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FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT BOAT AND WATER SAFETY, CONTACT:
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources - Boat and Water Safety, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155-4039.
Telephone: 651-259-5400.  In Greater Minnesota call toll free 888-646-6367.
TTY (hearing impaired) 651-296-5484 or toll free 800-657-3929.
Send us an e-mail at: boatandwater.dnr@state.mn.us

Connect with us: 
mndnr.gov/boatingsafety
mndnr.gov/boatingcourse
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All rights reserved. Nothing contained herein may be reproduced without the written permission of the Minnesota 
Department of Natural Resources - Boat and Water Safety Section.

Printed using soy-based ink on recycled paper containing 
a minimum of 10% and 30% post-consumer waste.
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Boating Laws to Remember

Life Jackets
Minnesota law requires a Coast Guard approved wearable life jacket (Type I, II, III or V) for each person on board. The 
device may either be worn or readily accessible (except on personal watercraft - see below). In addition, if your boat is 16 
feet or longer (except for canoes and kayaks) you must also have one Type IV throwable device (buoyant cushion or ring 
buoy) for the craft. Children under 10 years old are now required to wear a life jacket when boating in Minnesota, except: 1) 
when the boat is anchored and being used as a swimming platform or 2) when the child is below decks or in an enclosed 
cabin on the craft. 

Operator Age for Motorboats
(not including personal watercraft - PWCs, Jet Skis, etc. - see below)

n A person under the age of 12 years may operate 25 hp or less with no restriction. If more than 25 hp thru 75 hp, they 	
  must have someone at  least 21 on board within reach of the controls. Over 75 hp, they cannot operate, even 		
  with an adult on board.
n Persons 12 - 17 years of age may operate 25 hp or less with no restriction. If over 25 hp, they must either have a 		
  Watercraft Operator’s Permit, or someone at least 21 on board within reach of the controls.

Personal Watercraft Laws
(PWCs, Jet Skis, etc.)

n A person under the age of 13 years may not operate a personal watercraft, even with an adult on board.
n A 13 year old operating a personal watercraft must either have someone at least 21 on board, or have a Watercraft		
  Operator’s Permit and be under visual supervision by someone at least 21.
n Persons 14 through 17 must have a Watercraft Operator’s Permit, or have someone at least 21 on board.
n It is unlawful for the owner of any watercraft to permit its operation in violation of the age restrictions.
n Everyone operating or riding on a personal watercraft (PWC) must wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved Type I, II, III, 
  or V life jacket.
n You may only operate a PWC between 9:30 a.m. and one hour before sunset.
n You may not travel at greater than slow-no wake speed within 150 feet of a dock, swimmer, swimming raft, moored or 	
  anchored watercraft, non-motorized watercraft or shore (unless launching or landing a skier by the most direct 		
  route to open water).
n If you tow a person on water skis or other device, there must be another person on board to act as an observer, or the 	
  PWC must be equipped with factory-installed or factory-specified accessory rearview mirrors.
n If the PWC is equipped by the manufacturer with a lanyard-type cutoff switch, it must be attached to the person, life 		
  jacket or clothing of the operator when underway.
n You may not operate a PWC if the spring-loaded throttle has been removed or tampered with so it interferes with the 	
  return-to-idle system.
n You may not travel at greater than slow-no wake speed through emergent or floating vegetation.
n You may not weave through congested watercraft traffic, or jump the wake of another watercraft, within 150 feet of the 	
  other watercraft.
n You may not chase or harass wildlife.
n A PWC rules decal must be on the craft in full view of the operator.	

A note from the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Dear parents and educators...
	 “H2O TOONS” explains many of the basic principles of 
boating and water safety. It’s intended for children who are 
perhaps beyond the age of being interested in the Minnesota 
Department of Natural Resources (DNR) “Water Safety Col-
oring and Activity Book,” but too young to take the DNR home 
study Watercraft Operator’s Permit course.
	 We hope that you will take a few minutes to read through 
“H2O Toons” with your child, discuss the safety concepts and 
how they might apply to him or her.
	 Besides providing entertainment, we hope “H2O Toons” 
will help to lay the foundation of good water recreation safety 
habits for Minnesota’s most precious resource...our children! 	

This document is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by calling the phone numbers above.

While not a NASBLA approved boating safety course, this
publication is recognized by the National Association of State 
Boating Law Administrators to benefit boating safety - 2014.

Equal opportunity to participate in and benefit from programs of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources is available to all individuals regardless of race, color, 
creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, public assistance status, age, sexual orientation, disability or activity on behalf of a local human rights commission. 
Discrimination inquiries should be sent to the Affirmative Action Officer at Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, 500 Lafayette Road, Saint Paul, MN 55155-
4049 or the Office of Civil Rights, U.S. Coast Guard, 2100 2nd Street SW, Washington, DC 20593-0001.

facebook.com/MnDNRBoatandWaterSafety










