
This is only a summary of the laws as of June 2018 and 
is required to be visible to the operator on all personal 
watercraft in Minnesota. 

For more information contact:
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
Boat and Water Safety
500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN  55155-4047
651-296-6157  |  888-646-6367  |  mndnr.gov/boatingsafety	
email: info.dnr@state.mn.us

MINNESOTA PERSONAL 
WATERCRAFT LAWS

You Must...
	•	Wear a USCG-approved life jacket. Comply 

with label.
	•	Travel at slow no-wake speed (5 mph or less) 

within 150 feet of: nonmotorized boats; 
shore (unless launching or landing skiers 
directly to or from open water); docks; 
swim rafts; swimmers; or any moored or 
anchored boat. 

	•	Operate only from 9:30 a.m. to one hour 
before sunset.

	•	Use the cutoff lanyard properly.
	•	Obey operator age and permit laws for 

those younger than 18 years old. 

You Must Not...
	•	Chase or harass wildlife.
	•	Jump the wake of another boat within 

150 feet of the craft.
	•	Operate a personal watercraft in a manner 

that endangers life, limb or property.

Protect Your Sport
Respect your neighbors. Don’t operate for long 
periods in the same area or near occupied boats 
or shore. 
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