From October 1 to October 15, angling for lake sturgeon is limited to catch and release only. During the catch-and-release season, all lake sturgeon caught must be immediately released.

[For text of subparts 91 to 153, see Minnesota Rules]

6266.0700 TAKING FISH ON MINNESOTA-CANADA BOUNDARY WATERS.

[For text of subpart 1, see Minnesota Rules]

Subp. 2. Species, seasons, and limits on Minnesota-Canada boundary waters.

[For text of items A and B, see Minnesota Rules]

C. Except as provided in chapter 6264, the following applies to the species, seasons, and limits for taking fish on Minnesota-Canada boundary waters. When the closing date of the season falls on a Saturday, the season extends to the following Sunday, except for the

6266.0700 20

10/17/24	REVISOR	CKM/VJ	RD4886

walleye and sauger season, which always ends on April 14 regardless of which day of the 21.1 week it falls. 21.2 Species Open Season Daily and Possession 21.3 21.4 Limits [For text of subitem (1), see Minnesota Rules] 21.5 (2) Sturgeon 21.6 An angler must have a 21.7 June 16 to April 14 for special fish management catch and release only. 21.8 tag endorsement to Closed April 15 to June 21.9 harvest sturgeon. All 15. When the closing date 21.10 border waters not listed of a season falls on a 21.11 in subitem (1), unit (b) or Saturday, the season does 21.12 (c), or in chapter 6264. not extend through the 21.13 following Sunday. 21.14 21.15 [For text of subitems (3) to (9), see Minnesota Rules] [For text of subparts 3 to 6, see Minnesota Rules] 21.16 REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 6213.0500, subpart 2; 6232.0300, subpart 5; 21.17

21.18 6232.4400, subpart 5; and 6262.1000, subparts 1 and 5, are repealed.

6266.0700 21