Boats

REGISTRATION (LICENSING)

st Where do | register my boats?

Go to any Deputy Registrar (anyplace you license
your car) or the DNR License Bureau at 500 Lafay-
ette Road in St. Paul, and you will receive your boat
licenses and decals on the spot. If you apply through
the mail, it may take several weeks before you receive
your decals and cards.

1 What needs to be registered?

All motorized watercraft of any length (including
electric) and all non-motorized craft over 9 feet in
length. There are other exceptions, but they usually
do not affect resorts. Persons bringing boats in from
out-of-state must either register their boat or canoe
in their state or in Minnesota. An out-of-state reg-
istration is valid for 90 days. If another state does
not require canoes to be registered, as an example,
the owner must register it in that state (most states
will accept voluntary registration) or register it in
Minnesota.

s How much is it going to cost?
License Fee For 3 Calendar Years

(includes various fees and surcharges)

o | 19 feet or less & used for rent........... $22.50*
g Over 19 feet to less than 26 feet........ $58.50
— Over 19 feet with operator ............... $88.50
E Duplicate Title ........vvvverorrrrrere. $11.00
Transfer Title ..........ccooevveieeeeeeennn.. $17.00

*except personal watercraft
See the Minnesota Boating Guide for complete information.

s How do [ display my registration

numbers and decals?
Thelicense number appearing on the registration card
must be displayed in 3-inch high numbers and letters on
both sides of the forward half of the boat along with
the current validation decals. Non-motorized canoes,
sailboats, sailboards and paddle boats need only display
the current decals which have the license number on
them. If they have a motor, the 3-inch numbers or let-

ters are required. Remember ONLY THE CURRENT
DECALS SHOULD BE VISIBLE. REMOVE OR
COVER ALL EXPIRED DECALS.

s Any special rules for resorts?
Yes! Resorts and other persons who rent boats (with
or without lodging) may keep the license card at
the resort if the name of their business is painted or
placed near the stern of the boat in 3-inch high letters
on both sides. See illustration above.

SAFETY EQUIPMENT

1 Personal Flotation Devices

(PFDs or life preservers)
Each person on board any watercraft must have a
Coast Guard approved Type L 11, or IIl wearable PFD
readily accessible or worn. In addition, on boats 16
feet orlonger (except canoes and kayaks), there must
also be at least one Coast Guard approved Type IV
throwable device, such as a buoyant cushion or ring
buoy immediately available. The law requires all
children under age 10 to wear a life jacket on board
any watercraft while underway.

1 Lights
Any watercraft used between sunset and sunrise must
be equipped with the proper lights.

s Non-motorized craft need only display a white
light (flashlight) in time to avoid a collision.

st Motorboats (electric included) must dis-
play a red-green bow light and a white 360°
stern light when underway, and a 360° white
light when anchored.

s Other Equipment

Equipment requirements vary with the size of the
craft, equipment on board and propulsion - see the
latest Minnesota Boating Guide for details.

s Equipment Responsibility

The rental agent (resort) is required by law to provide

thelife preservers and other safety equipment required
by law. (The rental agent may charge a fee for this,
except for personal watercraft). The resort opera-
tor probably will keep all life preservers or PFDs in
the cabin or boathouse. It is highly recommended
that each registrant initial or sign a form when they
sign in that indicates they were informed about
the whereabouts of PFDs, lights, etc. and that they
are required to have them on board. Renters may
use their own PFDs, but should be made aware of
those provided by the resort anyway. Those guests
who bring their own boats with them are generally
responsible for their own craft.

s Must my rental boats be inspected?

Yes! All rental watercraft must be inspected periodi-
cally by the county sheriff. Deputies will check your
boats to see that they comply with the appropriate
Minnesota safety standards. They will also inspect
oars, paddles and PFDs to be sure they are in ser-
viceable condition. When it passes inspection, an
inspection sticker, valid for one year, will be placed
on the boat, usually near the capacity plate. If you
have rental boats that have notbeen inspected, simply
call the sheriff’s department, and they will send out
a deputy to do the inspection.

AGE REQUIREMENTS FOR
MOTORBOATS

Motorboats - Except Personal Watercraft

Less than 12 1. 25 hp or less - no restriction,
years old 2. more than 25 thru 75 hp -
must have someone at least
21 on board in reach
of controls,
3. over 75 hp - cannot operate,
even with adult on board

12-17 years 1. 25 hp or less - no restriction,
| 2. over 25 hp - must have:

a watercraft operator's
permit,

or

someone at least 21 on
board in reach of controls

PERSONAL e

WATERCRAFT = ——
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s What is a personal watercraft?

