m DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES

Aeration Requirements Quick Guide

This guide summarizes the requirements in Minnesota Rules Chapter 6116 and Minnesota Statutes 103G.611.
Reviewing this guide will help you become familiar with aeration laws before you apply for an aeration permit.

1. Aeration permits are required for aeration on all public waters in Minnesota. Public waters are
generally water bodies that are at least 10 acres in rural areas or 2.5 acres in urban areas. If you are
unsure if your lake is public water, call your local DNR office.

2. Aeration Permit Application Materials

[0 $250 Application Fee. Most applications require a fee. The fee may be waived for some
winterkill prevention permits. You will receive an invoice after you submit your application if
needed.

O Liability Insurance. Purchase $500,000 liability insurance (or post a bond for $500,000), and
submit a certificate of insurance to the DNR. If you own or lease all of the land around a lake, and
if there is no public access to the lake, you are not required to provide proof of insurance.

1 Public Notice. Publish public notice in a newspaper of general circulation on two occasions
between five and 60 days before you plan to turn on your system. Provide the DNR with a copy
of this notice. If you own or lease all of the land around a lake, and if there is no public access to
the lake, you are not required to publish public notice.

3. Signs

L0 Warning Signs. Post warning signs at all commonly used lake access sites. If you own or lease all
of the land around a lake, and if there is no public access to the lake, you are not required to post

warning signs.

[0 Thin Ice Signs. Post thin ice signs around the open water area. Signs must be four to six feet high
and a maximum of 100 feet apart. All permittees must post thin ice signs.

4. Inspections

[0 Inspect your aeration system, open water area, and signage at least once every seven days. Use
the DNR Lake Aeration Inspection Form as a guide.

I Allow the DNR to inspect your system at any time.
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=6116&view=chapter
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=103G.611
https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/waters/watermgmt_section/pwi/index.html
https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/contact/locator.html
https://files.dnr.state.mn.us/eco/lakeaeration/aeration-inspection-form.pdf
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