DNR STATEWIDE AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES ADVISORY COMMITTEE Robert E. Olsen – Committee Chair P.O. Box 66 Ivanhoe, MN 56142

March 10, 2014

Honorable Tom Landwehr, Commissioner DNR 500 Lafayette Rd. St. Paul, MN 55155-4052

Dear Commissioner Landwehr,

RE: Recommendation to draft and adopt national boat design standards which reduce or eliminate the spread of aquatic invasive species.

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Statewide Aquatic Invasive Species Advisory Committee is greatly concerned with the ongoing risk of new aquatic invasive species (AIS) introductions as well as with containing the spread of these harmful species within our state's lakes, rivers, and wetlands.

Aquatic invasive species (AIS) have no political boundaries and it will take active public and private sector involvement and partnerships to slow their advance from other countries and states. There are many vectors of AIS spread and one of the higher transfer risks is their accidental transport via boats.

Many boat and associated power system designs include features that carry residual water and/or make them difficult or impossible to drain and decontaminate so as to eliminate AIS payloads. Recreational boating will be enhanced by designing new boats, and retrofitting existing boats, so that residual water and decontamination need are either minimized or eliminated. This design approach is intended to result in the following objectives:

- Greatly reducing risk of AIS spread
- Enhancing boat safety
- Reducing boat maintenance time and cost
- Reducing government and volunteer time and costs in boat inspection and decontamination, and
- Maximizing recreational time by minimizing inspection and decontamination times.

Therefore, the committee recommends a partnership, which is led by watercraft designers and manufacturers but includes input from stakeholders, that results in developing and adopting national boat design standards that meet the objectives listed above and to develop a ranking system (similar to the "energy star" system) to acknowledge and promote the new standards to the end users.

Sincerely,

Robert E. Olsen, AIS Advisory Committee Chair

AIS Advisory Committee Members

Barb Halbakken Fischburg

Gabriel Jabbour

Gary Botzek

Greg Oswald

Jay Green

Jeff Forester

Jerry Byron

John Barten

Ken Grob

Michelle Marko

Norman DeSchampe

Rachael Crabb

Tera Guetter

AIS Advisory Ex-Officio Members

Carol Altepeter

Doug Jensen

Mike Hoff

Pat Conzemius

Peter Sorenson

cc: Governor Mark Dayton