Sometimes known as Jet Skis, Wave Runners, Sea
Doos etc., a personal watercraft is defined by law as
a motorboat that 1) is powered by an inboard mo-
tor powering a water jet pump or by an outboard
or propeller-driven motor; and 2) is designed to be
operated by a person or persons sitting, or kneeling
on the craft, rather than in the conventional manner
of sitting or standing inside a motorboat.

There are specific restrictions on personal watercraft
regarding speed near shore, anchored boats & docks,
wake jumping and hours of operation - see the Min-
nesota Boating Guide.

A person that offers personal watercraft for rent must
provide: 1) asummary of thelaws and rules regarding
personal watercraft operation, 2) instruction to the
renter on laws, rules and the safe operation of the
craft and 3) all required safety equipment, including
a USCG approved wearable life preserver (Type I, II,
IIT or V) of the correct size for each rider as well as
any other required equipment (fire extinguisher etc.)
at no additional charge. In addition a DNR personal
watercraft rules decal must be on the craft where it
is visible to the operator.

Rental operations are required to keep track of the
dates and names of all persons who rent PWC, (and
forthose 13-17 years of age - the watercraft operator’s
permit number) on a log sheet. The log sheet must
be available for inspection by DNR conservation
officers or county sheriffs for a period of at least six
months.

BTt is unlawful for the owner of the personal water-
craft to permit its operation in violation of the age
or permit restrictions.



AGE REQUIREMENTS FOR PWC

Perconal Watercraft - (PWC, Jet Skis ete.)
- regardless of horsepower

Legs than 13
years old

Cannot operate, even with adult
on board.

Must either have:
+ someone at least 21 on board, or
J a watercraft operator's permit
and be in visual contact by
someone at least 21

13 years old

Must either have:
s a watercraft operator's permit,
or
* have someone at least 21 on
board

14-17 years
old

== \Watercraft operator permit materials are available
from the MN DNR at the address at the end of this
brochure.

POOLS, DOCKS,
STRUCTURES, AND BUOYS

1 Swim Areas

Public swimming areas (including resorts) must be
marked off using the standard Uniform State Water-
way System Buoy for “Boats - Keep Out.” The buoy is
white with orange bands at the top and bottom and an
orange diamond with a crossinside. The words “SWIM
AREA” appear in black letters. Swim buoys must be a
minimum of 9” in diameter, and extend no less than
36” above the water. Cost for manufactured buoys is
approximately $100.00 apiece plus anchor and cable.
A permit is required from the county sheriff.

s Swimming Pools
Swimming pools at resorts or campgrounds must meet
the standards established by the Minnesota Department

of Health.

*—4

s Docks

Docks that extend from shore may not interfere with
navigation and generally require no permit, unless
they exceed 8 feet in width. Small dock platforms
up to 120 square feet (measured separately from the
walkway) or 170 square feet if measured including the
adjacent walkway have been temporarily authorized
by a general statewide permit. Individual permits are
needed for larger platforms. For more information,
see the DNR publication “Docks and Access in Public
Waters” by checking the DNR website or contacting the
DNR Information Center (Note: There may be local
ordinances on docks.)

s Floating Structures

Floating structures (swim rafts, slalom courses, mooring
buoys etc.) not extending from shore require a permit
from the county sheriff, if left out after sunset.

NOTE: Thisbrochureisnotintended asa complete sum-
mary of boating and/or water safety laws. Consult the
Minnesota Boating Guide, Watercraft Statutes and Rules
and the Minnesota Department of Health for further
information. Your local DNR conservation officer or
county sheriff can also assist you.
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i For more information on boat and water safety, the
DNR has these publications available at no charge.
Call 651-259-5400 or toll free 1-888-646-6367 or e-
mail: boatandwater@dnr.state.mn.us.

#s Danger, Thin Ice - ice safety brochure
= Recommended Ice Thickness Safety Card
s= Minnesota Boating Guide (laws & rules)
as Water Safety Coloring Book (ages 3-7)
== Buoy Identification Sticker
s Alcohol Estimation Card (shows relationship
between number of drinks and alcohol level
for men and women)
&= Personal Watercraft Laws
#s Personal Watercraft Laws Decal
#= Hypothermia, the Cold Facts - cold water safety
s Watercraft Operator Permit Packet - ages 12 - 17
= H,O Toons (boating safety comic book for
ages 7-12)
ms Stop That Prop (ski boat operator warning sticker)

tinesos| - Bogt & Water Safety Section
Minnesota Dept. of Natural Resources
500 Lafayette Road

Wssanes) St Paul, MN 55155-4046

This document is available in alternative formats to
individuals with disabilities by calling:
(651) 296-6157, in MN toll free (888) 646-6367,
TTY (651) 296-5484, toll free TTY (800) 657-3929
e-mail: boatandwater@dnr.state.mn.us

Find us on the Internet at:
www.mndnr.gov/boating or www.mndnr.gov/waters
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